Fiction logo

Salt and Ozone

A vignette of sea and storm

By Ian ReadPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - October 2023
27
Salt and Ozone
Photo by Philipp Kämmerer on Unsplash

Waves crash against the rocky shore and the sky darkens. I stand on the edge of the pier -a safe distance above the roiling surf. The riotous wind pulls back the hood of my raincoat, but I do not care. A sea mist dampens my brow as I look to the gray horizon. The crash of thunder is muffled by the howling wind.

My companion looks to me, battered by both wind and sea spray, "We should go back before it gets bad."

I smile, relishing the smell of salt and ozone. The storm is far enough away, far enough to enjoy its chaos in peace. My anxious heart matches pace with the distant thunder and a smile creeps onto my lips. The fin of a gray porpoise peeks from above the waves.

"Just a few more minutes," I reply, taking a moment to clean the rain off my glasses with my shirt, "then we'll get lunch."

***

For centuries, water has been seen as a liminal place, especially the boundary between sea and land. Everything shifts and nothing is constant.

This vignette is loosely inspired by a moment I had on a pier in Whitby, Yorkshire on a stormy day, rather a propos for a city that inspired the likes of Bram Stoker and that was so important to British maritime history. However, I love sea and I love storms and rarely do I get to enjoy both at the same time and in relative safety.

Above all, I like writing these vignettes as it helps not only with my writer's block but I like revisiting these quieting experiences that I remember fondly and creating little pieces with them.

If you like this vignette, check out my previous one which had been awarded top story in July 2023.

For my full catalogue of Vocal content, read this article:

Microfiction
27

About the Creator

Ian Read

I am an archaeologist and amateur story-teller. I publish a variety of content, but usually I write short and serial fantasy and sci-fi.

Find me on:

||Discord||Twitch||

From New Hampshire

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • ThatWriterWoman7 months ago

    I adore watching storms from afar - and the smell of ocean spray? Gorgeous! Thank you for writing this, Ian!

  • Mackenzie Davis7 months ago

    I know exactly how this feels and you capture it perfectly! I like this idea of vignettes...perhaps more of us should do this when a full blown story or poem is just not coming quick enough. Well done!

  • StoryholicFinds7 months ago

    Congrats and I love it! ❤️❤️❤️

  • I loveeeeeeeeee the sea! There's just something so magical about it! I loved this piece so much! Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Very descriptive! A beautiful vignette

  • Donna Renee7 months ago

    this is beautiful, Ian! I love that environment.

  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    Very nice. Coastal storms are incredible, especially from the shoreline.

  • Brin J.7 months ago

    I love the sea and storms, too. I live on the California coast, but storms aren't common here. However when they do happen, I sit myself by the window, or if I'm working with the animals, not a single complaint will come from me.😌 I feel like I'm in my element.

  • Amanda Starks7 months ago

    Crazy you talked about posting this and here it is as top story. <3 This piece made me feel very nostalgic. I love stormy days, and this reminded me of some of my own memories being up in Minnesota standing on the rocky shore of one of the Great Lakes. Well done, Ian!

  • Suze Kay7 months ago

    Gorgeous little slice of time, Ian. I love your commentary at the end, too - there's a reason so many people keep writing about the ocean, or water, and I love your description of water as "liminal." It's such a great way of summarizing that pull many of us feel.

  • JBaz7 months ago

    I did enjoy it. Keep writing them

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Brilliant!!! Loved this!!!💕❤️❤️ Congratulations on Top Story too!!!

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    Ooh, I was there with you.

  • Jazzy 7 months ago

    Loved this, gave me Senji from One Piece backstory vibes ☺️

  • Matthew Fromm7 months ago

    congrats on the Top Story my friend!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.