Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Ride On, Influencer

What’s the meaning of selfishness?

By Skyler SaundersPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Ride On, Influencer
Photo by Hannah Skelly on Unsplash

He turned the monitor. The room wasn’t spacious but it was clean and featured immaculate furniture and fixtures.

“This is where I started. The First State…Delaware. Where are you from Bonner?”

“I’m from Delaware, Master Sergeant.” The master sergeant had a bald black head.

“No shit?!”

“Yes, Master Sergeant.”

By Levi Meir Clancy on Unsplash

“I’ve already gone through twenty six states. I just hop on that crotch rocket and blast through asphalt.”

The two privates in their Service Alpha Marine Corps uniforms stood at parade rest. A trickle of sweat ran down Private Genter’s neck.

Master Sergeant Kendrick Kennings turned the monitor around.

“Alright, Devils. I’m formally welcoming you aboard Marine Corps Air Station, Yuma Arizona. You’ll get your gear and park it at your new mansions. The barracks aren’t that bad. Hell, you as privates have it easy. You’ve got food, clothing, and shelter. You’ve got work. But Marine Corps life is of course more than that. It’s about maintaining that balance of allowances and acknowledging your placement as Jarheads.”

Bonner and Genter glanced at each other, bewildered.

By Avery Cocozziello on Unsplash

“It’s okay. I remember my duty station. Only I was a lance at the time because I was a hot shit Marine. Still am. That’s why I’m a thirty two year old master sergeant.”

The privates laughed.

“That’s right. You’re looking at a black Marine in the white man’s Corps who put in the work and was elevated. Some call me a careerist. I don’t give a damn. I know what I’m doing. And you two will, also. Any questions so far?”

The privates shook their heads.

“Good to go. We’re at war with major nations. You know already we’re in World War III. Russia, China, Saudi Arabia, and Iran have fused into a clustefuck of something lower than the axis powers. Heads far above even myself are scratching. Generals are wondering what we can do to continue with this campaign to preserve the country that we love. You do love America, don’t you?”

“Yes, Master Sergeant,” the privates chimed in unison.

“Good. I don’t need no Islamocommie sons of bitches in my beloved Corps. Now, did you have chow?”

“Yes, Master Sergeant,” the privates nearly sang this time.

By Joel Rivera-Camacho on Unsplash

“Great. I didn’t want you to take all of this on an empty stomach. You will be going to Admin after seeing me. They’ll be shuffling digital files regarding your time here. It’s going to be a lot of hurry up and wait. You’re familiar by now. If you thought that MOS school was going to prepare you for the Fleet, I hope you didn’t do a data dump. You’re going to need to bring your brain housing groups to the problems you will see in the future. I know this is a lot, Devils, but we know that this sucks…then it doesn’t. We know that even now as you embark on your lives in the United States Marine Corps. I want to ensure that you both keep your grapes on a swivel and look the part. Know your own selves but be selfless in all your dealings. That’s what we have to do. We have to be unselfish and be able to fight off the selfish bastards who are destroying this country. You remember Boot. Keep that mindset in this realm as well. It was designed to train you not just physically of course but also for your minds. I’m sure MCT was no walk in the park but that was designed to simulate a combat zone. Take those experiences and build upon them. Men and WMs can be bound into thinking for others. That’s the beauty of it. To deny ourselves for others is what makes us Marines.”

Bonner spoke up. Genter shook his head.

“What’s that, private?”

“What will we do on our first day on the job, Sergeant Major?”

“I talk about being completely selfless and you want to know about your job title? You need to turn your ears on, Marine. We’re at war. If you go into battle and you’re selfish, you won’t be able to save your buddy. When rounds are going down range, what are you going to do then?”

“I understand what you’re asking Master Sergeant, but aren’t you being selfish if you protect your values, your buddy as you say?”

“Let me get this straight, whatever selfishness that should have been smothered out of you in training must still be present. Very well. We’ll fix you.”

About the Creator

Skyler Saunders

I’ve been writing since I was five-years-old. I didn’t have a wide audience until I was nine. If you enjoy my work feel free to like but also never hesitate to share. Thank you for your patronage. Take care.

S.S.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    Very interesting 💓🩶🤎🎊

Skyler SaundersWritten by Skyler Saunders

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.