Fiction logo

Red Eyes

This is from a recent NYC Midnight Micro-fiction prompt: Genre: Horror, Action: Hitting a Snooze Button, Word: Past

By Cathy SchieffelinPublished about a month ago 1 min read
3
Red Eyes
Photo by Ozgu Ozden on Unsplash

Midnight:

Beady red eyes are back…by the barn. I saw them two nights ago. Red eyeshine means predator. These eyes are too low for a wolf or dog. It slinks, gliding across rutted ground, as if on ice.

All the windows and exit points are secure. Sally’s asleep, finally. I need to keep her close. I creep back to bed, wrapping my arms around her frail form. Damn glioblastoma. She’ll never be the same. I miss our early days.

Carefree and frivolous… no longer.

Three AM:

A dull thud startles me from sleep. Earthy musk fills the room. Peering out the window, eyes still there – closer. When I blink, more appear… gazing up. No whispers on the air – gray and flat. Deathly silent. What do they want? Their forms hidden in shadow reveal eyes only, probing, curious.

Curled in sky blue sheets, Sally snores, blissfully unaware.

Head and limbs heavy, I stumble back to bed.

Sleep, glorious sleep.

Half Past Five AM:

Bzzz Bzzz Bzzz

Thwack!

I hit the snooze button. Groggy, I reach for her. Fingers sticky, bits of fluff. No Sally.

Squinting, scarlet and baby’s breath blue swirl together reminding me of Sally’s favorite gelato, Fairy Floss.

Coppery tang, sodden sheets… my eyes fly open.

Sally?

No, please no.

Dragging myself to the window… carnage and viscera - everywhere.

Crimson pools where fox kits once romped.

Sally… in her bloodied nightdress… stares up… soulless eyes…

Cackles with glee…

Blood dripping down her chin… like ice cream.

thrillerMicrofictionHorror
3

About the Creator

Cathy Schieffelin

Writing is breath for me. Travel and curiosity contribute to my daily writing life. I've had pieces published in Adanna Lit Jour. and Halfway Down the Stairs. My first novel, The Call, comes out in 2024. I live in New Orleans.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writerabout a month ago

    Awesome scary tale

  • ROCK about a month ago

    I am not one for horror, however this was brilliant and I was nervous while reading it. Poor little Sally. As a single mother years ago in the northern woods of Sweden, my mind could keep me up most of the night with wild imaginings when I looked out into the black night and my daughter slept. I am sharing this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.