Fiction logo

SCALES: Fighting Tooth and Claw

Chapter 1- Secret Revealed

By Elyse PenningtonPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

There weren’t always dragons in the Valley, but in the blink of an eye and the flick of my wrist, I just became the scariest dragon of all. Standing immobile, a mist of blood coats my skin, and my magic’s smell fills the air. Looking at Azrael’s shocked face, I know my secret is out. Magic has not been seen in seventy-three years, not since the death of the original leader of the Dragons, Gabriel Vincent. Lerna Valley has just become a dangerous place for me.

- - -

In 1914, Gabrial Vincent grew tired of the angelic expectations his name elicited. The world wasn’t kind, and watching his family suffer at the hands of those in power filled his heart with fire. His rage turned to claws that slashed anyone in his way. He sharpened his teeth to bite anyone who threatened him. He tattooed scales across his body to show that he was impenetrable. Unlike anyone else, Gabriel possessed magic, a thing of lore, which made him impossible to beat.

From one angry nineteen-year-old grew the Conclave that now ruled Lerna Valley. The Dragons were like the serpent Hydra; when one head was cut off, two would take its place. The organization is composed of eight heads, the leaders of the eight families of the Conclave. One High Minister and seven Deans act as judge and jury to all who reside in Lerna.

Shortly after Gabrial came to power, scale tattoos became a badge of honor. New members join at eighteen, and upon the passing of the trials of entry, their right arm is covered from shoulder to fingertip. The left arm and legs are added to in patches. Each new section is earned from actions the Conclave determines are for the good of the Dragons’ continued success. Patches of scales on a person’s back or chest represented darker deeds, the kind that often ended the life of another. These tattoos are a message to those within the Dragons, showing dedication and loyalty. They remind Lerna Valley that the Dragons will do whatever it takes to remain in control.

My father, Raziel, is one of two members who are the embodiment of a true Dragon. He is covered in dark green scales from his scalp and face to the bottom of his feet. The only other adorned entirely is the High Minister, the direct descendent of Gabrial, Ariel.

Ariel is the first woman to be appointed to her role. She has ruled with a strong fist and even wit. Her son, Azreal, is expected to take her place when it is time. Azrael now knows my secret. I do not know how or why, but I, Sachiel Drake, possess magic. I fear that my friend has now just become my enemy.

- - -

Azrael and I started working closely together as soon as we joined the Dragons. He trains under my father, the head of security and weaponry. We were on the mats trading blows when the notice for his first task arrived. I had nothing better to do and was superior to him in defense and surveillance, which I like to point out whenever the situation allows. So, I went with him, and we have continued working together since.

Our task today was to neutralize a potential uprising. This morning, Azrael picked me up in his Jeep. He had coffee and doughnuts waiting for me.

“Thank you, I needed this,” I said while taking a deep gulp of black coffee.

“I know you aren’t a morning person, but please eat. You are a nightmare when you're hungry,” he laughed.

“Mightmear? Me?” I mumbled through a big bite of dough.

“So, as my mother told us yesterday, Timothy Denton has been gathering the Valley’s citizens to rise against the Dragons and start a new governing entity. We know he is supposed to be meeting his generals now. Our best bet is to trap him in his office when they leave.”

I nodded in agreement. Az just repeated everything I had planned the day before. I couldn’t help myself and rolled my eyes.

“Don’t be like that. I know it’s your plan. I just want to make sure we are on the same page,” he elbowed me in the shoulder. I laughed, spraying crumbs on his dashboard. “Saz!”

“What? It’s a great plan, almighty one. I’m glad you let me in on it,” I giggled.

“Oh, shut it,” Azrael said with a smirk.

We parked down the street from the abandoned building the group was using as headquarters. Az turned the engine off and settled in with his coffee to watch.

“Do you think Timothy will listen?” I asked.

“For his sake, I hope so. I know intimidation is how the Dragons have kept order in the past. But, I think it would be better for Lerna if we can find a more reasonable way to fix things,” Az said hopefully.

I didn’t know how to respond, but I agreed with him. Ruling with fear won’t last forever. More and more, the people of Lerna Valley were starting to fight back. I believe the Dragons can keep the Valley safe, but it is time for the way they do it to evolve.

We sat in silence for about an hour. We watched as people emerged from the building. They attempted to look nonchalant as they walked out and in various directions. Finally, when ten minutes passed, Az and I got out of the Jeep.

Arm in arm, we walked up the street. Our heads leaned into each other to appear like a couple taking a stroll. When we reached the front doors, Az leaned into me, pushing my body against the glass, pretending to go in for a kiss. Stretching one arm around his neck to pull him closer, I snaked my other hand around the door handle. It opened easily. Stepping closer to me, Az rolled us, and we slipped inside.

The building was in severe disrepair. We quietly moved around the first floor to see if anyone else was there. Once cleared, we moved to the second floor and did the same. On the third floor, we saw a single light pouring from beneath a closed door. We crept to it and listened.

“They have agreed to do whatever is necessary,” a male voice said. The conversation was one-sided. It sounded like he was talking on a phone. Az and I waited until he disconnected before moving.

Azrael looked at me and motioned with his hands that he was going to go in first. I raised an eyebrow and mouthed, “Duh.” Then, rolling his eyes, he stood and kicked in the door. He rushed Timothy against a wall in one smooth action and held him there with a hand across his neck. I strolled in behind him. My eyes swept the room, making sure there were no other threats.

“Tim, Tim, Tim, how are you doing this fine morning?” I asked flippantly. “We heard you had a party here. Unfortunately, our invite must have been lost in the mail.”

Timothy’s eyes darted from Az’s right arm covered in black scales to the deep red version on me. Recognition clouded his features. “I have nothing to say to the likes of you.”

“Ahhh, that’s too bad. I have many things to say to you,” I responded with a smile. “A little birdy told us… or maybe it was a rat, that you were feeling unhappy. So we are here to set everything right.”

That’s when everything went haywire. I expected to say a few more sarcastic comments when Timothy pulled a gun and pressed the nozzle against Azrael’s body. My heart stopped, and Az’s eyes widened with shock. All of my training kicked into gear, but I couldn’t find a way out for us both to be unharmed. Without conscious thought or a purposeful reason, my magic began to hum beneath my skin.

“I’d rather be a murderer than a traitor,” Timothy said. Time slowed, and I watched as his finger moved to pull the trigger. Flame and smoke radiated out of me, and I flicked my wrist. I just wanted to move the barrel of the gun, but in less than a breath, Timothy evaporated, leaving only a mist of blood where he once stood.

Azrael looked at me with horror and confusion. My brain tried to catch up with what my instincts had done. Finally, our eyes locked on each other, and at that moment, I understood that my fate rested in his hands.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Elyse Pennington

The world of words is where I hide to escape. I am working to grow in my writing. Please join me on some of my adventures.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.