Fiction logo

Royal Ends

A RubyRed Original Short Story

By Ruby RedPublished 6 months ago 2 min read
1
Royal Ends
Photo by Lians Jadan on Unsplash

I watched the sweat dribble from my father's pale forehead. His whole body trembled with the fear of leaving us, but our presence assured him that it was time.

Despite the circumstances and the clear rules against it, my mother sniffed. Her mascara was somehow gripping to her eyelashes in bold, obvious clumps, and refusing to join the remaining wreck of her makeup.

There was nothing we could do but wish him the best for the afterlife. His heartbeat ticked like a timebomb, awaiting the ultimate end. But his stance on the podium was defiant, so he spoke in a hoarse whisper, "My girls," he glanced at my Mother, "Bianca..." the barest acknowledgement from her watery lashes. "Annabelle..."

I stopped myself from correcting him in my forever dominant sarcasm and calmed the angry bubbles in my blood. I needed to listen, let him have his final moments, even if it meant sacrificing my prefered nickname for a few minutes.

I studied his fading features. His gentle emerald eyes remained outstanding against his worn, wrinkled skin. His hair, still wild and curly, was speckled with grey, like it always had been. And although he had never thought much of it other than some heavy metal hat, the glimmering golden crown rested atop his head, a perfect mix of dazzling precious gemstones catching the stretching sunlight.

"Listen to me...carefully," he breathed, our matching eyes shining into each other. I dared a glance to my mother, who's dark, chocolatey eyes swum with tears, but were fixed on his nonetheless.

"Bianca...you know what to do..." A miniscule nod from my right. He shifted to me.

"Annabelle...Find my portrait...Behind it is...a passage...follow it."

My heart skipped a beat. A secret passage that I didn't know about? Living in this vast castle since I could crawl was something I took pride in, and I had always thought that every nook, cranny, and hiding place had been mapped and memorised. I never even thought about checking the portrait room.

"We love you, Edward." A signal from my mother to let him rest. I scrambled to control the inward tsunami of emotion moving for my eyes while walking normally out of the room. My mother made haste for the curtains, wanting to snuff out any potential spies, but a glare from my direction stopped her in her tracks. If he wanted to pass in darkness, it would have happened by now. But I knew my father was one to take his time.

-

(to be continued??)

FantasyShort StoryLovefamily
1

About the Creator

Ruby Red

Hello friends!

I am a quirky teenager, lover of books, music and theatre. I am happy.

An ally 🏳️‍🌈

Believe only half of what you see and nothing that you hear - Edgar Allen Poe

Consider this a doorway to my mind and soul.

I hope you enjoy ❤️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.