Fiction logo

Santa Sweetie

A M/M Romantic Christmas Fantasy

By KW711Published 2 years ago 22 min read
4

Snow fell in delicate flakes. The wind whipped my car back and forth across the icy road. I clutched the steering wheel, desperately trying to keep steady. I knew I shouldn't have been driving in a blizzard. I didn't care. As the sun fell beyond the trees, I carried on.

It was Christmas Eve. I was traveling from Chicago to Omaha. I had a much-needed break from university. I was looking forward to Christmas with my family. I hadn't seen my parents or told my little sister how annoying she was in months. I couldn't wait to get home. As I drove along the icy roads, it was almost like I could smell my mom's ham.

Thoughts of green bean casserole and deviled eggs kept my mind busy. It was better than thinking about the alternative. Since I've been in Chicago, I've been seeing this guy, Clark. Clark was a hunky dream and one of the best study partners I could ask for. Well, he was. A few nights ago, I caught Clark in bed with my roommate. Needless to say, I was heartbroken but some time with my family should help. It had to. With the way I was feeling, I was in desperate need of a Christmas miracle.

I must have been too lost in thought. A deer emerged from the forest to the side of me. I couldn't hit my brakes fast enough. Not that it would have helped. I went sliding across the ice. The next thing I knew, I was hit in the face by the airbag.

In the darkness, through the ringing in my ears, I could have sworn I heard the jingling of bells. There was a loud snort and the clap of a hoof on crunchy ice. The next, there was a loud and guttural, cheerful laugh.

"Ho, ho, ho," I felt the stranger picking me up into his arms.

Then, I lost consciousness…

***
The breeze was brisk and my head was aching. At first, I couldn't open my eyes. It felt like I was moving a mile a minute in a convertible. Groggily, I opened my eyes.

To my surprise, I was flying across the twinkling lights of Paris. The Eiffel Tower seemed so small from up here. Was I in a sleigh?

"Merry Christmas," a booming, yet velvety voice came from behind me.

I turned to face forward. I couldn't decide what was more mystifying, the man sitting next to me driving the sleigh or the fact that we were being flown around by reindeer. One of them even had a glowing nose.


Without taking his hands off the reins, he turned to face me. The stranger's face lit up with a bright smile. He was young and vibrant with reddish blonde hair and a strong jaw. He had the most gorgeous icy eyes. This guy looked nothing like the imposters who invaded the malls each winter. This guy was kind of hot.

"This has to be a dream," I hesitated. "There's no way you're…"

The stranger gave me a wink and a hearty laugh. "Afraid you're not dreaming my friend. I'm the northern smile and the gift giver himself, Santa Claus. But you can call me Nick."

"This may be a little forward, Nick, but do you think you could take me home? I think you could appreciate me wanting to spend Christmas with my family."

"Oh yes," Nick nodded. His blue eyes twinkled. "Family is important. Don't worry, Theo. It might be a few hours but we'll get you home. Usually, Santa likes to jump around the map a bit but I think I could get you to Omaha soon enough."

"I was going to ask how you knew my name but you know what, forget it," I rolled my eyes. How could anyone be so chipper?

"You're having a ho, ho, horrible holiday season, I take it?" Nick leaned forward, adjusting in his seat.

I couldn't help but notice how broad and ripped the guy looked beneath that red velvet. I licked my lips and turned away. I watched the city below, not wanting to answer. I wasn't falling for that trap. Santa was a hunk, and he seemed friendly enough. However, I needed my family, not some handsome, cheeky near-death hallucination.

"You're sure sour for someone on the nice list," Santa carefully landed the sleigh upon a snowy rooftop. "I'll be right back."

I watched as the man grabbed the sack of toys out of the back of the sleigh. It made sense he was so ripped. That bag looked heavy. Santa didn't struggle to carry it to the chimney. Santa winked at me before wiggling his nose.

With each wiggle, both the bag of presents grew smaller. Red velvet shrunk to fit into the palm of Santa's hand. With a beaming smile, he jumped down the chimney.

"You should open up to him," a voice said to me.

I followed the voice to a reindeer.

"Yeah," Donner neighed.

"Santa has been so sad since Mrs. Claus died," Blitzen bleated.

"He could really use a friend," Rudolph gave me a sappy twinkle of his nose as his large, dark eyes threatened tears.

How could I resist? They were all so adorable. I went to pet Rudolph on the head. His little nose blinked with each pat upon the head.

