Fiction logo

Sedna

Who protects whom?

By Meredith LawlessPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
Sedna
Photo by Sigmund on Unsplash

My family, and myself, had spent the day hunting. We’d become known in these waters by the fish as the great white hunters; we were the infamous great white sharks of the water. As much as I enjoyed my families hunting trips, there was always something I desired more. I desired the bright lights of the moon and stars. Swimming in their reflected lights was the closest I could come to heaven.

The smell of blood filled the space around me. This smell encouraged me to swim towards the ocean water’s surface. Rising to the surface, I felt the rush of icy wind blowing past my leathery skin. The moon and stars were reflected on the ocean’s surface. I often dreamed that those reflected stars, and reflected moon, were merely trapped within a large black net of watery darkness. I often dreamed of releasing those stars. Maybe, someday, if I set those stars free then their light would become my own.

Then a bright light shone in my eyes. There was a sudden loudness coming from a nearby boat. People were screaming, dogs barked, and bells rang. Before I could dive under the water, a sharp pain stung my side. My own blood began mixing with the rest of the blood in the area. The screams changed into a loud cheering. They had struck me with a hook. Feeling overwhelmed, I attempted to swim away. There was another sharp pain striking into another part of my side. The last hook made it difficult to breathe.

I felt them tugging at the hooks causing more pain. These motions pulled me closer towards them. With each pull, the pain in my side grew steadily worse. This merciless, repetitive, motion was tearing my skin. Their hands began grasping me and pulling at me. I kept struggling against them, but was unable to break free. Soon, I felt someone cutting along my back. These humans were trying to steal my fin! Panic had overtaken me. I began bucking and swishing my body until their grips were loosened.

I dove far into the water, taking the hooks with me. I began feeling comforted by the blackness of the water surrounding me. Only my blood had followed me here. I searched in this darkened void, but it was silent. The humans had frightened off any other form of life. Alone, panic stricken, I swam through the darkness. I swam and swam. I began to wonder if I’d ever get the opportunity to see my glowing lights again. I also began to wonder if I’d survive the remainder of this gruesome night.

Then, I saw the shining blue lights in the distance. The glistening lights were dancing along the water. I began swimming towards those lights. I swam wanting to find something, anything, that could comfort me. The closer I swam to the lights the thinner the water got. I didn’t care any longer. I just wanted to become a part of those glistening lights. It didn’t take too much longer before the waves began to carry me. The waves allowed me to rest my tired, and aching, body. Maybe, if those blue lights became a part of me, then the humans would be too frightened to hurt me.

The waves carried me until I felt sand underneath my skin. I had become so tired. Closing my eyes, I awoke in the water tunnels of a darkened cave. The pain in my body was gone, but I was still alone. Feeling lost I began swimming frantically through the darkened tunnels. I don’t know how long I swam. I had lost track of the turns I’d taken. But, feeling fully frustrated, I rose my head out of the lonely waters. I was finally able to see the gleaming lights trapped within the caves walls. They glowed brighter than the stars I’d come to recognize. I gradually began following the glisten of these gems.

A painful sensation of pulling brought me back. Humans were pulling at the hooks again. Lifting my head allowed me to better view these strangers. A few humans ran towards me throwing buckets of cold water onto my drying skin. Other humans were holding me down, as others began working on the hooks caught within my sides. Wanting them to stop, I began fighting them. Many of the humans backed away in terror.

Then, the strangest of things happened. A woman crept towards me. She held her shaking hand out from her body. I kept trying to fight them, but I was quickly growing exhausted. My breathing had become so ragged. She paused just inches from me. Taking a deep breath, she closed the gap between us. Her clammy hand touched the edge of my pointed nose. “It’ll be okay, my great white. My Sedna,” she spoke softly. “We’re trying to help.” She began slowly moving her hand along my skin. She knelt down before me, and started humming.

The woman’s humming carried me back to those glistening caves. Unlike most caves, her voice didn’t vibrate off the walls. Although, the white gems had altered. They were now glowing in various colors; deep red, piercing green, flashing blue, and sparkling purple. These lights had become my new guides through these caves. I so wanted these vibrant colors to become a part of me. I wanted them to transform me into those beautiful fish I’d watched swimming along the ocean’s reefs.

Loud noises brought me back this time. The humans were fighting. I could see the familiar boat sitting along the shoreline. I had become so exhausted. I no longer cared what was happening to me. The woman, this strange woman, did not stop her gentle humming. I just drifted back off to sleep.

The glistening gems were still lining the cave walls. I paused just staring at them. Something shook the cave, and one of the gems fell into the dark water. Another, green gem, followed shortly after it. Before too long, the other gems fell from the cave walls and into the darkened water. I was afraid at first. I was afraid that I was losing my precious lights. Then, I saw the gems filling the darkened waters with their bright colors. As I swam forward, I was moving through the rain of the gems. I was moving through the sea of stars.

Awaking once more to the sound of peaceful humming. More water had been splashed onto me. Numbness had overtaken my body. My ragged breathing had become shallow. The other humans had gone. The few who had stayed to help were now circled around me. Although, the humming woman still remained in front of me. Her calm humming allowed me to remain relaxed. I lifted my gaze to the shining moon and stars. It was time for this life to end. It was time to return to my cave of lights.

Closing my eyes again, I was brought back to that cave. The rain of gems had stopped. But, the deepest part of the dark waters were now glowing a deep blue. The glistening lights filled the surface with colorful stars. The glowing lights were soon caught in the ripples of my motions. I paused thinking I’d seen the flickering lights move. A second glance, and I noticed that those lights were moving. The ripples moved the lights towards me. Soon the lights were attaching to my skin. The lights were becoming a part of me.

The glowing lights began moving on their own. I paused to watch those moving lights. At first they merely attached onto my skin. Taking a deep breath I observed that those lights were becoming a part of me. They were filling my body with energy and strength. These lights lifted me from the light blue waters and into the crisp air. The silence was soon filled with the calming sound of distant humming. I found myself drawn to this sound. The humans, who had protected me, were going to need to be protected as well. I could understand this much. I followed the sound until I came across them. They were all standing below me now. They would need me as I had needed them. Who would be a better protector than a vicious predator?

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Meredith Lawless

I traveled from the Sonora Desert to the forests of Glacier near Flathead Lake. I am a struggling author, practicing my craft, while living with my husband, partner, two cats, and two dogs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.