Fiction logo

Scintilla

Chapter 2: The Find

By Silvia ThomasPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 16 min read
1

The next few days pass in a blur as everyone is still mourning the loss of their guild mate, while trying to make the children who now have their emblems, feel more at home. The children are twins named Sally and Jason Hart. They are 5 years old and have never met their father and still have no idea that Newton is their father. Morgana put them under a spell that let them sleep while she searched their memories. She saw Amelia send him away when his personality changed and she put the protection spell on her children connecting them to Rowan. She saw Amelia crying and telling them how sorry she was but that they would always be safe and have a home. She also saw that Amelia would tell the children not to say anything about their father when others were around. The twins were too young to remember this but Morgana had a hunch that this information would be buried deep in their memories. When she looked into their memories she got the rough picture and gathered that Newton was changed shortly after Amelia gave birth to the twins. Which also gave her the idea that Amelia could sense the dark magic that took root inside of Newton. Morgana finished the spell and left to sit down stairs at the bar to drink. Morgana was lost in her thoughts when she felt a big strong hand on her shoulder. Staring at the inside of her cup she didn’t bother to look up, just smiled. She sighs, “things have become more complicated. I need to see the others. I’ll be gone for a bit.” Cordon nods his head, “you aren’t going alone and you know…” Morgana raises her hand, “I need to go alone. Where I need to go you can’t come. Stay here please. I’ll feel better if you stay here and watch after everything for me.” Cordon sits next to her at the bar knowing that she is giving him no room for argument so he just nods. Morgana knows she just won so she smiles into her mug and says, “well I should get ready to leave.” Cordon grabs her hand and squeezes it. Morgana smiles and nods, “it seems things are going dark again. Like they did before the war.” Cordon’s face goes dark, “do you really think that the dark war is coming to us now?” Morgana nods as she takes a drink and Cordon says in a low voice, “I will never let the dark war infect the peace that we have finally found and I will never let it hurt our family.” Cordon grabs the mug from Morgana’s hand and chugs the last of it. Morgana nods, “it's time to get ready for the shit storm that is coming our way.” Cordon nods and Morgana gets up and heads back to her room where she grabs a black silk bag and goes to stand in front of a large antique golden mirror that stands 7 feet tall next to her desk. Suddenly, Blossom appears next to Morgana’s reflection and Morgana says, “it’s time to go.” Blossom nods and the mirror begins to ripple all the way to the edges of the golden frame once the rippling is constant Morgana and Blossom walk through the mirror.

Coming out on the other end Morgana and Blossom emerge in a forest in the early hours of the night. The forest is full of trees as far as the eye can see. The mirror fades until it disappears as Morgana begins to walk toward the stream that is just in front of her. Morgana drops the black silk bag as she walks to please the sprites that are sputtering about around them. THe bag is taken by a group of sprites and disappears into the darkness of the forest. As Blossom follows silently behind Morgana, young sprites start to light the entire forest. The soft sounds of the forest ring all around them as they walk down by the gently following stream. Morgana remains silent as they continue their walk till they get to a small set of ruins that the stream runs through. The remains of a temple are still visible even after 300 years. The tall white marble columns of the only remaining wall has 3 pillars that lead into two of the only arches that remain with no roof letting the moon light bathe the ruins in soft light as the sprites float all around the ruins. In the center there is a set of marble steps that lead in the stream with marble dragons on each side of the steps and a marble bench covered in ivy on each of its sides. The ruins are surrounded by nature on all sides. Morgana sits on the last step and leans against the steps behind her making it so that she can see the stars and moon that are shining brightly tonight. She closes her eyes and lets out a deep breath, “do you remember the beginning of the war Blossom?” Blossom has now curled up in a comfortable ball next to Morgana as she stares with her deep blue eyes, “yes, as if it was yesterday sadly. We lost so much…” Morgana nods absently, “yes we did, but even with all that pain and suffering there was still hope. After all, we have both found love after all this time. I wonder how strong the elves think they are now? Do you think the dark king will think of challenging us again?” Blossom sighs as she lays down, “I don’t doubt it to be honest. He stopped being a friend of wisdom and started running from it over a 1000 years ago now. And if his general is still alive then we are in for a full blown war again. That woman was always so bloodthirsty.” Morgana can’t keep back her laughter now, “did you just politely call the dark king stupid?” Blossom nods innocently as Morgana bellows out laughter. Morgana calms herself after a bit, “well,…I guess if anyone is going to call that man stupid it would be you.”

