Fiction logo

Same movie different story

Movie night

By LucyPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
Like

'Same movie different story' I thought as I entered through the doors. Darkness waiting for me to seep into like it knew how the night was going to be. I looked up for the seat number on my phone, 'J8'. You got to be kidding me! Same movie, same seat number like it was going to be just the same as before.

It's just the movie's intro, I don't remember this scene at all. Five minutes into the movie and he's already laughing at something I don't find funny. It's awkward, the silence is trying to kill me. Finally the movie ended atleast now there will be some interaction i thought. On our way to the mall we talked-nothing, movie started-nothing, going back home-nothing.

'PUSS IN THE BOOTS' Flashed on the screen in big letters as my subconscious read those words it started giving me flashbacks at a speed of light. I feel water on my face, where the water came from? Not long did I realised it was memories of him rolling down my face wanting to break free and hug him. i turned to look at him. Something's different. It might because of my tears, I wipe away the reminiscence of our past and look again. Dramatic music in the background brings me back to the present. Right....I came with him. Four movies in a row but something's different.

As the movie progressed, I couldn't shake off the feeling that something had changed between us. The once familiar laughter and comfortable silence now felt distant, replaced by an unspoken tension. Was it because of the memories flooding back during the movie, or was it just the passage of time that had altered our dynamic?

Trying to break the awkward silence, I mustered the courage to ask, "Hey, is everything okay? You seem a little different tonight."

He hesitated for a moment before replying, "Yeah, I guess I've been feeling a bit off lately. It's just been a busy week, I suppose."

His response felt evasive, and I couldn't help but wonder if there was something more he wasn't telling me. As the credits rolled, we exited the theater, and the bustling mall surroundings enveloped us. Yet, the atmosphere between us remained heavy with unsaid words.

We walked side by side, lost in our thoughts, until finally, I decided to break the silence once more. "You know, I couldn't help but notice that you seemed distant tonight. Is there something on your mind that you want to talk about?"

He stopped in his tracks, a conflicted expression crossing his face. "Honestly, there is something bothering me," he admitted. "It's just that... I've been thinking a lot about us, and I'm not sure if we're still on the same page."

My heart sank as I processed his words. I had feared that this moment would come, but it still caught me off guard. The movie we had just watched, "Puss in Boots," was a reminder of our shared history—a time when we were inseparable, and laughter came effortlessly. Now, it seemed like the distance between us had grown too vast to bridge.

"I feel like we've been drifting apart," he continued. "And I don't want to lead you on if I'm not sure about our future together."

The lump in my throat made it hard to respond, but I appreciated his honesty. "I understand," I managed to say, my voice barely above a whisper. "I've been feeling it too. Maybe it's time we take a step back and figure out what we truly want."

He nodded, relief evident on his face that I didn't react with anger or resentment. "Thank you for understanding," he said softly.

As we walked in silence, I felt a mixture of sadness and relief wash over me. It was bittersweet, knowing that our paths were diverging, but also knowing that it was necessary for both of us to find our own way.

We reached our destination—the end of the evening that started with the same movie but ended with a conversation that would change our course. We hugged goodbye, both knowing that this might be the last time we embraced as a couple.

As I made my way back home, the memories of our past still lingered, but they were now accompanied by a sense of acceptance. Sometimes, life takes unexpected turns, and the movie of our lives had reached a crossroads. With a sigh, I looked forward to the new chapter, filled with uncertainties but also the possibility of finding our own happiness apart.

And so, the story of "Same Movie, Different Story" continued, where two people who once shared laughter and love discovered that sometimes, life's twists and turns lead us to discover our true selves and find the courage to embrace change

ScriptLoveFantasyfact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Lucy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.