Fiction logo

Scissor Art

expect the unexpected & cut out the status quo..

By Ari Asha LovePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
this is not an example of my own scissor art!

Hello! This may be a bit of a strange story, but nonetheless it is a story I have to tell. I do hope that it resonates with you and makes you feel how I feel when I am creating my art.

To start, I grew up a poor child. Extremely poor; so much so that I couldn’t even afford the craft I am about to tell you about. Thankfully, me and my 9 siblings did have food to eat each day but only because the government felt so bad for us and handed out supplements each month. It’s quite sad to look back on honestly.

Though we were extremely impoverished, there was a single tv in the house and I would have to fight for the right to watch my favorite tv show when it came on. It’s probably a show you’ve heard of but never seen. My family absolutely hated it but I couldn’t get enough of it and I’m still unsure why I was so in love with it.

The show was called ‘Cut to the Chase’ and it was about this extremely talkative pair of scissors. I thought Chase was such a funny character and I had to beg my mother to go as him for halloween for so many years. She never let me and I know it wasn’t because of our lack of money. She simply thought it was a strange obsession and wanted me to grow out of it so desperately.

Well.

News flash, mother: IT WAS NOT A PHASE!

I did go through that phase of cutting up little animals, and I cringe so hard looking back. Those creatures were so innocent and I was so reckless. Such tragedy.

I thought I wanted to be a doctor for so long but I was much too creative to endure the trials of becoming one. My father wanted me to pursue this but it never really felt right in my soul.

My mother thought I would make such a wonderful hairstylist, but I never had the fashion sense nor the creative range to fulfill that role. I knew where my heart resided, and though I also recognized none of my family could understand, I had to do what my heart desired. And it truly did work out, because now I’m one of the top artists in my city and I’m living luxuriously because of my vision.

Though I had known about the world of scissor art before then, it truly started in middle school. I don’t know what my parents did for work but we had started to be able to afford more than we could before. And in turn, I was able to buy scissors instead of stealing them from my classrooms.

My first recognized project was called ‘wheel of fortune’ and it was a wheel of blades. Miss Russo was so concerned but ultimately amazed. It was an electric-powered device that displayed various fortunes for the recipient. All of the blades were painted black except for one which was colored gold. Whatever the gold blade landed on was your fortune.

Sidenote, and completely unrelated to the main subject of the story, but I had also gotten deep into mysticism as a child. It’s such a wonderful resource but truthfully, it was never as satisfying or calming as making projects out of scissors.

I don’t believe a craft such as scissor art is for everyone, and I haven’t found many others who enjoy it as much as I do. This being said, I hope my story inspires you to want to create. I hope it inspires you to acknowledge that there is truly beauty in everything if you just allow your eyes to see it.

Satire
1

About the Creator

Ari Asha Love

Been writing all my life but the question is whether or not I truly take it seriously.

You can find me on most social media platforms as afroqueergod :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.