"I appreciate what you're doing here guys but I need to get back to my family," I said to the reindeer.

"Oh come on Theo, I saw how you smiled at Santa," Comet cheerfully interjected.

"Yeah," Cupid did a little dance, clapping her hooves upon the icy shingles. "And you can't look into his eyes very long or your cheeks turn red. You totally got the hots for Nick."

"I don't know," I said. "I live in Chicago. Nick is all the way up at the North Pole. I'm not really into the long-distance thing."

"Oh my God man," Dancer went berserk, headbutting me with antlers. "Just let us give our boss a magical night and if you don't like him that's fine. After Christmas Eve, you can go back to being boring or whatever, but for the love of Jack Frost, just give it a chance!"

I was starting to worry the reindeer might push me off the roof if I didn't agree.

"Fine," I rolled my eyes and crossed my arms. "But I'm not looking for a relationship. We can hang out for the night, as friends, as long as you promise to get me home to my family.

"We promise," the reindeer cheered in unison.

A few moments later, Nick came up the chimney with a plate of cookies. He climbed out and offered me a gingerbread man.

"No thanks," I said. "I'm not hungry."

"Who isn't in the mood for Christmas cookies?" Nick shrugged before climbing back into the sleigh. "More for me. You coming or what?"

I sighed before getting into the sleigh with Nick. Those meddling reindeer were up to something. Suddenly, it was like the sleigh was half the size. Nick and I had no choice but to sit so close that our legs touched.

While I wasn't trying to ho, ho, ho it up with Santa, I did have to admit the heat coming off his leg was nice. Having his leg against mine was like standing before a crackling fire on a cold winter morning. It made me feel all fuzzy inside. I pushed it away.

"So where's Mrs. Claus?" I blurted, like an idiot.

"So they have been talking to you," Nick shot a playful look at the reindeer. "I figured as much. Guys, what's with the shrinking sleigh?"

The reindeer just giggled, pulling us off the roof and into the sky. I felt a flutter in my stomach upon takeoff.

"Nevermind," Nick sighed. "Meddling deer. Theo, I'm sorry about this. Ever since my wife took her place in the northern lights, they've been worried about me. A little too worried."

I instinctively put my hand on Nick's shoulder. "I'm sorry to hear that."

"Thank you," Nick's blue eyes broke like shattering glass. "Christmas hasn't been the same without her."

I didn't know what to say. I was only 25. I hadn't experienced that kind of grief. Thanks to Clark, I was feeling lost but not the kind that comes with losing a loved one. All I could do was pull Nick into a warm hug in an attempt to comfort him.

"Thank you, Theo," Nick said as I nestled into his arms. "Now, no more being sad. It's almost Christmas. There's something I want to show you…"

Santa's sleigh took me across the globe at breakneck speed. Soon, we were far from civilization, flying across an arctic tundra. Snow flew up as we sped past. Then, in the cold dark horizon, twinkling lights began to break.

I couldn't believe my eyes. The North Pole was so much prettier than I had expected. It wasn't a large village but everything about it screamed festive. Snowy cottages lined cobblestone streets. A pair of elves were kissing beneath an illuminated ice sculpture of a snowman that twirled in circles. The air was filled with all the sounds and smells of the holidays; glistening lights, steaming cookies, and jolly jingles. I was awestruck.

"I can't believe this is real," I told Nick as we headed for a landing. Nick parked the sleigh next to a castle that filled the center of the village. "I can't believe you're real."

"As real as rum balls on Christmas morning," Nick chuckled.

"You've been doing this a long time," I said. "How do you look so young?"

"It's a Christmas miracle," Nick coyly smiled before jumping out of the sleigh. "Follow me."

Nick held out a gloved hand. He looked back at me, wiggled his fingers, and smiled. "Come on. I promise you'll love this."

I took Nick by the hand. He led me through the festive village, past the romancing elves and even a talking snowman.

"Seasons greetings," the snowman tipped his hat to me.

"Hey," I nervously nodded back.

"Now I know I'm dead," I stopped walking.

When Nick felt the tug of my unmoving hand, he turned back to face me. His blue eyes glistened beneath the twinkling lights overhead. Nick looked at me with the biggest smile. "What makes you say that?"

"Because look at this place. Everything is too clean, perfect. It can't be real. I died in that car accident. I had to. This is my brain sending me off with some sugar cookie-coated delusion…"

Nick shook it off with a smile, squeezing my hand tighter. "I promise you, Theo, you're still alive. Now, come on or you'll miss it."

