Fiction logo

Robbing the Underworld

Sydney must steal from the gods themselves to fulfill a promise (dedicated to my grandma)

By Morgan Rhianna BlandPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Robbing the Underworld
Photo by Mads Schmidt Rasmussen on Unsplash

One, two…

Two men so similar in appearance, yet so different in every other way. One wasted away like one who died young, a life stolen by alcohol and apathy. The other, a shining example of morality. How I wished to change places with him, to rob him of the life I wanted! In an ironic twist, I got my wish.

Ten, eleven, twelve…

Twelve years ago I made my promise to Lucie. “... there is a man alive who would give his life to keep a life you love beside you,” my exact words. For her, I would beg, borrow, steal - and I did. When I smuggled Darnay out of prison, I stole from the gods themselves.

Eighteen, nineteen, twenty…

Twenty bodies pile up like a sickening pirate’s horde. So many lives taken in their prime, and for what? Liberty? Equality? Fraternity? No! Death, so much death. So many stolen souls. Surely they can spare one. They won’t even know he’s gone until it’s too late!

Twenty-two, twenty-three…

Twenty-three times the blade falls, and with its final blow, I fulfill my promise. I’ve succeeded in robbing the Underworld.

HistoricalMicrofictionFan Fiction

About the Creator

Morgan Rhianna Bland

I'm an aroace brain AVM survivor from Tennessee. My illness left me unable to live a normal life with a normal job, so I write stories to earn money.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Morgan Rhianna Bland is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Morgan Rhianna BlandWritten by Morgan Rhianna Bland

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.