Fiction logo

Secrets of a Billionaire

Will he stay?

By Maria DPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Secrets of a Billionaire
Photo by Tyler Harris on Unsplash

Each time he came in here, he had a suit, and each time a different tie. His hair was always done, and he always looked so neat and perfect. The way he spoke, his smile, everything about him was so punctual, detailed if you will. I still remember the day we met, i was working at a coffee shop here in Seattle, and he would come by every morning with the exact same order. It was to a point I had it ready by the time he got in, and soon we were on a first name basis. "Good morning, Penelope." "Good morning Mr. Adams, how are you?" I return, with a smile. After a while he insisted I call him Josh. After months, and months of morning coffee runs, they turned into 3 times a day type of thing, so I had to ask. "Why so much coffee now? I remember you used to be a one cup kind of guy?" I say sarcastically, with a grin on my face. "Of course, who say's I come for the coffee...? They make great scones as well." He asked me out for dinner that night, and we ended up talking the night away. He wasn't an open book. He was mysterious, yet he was so in control of everything. There was something about him that just kept on pulling me in. He always had this look on his face, like he was thinking, contemplating, holding back. I often found myself wondering why he didn’t have a beautiful top tier wife, but I knew better than to ask. But I had too. “Can I ask you a question, it might be a little personal.” “Shoot.” he says. “When we first met a couple months ago, I had no idea who you were. You are great, you’re a gentlemen, and well if it isn’t obvious you are a very good looking guy.” I pause for a second, debating how I want to word this. “I would never see you with anyone, not once. Not even a friend. Why?” “If you re trying to ask why i'm single, you could have just said that. I prefer not to talk about the past, or things that do not matter, but if I have to be honest. I’ve never found myself taken with anyone, not enough to stick around. I prefer to be alone, focus on work with no distractions. I don’t care for distractions.” I nodded, and kept on eating my food. “Where is your boyfriend, since you asked as should I.” “I don’t have a boyfriend, I did, but we broke up. I’d rather not talk about it.” He looked at me, with a squint in his eyes. You could tell he wanted to know more, but my heart still ached thinking about Carter. He was my first real boyfriend, and my last. We finished up, and he dropped me off at my place. We kept it platonic, no sex, no kissing. I really was starting to think this was going well. A man who respect me, and doesn’t expect anything in return. After weeks of dinner dates, he asked me if I would like to see a top view of the city lights, and stated he had connections to the perfect place. I still had no clue what he did for work, if he had any family. All I knew really was I was too far in now, my stomach would flutter every time I saw him. "Oh my god, it's beautiful. I could never afford something like this, not even with years of my coffee house savings. Who lives here, do you work for them?" " Let's worry about that later, there's something i need to do first." he looked me in the eyes, grabbed my waist, and pulled me in. He kissed me with so much passion, like a hungry lion finally getting his first meal in days. It was aggressive. He pulled away and quickly apologized. "It's okay, don't apologize. If we are dating I think it's okay for us to kiss." I was shocked when he jumped at the thought and denied any relationship between us. "Well, then what is this? Am I wasting my time? Was this your plan all along, to make me fall for you, and then just break my heart?" I grab my coat, and head towards the door. He yelled out my name, but I closed the elevator as fast as I could click that button. When I was far enough from the building I stopped a cab, and cried all the way home. I had a message, but I turned my phone off, and made sure I would not be bothered the rest of the night. I decide to take a bath, turn on some candles, music, and found myself with a wine bottle half empty. It was about to be 11 pm, and I hear my doorbell and almost forget I ordered a late night pizza. When I open the door my heart races when I see Josh's face, red, sweaty, as if he had just finished working out. "Josh, what are you doing here?!" "Penelope, you need to know, I can't leave you alone, not now, not yet. If you don't ever want to see me again, tell me and ill leave." Words were running through my head, yet my mouth could not make them out. We starred at each other for a moment when I felt his hands touch my cheeks, and his lips touch mine.

Love
1

About the Creator

Maria D

Just someone who enjoys to write, and explore her mind. I love to read, especially when they turn into movies in my head.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.