“Who is stupid?” says a beautiful woman with long bluish gray hair and pointed ears and soft smooth skin walks out of the shadows. Her black skin tight pants show off her curvy frame as she walks with her massive black leather combat boots, that on anyone else would look silly, fit her style very well. Her black corset top works well with the red embedded rubies all over the front of the top as her black trench coat sways behind her. As she comes into the moonlight the four silver earrings on each ear twinkle and her black jeweled crown shows just how brightly the beautiful onyx royal fea families mark is. Her golden eyes catch in the moonlight as Morgana sits up and says, “well it took you long enough to get here Sutton.” Sutton shrugs as she puts her delicate looking hands and well black manicured nails up in the air as a surrender, “I am a busy woman and not at your beckon call, Morgs besides I got a bit tied up with guild business. Some of my children destroyed a town’s main square monument so I had to send repair money and apologize to the town and the council.” Sutton hangs her head, “it seems like that is all I will ever do is pay bills and send out apologies for my wild little ones. They are the best though.” Morgana rolls her eyes and Sutton lets out a loud laugh, “you never change Morgs.” Morgana rolls her eyes again at the old nickname, “well at least your children only destroyed a monument my little spit fire destroyed a town on her last job. I was tied up with the council for a week.” Sutton laughs again, “I see Rowan is still as wild as ever.” Morgana nods, “yes she is…well where is…” Sutton answers before she can say anything, “he is tied up at the moment with guild business. So what was this mystery meeting about? Is it really that dangerous that we had to come all the way out to the old temple?” Morgana nods again, “the dark elves have found their way to this realm. My children had an encounter with them.” Sutton sits on the bench shocked, “how did they even manage to do that? Are the children all right?” Morgana nods, “yes but it seems they haven’t given up on the golden dragon. They are also working with the hunters or using them is what it seems like to me.” Sutton leans back on the bench with her elbow propping her up and a boot now on the bench to keep her steady as the other still rests on the floor, “well that’s not good. Have you told the children yet?” Morgana shakes her head as she goes back to staring at the stars above now, “no I want them to have as much peace as they can for now. Besides we don’t know much about where the dark elves are or what they are doing yet. It seems like a waste of time to worry the children right now.” Sutton looks at the back of Morgana’s head, “don’t you think that is a little dangerous? I mean from what you told me the golden dragon will emerge and the power will be more than that child can control at first.” Sutton sighs, “you play a dangerous game Morgs.” Blossom nods, “told you.” Morgana rolls her eyes, “I have a plan. Don't worry. Besides,” Morgana gets up and walks over to lean against one of the remaining pillars and looks at Sutton who is now staring at the stream, “I have a bigger task for you. Rowan brought home a stray this time. He smells of stale magic.”