Nick led me through the village. At the back of the cozy little town was a large cliff overlooking an icy sea. Green and yellow swirls danced in the sky.

"I've never seen the northern lights before," I watched the sky, amazed. "So gorgeous."

"I knew you would like it," Nick sat me down on the edge of the cliff. Our legs dangled off but somehow, with Nick, I knew I wasn't going to fall.

As we watched the lights fly by, there came a jingling from the village behind us. Then, an empty sleigh went flying across the moon as it was led away by a posse of deer.

"Those meddling reindeer," Santa chuckled. "They've been doing anything they can to…"

"To make you find love again," I said. "I know they told me."

"I'm sorry Theo. I should have taken you back to Omaha when I had the chance," Nick looked sad.

"It's fine," I rested my head on Nick's shoulder. For a moment, I quietly watched the northern lights swirling by. "I'm more worried about how the kids are going to get their presents, seeing as they left without you."

"Eh," Nick shrugged. "The sleigh and my reindeer will get them delivered on time. They might be a troublesome lot but they know better than to let down my kids."

That struck me. I knew good old Saint Nick was a kind-hearted man but he didn't just give out toys and trinkets, Nick truly cared about the kids of the world. Annoying, yet admirable.

"You really care about the kids, huh?" I asked Nick.

"Every kid needs a little holiday magic. That's why I do what I do. This world can be so cold and cruel. I know that my gifts can't change their lives. But, if I can offer the children of the world a day of pure Christmas joy, I'm always going to do it. Even if the holidays hurt more than they used to," Nick pursed his lips.

I don't know what came over me. I'm not sure if it's because Nick was so darn cute, or because I could see his loneliness. I planted a kiss on Santa's forehead. His reddish blonde hair tickled my nose as I took in the scent of sweets and warm spices. Santa kind of smelled like a snack.

We lingered my lips on his warm forehead. His shoulders loosened beneath the embrace. Then, Nick wrapped an arm around my waist. We watched the lights dancing as the joy in my heart grew to immeasurable lengths. I hate to say it, but I was kind of falling head over snowshoe with Santa.

***
After we left the snowy cliff, Santa took me to his workshop. It was right next to his castle. The workshop looked and smelled like a giant gingerbread house. I'll admit it, I may have stolen a gumdrop off the doorframe.

"It's good isn't it," Nick chuckled. "Making all these toys works up quite the appetite. Thank goodness I have the best elven bakers you could ask for. If I've had a long week, I've been known to eat an entire workbench or three."

"It's a good thing there's no diabetes in hallucinatory Christmas fantasies," I broke a corner off a bench. It tasted like graham crackers.

"You're really stuck on this I'm not real thing," Nick's boyish face lit up with a smirk. His dazzling blue eyes reflected the fireplace crackling behind us.

"It's too good to be true," I admitted. "I, uh, wasn't supposed to be in that car alone. My boyfriend, well my ex-boyfriend was supposed to meet my family this Christmas. Sorry if I'm being a bit of a Scrooge. Just seems to be the way my holiday season is going."

"Well, Theo, I can promise you I'm as real as snow on Christmas morning. I'm sorry about Clark. He was doing so good this year and bam, naughty list. If it's any consolation, I've considered replacing his coal with reindeer droppings," Nick laughed, taking another bite of his workbench.

"Santa," I laughed. "That's very naughty of you. Do you do that often?"

"Nope," Nick offered me a wild grin. "Only when cheating boyfriends end up on my list. That's one thing I just won't tolerate."

"Sounds like you're a true believer in love," I rested myself on the bench. Trying to overcome the wave of sadness swelling in the darkest reaches of my lonely heart. "Wish I could say the same."

"You believe," Nick came and sat next to me. Our hands touched, causing my body to relax. "I know you do. I saw the way you smiled at Clark. You wanted to love him…"

"But I think I knew all along where it was going. I saw how he acted with other guys. It always sort of hurts but I thought maybe I could change him," I admitted, turning to look at Nick.

His blue eyes held me tight. I couldn't look away. We just sort of started staring at each other in this deeply goofy way. Then, Nick started coming forward. I could feel his breath on my face as we nearly kissed. It was short-lived, an elf with a high-pitched voice came barging into the workshop.

"Santa, Santa! There's been a mix-up!" The female elf was huffing so hard that the dangling puff at the top of her hat kept bouncing off her chubby cheeks. "The reindeer took the wrong bag! They've been delivering coal all night!"

