Fiction logo

Sanctuary

Not everything is what it seems.

By Mark GagnonPublished 6 months ago 3 min read
8

If I can just make it to that house, is the thought that plays on a continuous loop in my brain. The lights are on and smoke is drifting lazily from the chimney, so I have to believe someone is there who can help me. Every time I think I’m making progress; the house appears to maintain its distance. It’s frustrating, but I have no choice. To stop moving is to stop living.

I remember the snow storms of my youth when it was common to get twelve to eighteen inches dumped on the ground, but this is mind blowing. The storm has been raging for at least a week, with no sign of letting up. There is so much snow that mailboxes, fences, even cars have disappeared from view. Just the house in the distance remains unburied, defiantly ignoring the howling mayhem that surrounds it.

When I started this journey, there was no sign of trouble on the horizon. Just a simple trek from point to point that should only take two to three days. I could have driven it in a few hours, but I wanted to experience the natural beauty of my surroundings first hand. It didn’t take long for nature to show me her ugly side.

The wind started as a gentle, cooling breeze that invigorated rather than discouraged me. Several hours into my hike, dark clouds formed on the horizon. The gentle breeze that I was enjoying stiffened into a persistent current of air, slowing my forward progress. Visibility decreased dramatically as gale driven snow granules filled the sky, stinging every exposed piece of skin on my body. I searched for shelter from the melee, but there was none to be found. I trudged on, unable to determine if I was traveling in a straight line or a large circle.

It started in my fingers and toes first, an annoying tingling followed by a total lack of feeling. The numbness moved from my extremities into my hands and feet, then into my arms and legs. It wouldn’t be long before I would succumb to hypothermia and freeze to death. That’s when I saw the house. I didn’t understand why anyone would build a house in the middle of nowhere, nor did I much care. I simply had to reach it. Unfortunately, that goal was unattainable. I collapsed to the ground, hoping the snow would insulate my body from the cold and allow me to survive.

Voices and my body being carefully lowered onto a makeshift litter woke me. The men spoke in what I assumed to be Arabic, a language I don’t understand. Noticing I was awake, one man knelt beside me and asked in English, “How are you feeling?” For the first time since I awoke, I felt excruciating pain throughout most of my body.

I tried to move, but the man said, “Please lay still. You have serious sunburns over much of your body. You are fortunate that the sand storm partially buried you or the sun might have finished you.”

“I don’t understand? Wasn’t I just in the middle of a blizzard thinking I was about to freeze to death? I saw a house with a chimney on a hill. Do you know where it is?”

“I really don’t know of any house like that. The reason we found you was because you had fallen on the trail to the oasis. If you look in that direction, you can just make out a few palm trees on the horizon. The mind plays many tricks when it’s being fried by the sun. I believe your house and the snow storm are hallucinations.”

My rescuers brought me to a hospital where I recovered after several weeks. To this day, I can still see that house when I close my eyes. Of course, I now understand what had happened to me. Engulfed in the desert’s parched silence, I was nothing but another grain of sand in the wind.

Psychological
8

About the Creator

Mark Gagnon

I have spent most of my life traveling the US and abroad. Now it's time to create what I hope are interesting fictional stories.

I have 2 books on Amazon, Mitigating Circumstances and Short Stories for Open Minds.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)6 months ago

    Wow, this was a surprising entry to the challenge! I like the direction you went with it and the plot you chose for this story! Very different from your usual comedy but still just as good!

  • I'm usually caught off guard with your twists. But since this new challenge has provided an ending, I already saw this coming. I guess that's one disadvantage of this challenge. But just because I saw it coming, doesn't mean that it's not good. It was brilliant!

  • Lana V Lynx6 months ago

    A very creative answer to the challenge, Mark.

  • JBaz6 months ago

    Nice twist with reality mixed into it. Great story

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    great story

  • Heather Hubler6 months ago

    Ooo, I liked the twist! What an enjoyable read :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.