Sutton looks at Morgana with a confused look, “and why are you telling me about that?” Morgana starts to rummage in her pocket and finally pulls out a long wooden smoking pipe and packs it as she says, “he smells of the stale sea.” This makes Sutton sit up straight, “are you sure?” Morgana nods, “My nose has never lied to me yet.” She sparks the pipe and takes in a big huff and waits for Sutton to process what she has said as she lets out the smoke and continues to smoke while she waits. Sutton is finally able to focus, “do you think he is…but that’s not possible. I have found most of the royal family and their descendants. How could I have missed this one?” Morgana shrugs as she lets out more smoke, “I'm not sure but just to be extra sure I brought a scent sample that I collected off the boy.” She pulls out a small glass vial and tosses it over to Sutton who opens it and takes a deep whiff before saying, “yeah, that’s the sea’s scent all right but its a bit off more like…” Sutton trails off for a bit as she thinks and suddenly snaps her fingers surprising Morgana, “that’s it! My mother told me that my aunt had a half-breed grandchild. Part sea fea; part human. But the child was kept hidden so that they wouldn’t be hunted by the dark elves. Too easily corrupted. This smells like my aunt’s line but like something is missing. Hmm, maybe the connection to our ancestors' magic has gone dormant. An awakening spell should do the trick.” Morgana lets out a cough as she chokes on the smoke from her pipe, “an awakening spell! You say that so casually like it’s not dangerous. It could kill the boy!” Sutton shrugs, “it's really the only way to test out the theory and see if he is the missing bloodline of the sea queen. There is no other way. I’m sure he will be fine.” Morgana rolls her eyes before closing them and massaging the bridge of her nose, “you give me a headache Sutton.” Sutton tilts her head in confusion before Morgana goes on, “is there any way to test the vial and see if we even have to test the boy?” Sutton sits for a bit and then says, “I can do a blood link spell and see if it reacts but since there is no DNA in here it will be weak.” Morgana nods, “try it.” Sutton nods and closes her eyes then opens them and mumbles a spell in another language, the language of the sea fea, “edmari atto lodum.” The vial gives off a faint deep blue hue before it quickly dies out and Sutton smiles, “well looks like he is family after all.” Morgana rubs the bridge of her nose again, “Sutton don’t be so happy just yet he can still die and your little happy family reunion will be ruined.” Sutton pouts, “why do you always have to ruin happy things with your little black cloud of a personality, Morgs? It could end up with a good outcome ya know.” Blossom laughs slightly, “Sutton you should know that Morgana is always optimistic but when you’re around she can’t help but be more realistic. How long will the spell take to prepare?” Sutton smiles again, “about a week the preparation isn’t the problem its the person being put under the spell that's the problem. If their life force and soul aren’t strong enough then they will die in the middle of the spell or end up having permanent brain damage but if it works than the person will be connected to my ancestors and they will be able to wield magic. It just depends on the purity of his soul and strength of his life force.”

Sutton sighs as she stands up, “if my aunt hadn’t died helping the dragon queen then she could simply snap her fingers without the need of the spell and make it happen but since she did we have to do it this way.” Blossom sits up now, “I guess there is no other choice Morgana.” Morgana leans her head back against the column, “I have a feeling that Rowan isn’t going to make this easy for us.” Sutton looks at Morgana and asks, “why?” Morgans closes her eyes, “she is growing more and more attached to the boy almost like they are mates and if I am right, which I think I am, then that means she will put up a fight when we go to perform the spell. I will have to restrain her and that won’t go over so well once she is set loose.” Sutton raises her eyebrows and makes an O face, “Oh I see, yeah you dragons are really protective of your mates. Well that is a pickle.” Morgana pushes off the column and puts the pipe back in her pocket as she walks to the streams edge, “we have no choice; if we don’t do it now and give him a chance to learn to control the power than if he comes into contact with the dark king he will be hunted, taken, and drained of any and all magical connection and that will be more gruesome than death itself. The boy won’t survive that.” Sutton gets up and goes over to stand next to Morgana, “well then I will see you in a week.” Morgana nods and Sutton starts to go toward the area where she appeared before turning around and asking, “any thing else Morgs?” Morgana shakes her head as she stares at the water. Sutton nods, “okay, well I'll send word to him and let him know what we talked about and then I'll get everything ready for the spell. I’ll send word when I'm on the way. Oh and try not to be so upset all the time, Morgs. It gives you wrinkles.” Sutton walks off into the darkness and disappears. Blossom stares at the stream, “do you think those two are fated?” Morgana nods, “I believe so, but only time will tell us the truth. Once the boy’s magic connection is restored, if they are fated to be together, their mate bond should kick in and if that is true then we will see a change in their behavior towards one another. They will both get more aggressive if one of them is in danger and more territorial in general. Rowan is going to be a headache.” Blossom laughs, “yes well that little one is always a headache so not much is going to change besides Ragna will be there to help with the bond.” Morgana nods, “I guess we will see. We should get back now. We stopped time for too long already.” Blossom nods and they leave in the direction that they came from returning to their starting point. Morgana waves her hand and the mirror reappears. They step through and are back at the guild. They walk down stairs and find Jax sitting at a table by himself as he and Rowan take turns glancing at each other while the other is turned from afar. Morgana rubs the bridge of her nose and says to herself, “this is going to be a disaster.”

