Fiction logo

Rush

Myah Rush, Part 4

By Dominique StedgePublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

Chapter Four

All The Drama

I wake up to my alarm clock beeping incessantly and smack the snooze button. Last night’s events begin to trickle back to me, but I brush them off as a dream. It’s homecoming day, and I’m late!

Running to the bathroom, I grab my clothes on the way sliding one leg in my jeans and hop to the door trying to wiggle the rest of the way into them. I run a brush through my hair and grab a shirt off the dresser as run out of my bedroom, down the stairs, and jump in the truck. Driving down Luther drive, the radio fades and makes room for the thoughts of sparks coming from my fingers and a connection to my brother like I’ve never felt before to enter my mind.

Parker and I have always been close, but never had the weird twin mojo that you see in the movies. Maybe that is only identical twins? The weirdest thing we did collectively was that we had our own language when we were kids. Mother did mention a time or two I got hurt and Parker cried, or visa versa, but that must have faded over time. Now? We are our own people with our own pain, and speak near perfect English...until last night.

When I touched him, we were both affected in the same ways at the same time. We both passed out and the electricity swirled around us as one. Why? What was that?

My truck door swings open as Alyvia’s chirp invades my thoughts. I don’t even remember pulling up at the school, too deep in thought. I tune in just in time to catch up on all of the drama i missed at breakfast this morning.

“Ashtyn and Kimber are fighting, so Kimber is talking about quitting cheer so she won't have to see Ashtyn, but Kimber is the better cheerleader and her full is UHMAZING, so we cant let her go. So how can we convince Ashtyn to be the one to quit? I can move her to the back of the formation. Should I move her to the back? That’ll work, right?”

My face must be blank, from the look Alyvia’s giving me. She knows that I didn’t hear a word of that nonsense, but as it processes I absently agree. Did she even take a breath?

“No wait!”, recanting my agreeance. “ Wouldn’t it be easier to just keep them both on the team and let them figure out their own personal problem? We can’t take sides in all of this, it’s not our business. They will work it out and we will get to stay out of it.”

Alyvia rolls her eyes “ I guess it would throw formation off if we lost someone. Always the practical one, Myah. You’re no fun sometimes.”

She saunters off to find someone else to gossip with that will indulge her more. Jeez, I love her, but she can be quite the handful.

Making my way into school, i text Taylor,

Me: “So, what’s going on with you and Jackson? Lol”

*Ding*

Taylor: “Stahp! Nothing’s goin on…”

Me: “You liar! You can’t fool me, with those googly eyes yall have going on! Spill!”

Taylor: “ Ok, Ok, so we may have had a conversation or two…”

Me: “Anddd…”

Taylor: “AND, he’s just SO CUTE, Myah.”

Me: “I KNEW IT! You like him!”

Taylor: “Shut up! Go to class!”

Me: “K Love-ya-later”

Taylor: “ love-ya-later”

Off to class I go, per Taylor’s demand.

Chemistry was boring, as usual, but there is electricity in the air as hums of homecoming talk swirled around the room. “What color is your dress?” “Who are you going with?” “We are going to stomp the Bulldogs!” “What are you doing after the dance?” It was a buzzing that never seemed to stop, so naturally my teacher gave up for the day and just let everyone talk.

The buzzing reminds me of how nice the silence was when the world went black last night. The vibrations coming from within my body as electricity pulsed through me. The power surging at my fingers.

*RIIIIINNNGGGG*

The bell shakes me once again from my thoughts and back to reality, just in time to notice Jackson staring at me from the front of the class. Weird. As I pack my things, I glance up to see him standing over me.

“Oh, hey?” I mumbled absently.

“Hey, uh, so, um…” Jackson, clearly lost for words, studders, “Uh do you know..if um...if Taylor’s going to the dance with anyone? Or like, if she would go with me?”

Aw! “No! I mean yes!” I nearly shouted at the poor guy, “She isn’t going with anyone, you should ask her.”

Calming my voice before I scare him off, I reassure him that it would be a good idea as we walk out of class.

Apologizing for startling him with my response, we laugh as we walk out of class and run straight into the devil herself. Smiling, I leave Jackson to fend for himself with Taylor and go to History with a slight wave to my bestie.

Nearly falling asleep in lecture, I feel my phone vibrate.

Taylor: “What did you dooo?!”

Me: “What-ever do you mean?”

Taylor: “Jackson asked me to the dance! What did you do?? I can’t go with him!”

Me: “What? Why not? If it’s Alyvia, you can’t let her excitement keep you from having your own exciting times. I say you go! Live a little.”

Taylor: “I just can’t, Myah. I’ll see you later.”

What is her deal? Shoot! Her moms! Taylor comes from a pretty complicated family, well not so complicated now that her dad has finally left them alone. Mrs. Carlisle went through a nasty divorce, and Taylor’s dad took everything they owned. Taylor and her mom moved here with her little sister to get away from him, because he wouldn’t stop harassing them. I don’t know much more, except they moved here and don’t talk to him anymore. Mrs. Carlisle met Mrs. Lisa and they seem really happy, so I guess it all worked out for them. Through all of the divorce drama, Taylor’s dad said some things that scared her mom so she became super strict with where Taylor went and who she was around. I forgot “no dating” was one of the stipulations. How dumb of me! Poor Taylor and Jackson. I know they like each other, but I need to take my own advice and stay out of other people’s business.

The rest of the day went off without a hitch. Chaotic goodness was everywhere I looked. Blue and silver shirts, banners, flyers, and pompoms filled the school and everyone’s energies matched in a display of hype proportions. Leo is standing at the door of my last period class when I go to leave. He is wearing his football jersey and looks all proud of himself. “Mah lady” he says, offering me his hand as I walk by. I lace my fingers into his and we walk to the lockers together. His hands are warm and rough with callous from the constant catch and throwing at football practice. When he isn’t at football, Leo works on four wheeler and dirt bike engines. It gives him some extra money and he truly enjoys the intricacies of small engine mechanics.

“So, how was your day babe?”

“The whole day is kind of a blur, at this point. I’m just ready for tonight to be over with! Do I really have to wear a dress?”

“You could wear a trash bag and you’d still be the prettiest one out there, Myah.”

“Yeah, but it shows my legs, and it shows my arms. I hate my back, and I can’t find my shapers so my stomach may be all bloated. Pizza is life, I couldn’t say no.”

“I hear you, and I know you aren’t comfortable with your body. Just know that every piece of you is beautiful, and your appetite is one of my favorite things about you. Please don’t take pizza from us!” He chuckles, slinging his arm over my shoulders. I snuggle my face into Leo’s chest and sigh, “You’re the bestest.”

He truly knows how to put my insecurities to rest. Accepting that i don’t like certain things, but not telling me I’m wrong for seeing myself that way is so important to me. He may not see what I see, but he never makes me feel bad for it.

Leo and I walk out to the parking lot discussing the plans for tonight. With a hug and kiss we part ways until the homecoming festivities begin.

Series
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.