Fiction logo

Revelation

Uncovering the Truth: A Journey of Memory and Betrayal

By steven harrisonPublished about a year ago 3 min read

steven



I open my eyes and see nothing but white. White walls, white ceiling, white bed. Where am I? Who am I? I try to move but I feel a sharp pain in my head. I touch my forehead and feel a bandage wrapped around it.

“Hello?” I call out. “Is anyone there?”

A door opens and a woman walks in. She is wearing a white coat and a white mask. She smiles at me and says, “Hello, Daniel. How are you feeling?”

Daniel. Is that my name? It sounds familiar but I can’t remember anything about myself.

“Who are you?” I ask.

“I’m Dr. Lee,” she says. “I’m your doctor.”

“My doctor? What happened to me?”

“You were in an accident,” she says. “You suffered a severe head injury and lost your memory.”

“An accident? What kind of accident?”

She hesitates for a moment and then says, “A car accident. You were driving on the highway when another car hit you from behind.”

“A car accident?” I repeat. That doesn’t sound right. Why do I have a feeling that she is lying to me?

She nods and says, “Yes, a car accident. You’re lucky to be alive.”

She walks over to a table and picks up a clipboard. She flips through some pages and says, “According to your records, you’re 28 years old, single, and work as an accountant for Smith & Jones.”

An accountant? That sounds boring. Is that really what I do?

She continues reading from the clipboard and says, “You have no family or friends listed as your emergency contacts.”

No family or friends? That sounds lonely.

She looks at me with pity in her eyes and says, “I’m sorry, Daniel. You must feel very confused right now.”

I nod slowly and say, “Yes, very confused.”

She puts down the clipboard and says, “Don’t worry, Daniel. We’re here to help you recover your memory.” She points to a device on the wall behind her. It looks like a helmet with wires attached to it.

“What’s that?” I ask

“That’s the Memory Recovery System,” she says. “It’s a revolutionary technology that can stimulate your brain cells and restore your lost memories.”

“Really?” I say skeptically.

“Yes,” she says confidently. “We’ve used it on many patients with great success.” She walks over to the device and picks up the helmet.

“Do you want to try it?” she asks.

I look at her suspiciously and say,

“Is it safe?”

She nods and says, “Of course. It’s completely painless and harmless. All you have to do is wear the helmet and relax. The device will scan your brain and activate your memory centers. You’ll see images and hear sounds from your past. It’s like watching a movie of your life.”

She smiles and says, “Trust me, Daniel. It will help you remember who you are.”

She holds out the helmet to me and says, “Are you ready?”

I hesitate for a moment and then say, “Okay. I’ll try it.”

She smiles again and says, “Good. Let’s get started.” She walks over to the bed and puts the helmet on my head. She adjusts some knobs on the device and says, “All set.”

She presses a button and says, “Here we go.”

I close my eyes and wait for something to happen.

At first, I see nothing but darkness.

Then, I see a flash of light.

Then, I see a face.

A face that I recognize.

A face that I love.

A face that I hate.

A face that haunts me in my dreams.

A face that belongs to her.

Her name is Anna.

And she is the reason why I’m here.

She is the reason why I’m here.

In this white room.

In this white lie.

She is the reason why I can’t remember anything.

Because she took everything from me.

She took my life.

She took my love.

She took my memory.

And she left me with nothing but pain.

Pain that I can’t escape

Pain that I can’t forget.

Pain that I can’t forgive.

She is the reason why I’m here.

And she is the reason why I want to get out.

Short Story

About the Creator

steven harrison

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    steven harrisonWritten by steven harrison

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.