Blossom laughs, “well might as well talk to the boy about his life and try to figure out if he might survive the spell so we can at least give our little fire dragon that reassurance.” Morgana nods and walks over to the table where Jax is sitting and sits across from him. Rowan lets out a little growl in the back of her throat so she gets a stern look from Morgana and instead turns around and pays attention to her food. Morgana looks at Jax who is now staring at her and she smiles, “Jax, tell me about your family.” Jax looks at her a little caught off guard and stops mid chew then says with a full mouth, “I'm sorby wbut wut?” Morgana smiles, “tell me about your family. I make it a priority to know who is staying under my roof.” Jax swallows his mouthful and nods, “sorry of course, I just didn’t expect that is all.” Morgana nods and he continues, “well my mother and father were together for a year after I was born and then my father took me when he left my mother. About four years after leaving my mother he met my step mother and they wed. She never had any children of her own so she loved me like I was hers. We spent a lot of time moving around when I was a young child until we eventually settled in a small town by the ocean. I lived with them until about a year ago.” Jax takes a drink of his water and goes on, “my mother was always after us when I was a child saying that my father was hers and hers alone and that my stepmother was nothing but trash to be thrown out. She was the reason that we were always moving when I was a child. My stepmother was kind and I see her as my true mother. Her name was Abby and she was a mage.” Morgana puts her hand up, “did you say your step mother was a mage?” Jax nods, “yeah her name was Abby Moss and I think she had earth magic.” Morgana nods for him to continue so Jax goes on, “I was raised around a mage and she was a good person. I didn’t inherit the hatred that my mother wanted me too and then one day about a year ago I got really sick. According to my step mother I was on the verge of death and then I was given medication and I was cured. Shortly after that my mother found us again and I saw her talking to my father. He died not long after that. I truly think my mother killed him.” Morgana taps her fingers on the table and asks, “if you believe that why would you be with her?” Jax’s grip tightens around his mug and it doesn’t go unnoticed by Morgana as he answers, “because after my father died, my mother came back and took my step mother. I had renounced her as my mother and claimed Abby as my real mother and it made her angry. She came with Newton and they took my real mother away and dragged me back by force. My mother told me that if I ever wanted to see her again that I would have to behave myself. I started to look for Abby because I didn’t believe my mother’s word. I haven’t been able to find her in the year that I have been looking and then Amelia was brought in and well you know the story from there.”

Morgana nods, “well it sounds like you have an amazing mother and we will do whatever we can to help you find her. On that you have my word.” Morgana gets up and is stopped by Jax, “um, I…” Morgana looks at him with a curious smile as he goes on, “I would like to be part of your guild. If that is even possible.” Morgana looks at him with a thoughtful smile, “I think that would be a good idea. Don’t you, Rowan?” Rowan starts to choke and nods without saying anything. Jax has a slight blush crawling up his neck as he tries to hide the smile he can’t fight back and says, “well then I would like to become a member.” Morgana nods, “well you have the approval and attention of our wildest child.” Rowan who has calmed chokes again and turns to hide the blush that is coloring her face as Morgana smirks and goes on, “we will give you the mark now. Where would you like it?” Jax looks surprised but points to his arm so that it shows an area that is opposite of Rowan’s and that makes Morgana smile. She waves her hand and a slight burning sensation makes Jax flinch as the mark of the guild appears on his arm in a deep ocean blue color which to Morgana only confirms his connection to the sea queen. Jax looks at it and smiles as he goes over to show Gordon and Susanne who have just walked in. Morgana walks out of the guild hall and up the stairs to her room where she enters it and shuts the door then goes to sit behind her desk. Blossom comes from the shadows and lays in front of the fire that is raging, “giving him a mark, was it a smart move?” Morgana leans back in her dark leather chair and turns to look out a window next to her, “I'm not sure but I do know that this ups his chances of him surviving the spell and kills a couple more birds with one stone.” Blossom closes her eyes, “a couple birds? Then do you think he is in danger?” Morgana nods, “I do, but even more now the council can’t get involved and tie my hands for protecting the boy. Besides, I feel we are going to need all the help we can get.” Blossom huffs in agreement as Morgana says to herself, “the war has come…we have no choice but to be ready.”

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Silvia Thomas

Writing has always been a passions and creating worlds that embody that passion and take you to a different place entirely is my biggest goal! Join the adventure…

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Silvia Thomas (Author)3 months ago

    chapter 3 will be out soon

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.