"Oh no," Nick stood up from the bench. "Think you could help me deliver these gifts?"

"Of course," I smiled at Nick. "As long as you get me to Omaha by tomorrow afternoon, I'm game for almost anything."

***

You don't realize how much work it takes to deliver gifts to every child in one night. Not only were we flying the backup sleigh at three hundred miles an hour, but we also had to work as a team to make Christmas right. Santa and I would go down the chimney together. At first, I was a little miffed. I was wearing a designer sweater and the last thing I wanted to do was get it covered in soot. But Nick insisted we had to work together. He would put the gifts under the tree while I shook boxes looking for coal. Afterward, in strangers' houses, we'd stop by the fireplace for a few nibbles of cookies. After some time, I was burnt out on sweets but Nick told me it was rude to not try at least one thing from every house. By the end of it, I wanted to hurl.

"You ready to head for Omaha," Nick said to me upon delivering the last gift.

Sunrise was a few hours away. I knew my family was worried about me but I needed sleep most of all. Besides, earlier in the night, to avoid my mom totally freaking out, I told her the roads were too bad so I rented a hotel for the night.

"Do you think it would be okay if I crashed with you for a few hours? I could use some sleep," I asked Nick, feeling how heavy my eyes were.

Before I could get an answer, I fell out. I sure hope I wasn't snoring as I nestled my head on Nick's shoulder.

***
I once again woke to the sounds of jingles and jangles. There was some grunting from the reindeer.

"Sorry," I said, lifting my head off Nick.

"Don't be sorry," Nick smiled. "It was nice to have company tonight. Martha used to do the same thing."

I guess I hadn't realized that Nick was used to delivering gifts with a partner. I could imagine how nice tonight felt for him. Although I was starting to feel that spark between us, I knew it wouldn't work. While I might not be Santa's sweetie, what could I harm by giving him a magical night? One night with Nick couldn't possibly be enough to fall in love, could it?

Nick led me into the castle. It was massive. Every hall was decked with garland and lights. It was as wonderful as you imagined as a kid but way bigger. This castle was massive. Silently, Nick led me to a room at the end of a long, twinkling corridor.

"This is one of my guest suites," Nick nodded to me. "There are fresh sheets and towels if you'd like to take a shower."

"Thanks," I smiled at Nick. There was something awkward between us. It's like I could sense he wanted to say more but didn't.

I pushed the door open and got blasted with the heavy scent of pine. It was clean and cozy.

"I don't know, it seems a little small," I winked at Nick. "Got anything big enough for two?"

Nick's face filled with delight. He cocked his head and gave a little chuckle.

"I don't know if I'm ready for that," Nick cleared his throat. "I haven't shared a bed with anyone since…"

"Hey big man," I rested my hand on the stubble that seemingly grew across his face overnight, "don't get any ideas. It's just really cold here. I think I'd be more comfortable next to someone."

"Fair enough," Nick took me by the hand. "Follow me."

To my surprise, Nick insisted I take a shower. He said he was afraid of germs and both of us had to be clean to avoid 'funking up the sheets. I showered first.

The bathroom was a buffet of holiday-scented toiletries. Even the shower fizzy smelled like eggnog. Say what you want about Santa, but the dude stays on brand. After the shower, I wasn't sure how to leave the bathroom. Nick hadn't offered me any sleepwear, and I sure wasn't leaving the room naked. I settled for a towel.

When I walked out of the bathroom, Nick tried to be a gentleman. He tried hard. He couldn't help himself. Nick was grinning at me like a schoolboy. I'll admit, it was kind of cute.

"I'll wait by the fire," I gave him a playful shove towards the bathroom.

Nick left to shower. As I sat beside a warm, crackling fire, I watched the flames. Nick, ever the ball of joy, started singing Christmas carols as he cleaned himself. His voice was deep, joyful, and filled with holiday cheer.

On the mantle, there was a picture of Nick. He was beaming with his arm wrapped around a beautiful blonde woman. He smiled at her the way he smiled at me. I felt a tug at my heartstrings as I looked at the picture. I couldn't imagine the depths of Nick's sadness.

"I should have put that away," Nick frowned, coming out of the bathroom.

Santa was ripped. I couldn't believe how broad and cut he was. It made my knees buckle.

"It's okay," I said, placing the picture back on the mantle. "We can't forget the past, only look forward to the future. She was so pretty. You were lucky to have her."

