Fiction logo

Running in Winter

Snowy Micro

By KJ AartilaPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
13
Running in Winter
Photo by Lachlan Gowen on Unsplash

I watched with excitement as the heavy flakes fell from the sky, swirling outside the window. I knew the next day would be glorious. I went to bed that evening with my heart full, and my nerves buzzing with plans for tomorrow.

I awoke to the sun shining and a fresh blanket of sparkling powder covering the ground. I dressed quickly in my jeans, thick socks and my heaviest sweater to hurry outside, while adjusting my winter coat. The gelding waited for me at the gate, while I grabbed the halter to secure my willing mount before easily hopping on.

I rode bareback through the deep snow, the only sound being hooves sinking into the depths. Steamy breath exited our mouths in sync with each other’s heartbeat, quickening with anticipation of a gallop through the pristine landscape. At last, we reached the clearing, where we stopped for a moment to gather ourselves in preparation.

Hard muscles tensed in his back, getting ready for the start. I adjusted my seat on the thick, winter coat covering the horse beneath me. I grabbed a hunk of the dark mane before me. Once secure, I nudged the beast under me into action softly with my heels.

He sprung forward, kicking up sprays of belly-deep whiteness. My cheeks turned rosy with the cold air, and my eyes sparkled with the tears induced by the wind. I giggled with childish abandon, delighting in the fresh wildness of the new fallen snow.

Microfiction
13

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments

KJ Aartila is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.