"Lucky is an understatement," Nick pursed his lips before taking a seat in a suede chair next to the fireplace. I sat down next to him, resting my chin on his knee. As he talked, I couldn't help but feel the pull of those icy eyes. "Martha was magic. She was the perfect partner and an even better friend. It still hurts, every day, like it's still the day I lost her. I try to stay jolly, to keep up with my obligations to the kids of the world, but every year it gets harder. I feel like my heart has iced over. I want to believe in the magic of Christmas but my magic was stolen from me. I don't think I'll ever get over her."

"You don't have to," I placed my hand on Nick's leg. I gently rubbed the towel back and forth across his thigh. "Martha didn't leave you, she left this world. I know she's out there cheering you on. Don't forget that Nick."

Nick didn't look at me. He kept his eyes trained on the fire. I could tell this conversation was killing his joyful nature.

"Thanks, Theo," Nick stood up. "I'm exhausted. Are you ready for bed?"

"I am," I followed Nick to the bed.

At first, we were inches apart. I don't know what came over me. I threw my arm across Nick's bare chest. I buried my face in his pillow next to his. I couldn't help myself, so I kissed him on the neck.

Nick sighed and sat up. Looking down at me, Nick had me stunned and entranced by his eyes. I reached down, grabbing my jaw with a soft, careful hand. Nick brought his face down to mine before placing his lips upon mine.

I'm not saying it was the best kiss of my life, but kissing Nick was as heartwarming and cozy as a cup of cocoa on a cold winter's day.

Little did I know, those meddling reindeer were standing outside the window. They were gagging about how their plan worked. I found out later they purposefully grabbed the wrong bag. They wanted Nick and me to spend more of the evening together. Those darn deer were persistent.

***
The next morning, I awoke to breakfast in bed. Except the chef was Santa and the guy's idea of breakfast was a sugar-fueled tray of goodies. The only thing healthy on the entire silver tray was a plate of eggs. I went for the eggs, of course, they tasted like nog.

"Don't like the eggs?" Nick frowned. He was standing at the edge of the bed looking far too perky for someone who had been up most of the night.

"They're fine," I choked them down. "They could maybe use a little salt."

I choked down the eggs to keep Nick smiling. I was growing fond of that boyish face and his overall charm. As I ate breakfast, I was starting to feel down. I liked Nick, but I just didn't see how we could work. Yet, I wasn't ready to leave. As far as I was concerned, at that moment, I wanted to stay at the North Pole forever.

"Ready to take off?" Nick asked me as he was prepping the deer for flight.

"Honestly," I said, woefully getting in the sleigh. "Not really."

"I know what you mean," Nick took a seat next to me. He grabbed my hand and gave it a peck. "Last night was the first time in a long time I started feeling like my old self. It was nice to share a bed with someone again."

"It was," I admitted. "Nick, what would happen if I said I wanted to have more nights like last night?"

"Well," Nick leaned forward, kissing me on the forehead. The reddish blonde beard that grew on his face overnight tickled at my skin. "I think it would mean a little more exercise for the reindeer flying to Chicago every weekend but Donner is getting a little chunky. It would probably do him some good."

"Hey," Donner snorted. "It's not my fault carrots are expensive these days. I take what I can get."

We laughed together before Nick pulled the reins taking flight.

"You really think we can make this work?" I asked Nick as we flew across a silver moon.

"If I can deliver presents to millions of kids in a single night," Nick smiled at me. "I will do anything it takes to get to know you, Theo. I'm glad we met."

"Me too," I said before gasping. "What about my car? I'm on my parent's insurance. They're going to murder me."

"Don't worry," Nick cheerfully said. "I've already got that covered."


***

When we got to Omaha, my car was parked a few blocks away from my parent's house. It was shiny and clean, totally different from the way I left it wrapped around that tree.

Nick walked me to the door. He was wearing a plaid flannel in his classic Christmas colors. He grabbed me by the hand and said, "are you sure about this?"

"I'm sure," I kissed Nick before pushing open the door. "Mom, Dad, there's someone I'd like you to meet…"

And we lived happily ever after.

Love
4

About the Creator

KW711

K.W. is a genre and gender fluid writer and poet. They enjoy writing romance, horror, and bizzarro stories with humor and heart. K.W. is passionate about the ongoing fight for queer and trans rights.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred2 years ago

    A nice story and welcome to VSS

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.