Fiction logo

rabbit

rabbit

By Jana SixkillerPublished about a year ago 10 min read
Like

I do not remember some time, but it must have been shortly after we had moved from the north end of an old stone street to the south end, that I had three rabbits.

Speaking of rabbits, I've loved them since I was a child. When I was in my hometown, many families in my village kept a litter of rabbits. They dug a round hole in the ground like a well, not very deep, and at the bottom of the hole there was a small hole to the side, and the rabbit lived in it. For some reason, we never remember such a hole in our home. Every time I went to play with the adults to other rabbit homes, the adults were pulling and pulling and chattering happily, I always eased my steps to the mouth of the cave and peeked in -- the rabbit was wandering outside the hole. Some have black and white flowers, some are pure black. I prefer pure white because the eyes are bright red and the long bright ears sway from side to side. His mouth, too, seemed to quiver, chewing on the roots of vegetables. Suddenly saw the figures, all quickly ran into the small hole, like a trail of white black smoke. If he bent down again, he could see only pairs of shining, jewel-like eyes in the thin darkness of the hole.

One spring before I came out of my childhood, I remember it was just after the New Year, because of a chance, I left my hometown and went to a city famous for its lakes and mountains. Through the gap of row upon row of tall buildings I could see only a line of blue sky. Where is the day covered like a pot in the hometown? I could not see the misty trees in the distance, I could not see the watery clouds moving on the horizon, I could not smell the earth. It was as if I lived in the Land of Grey. All day long I hear nothing but the noise of horses and carts. In the middle of the night, the hawker's cry drifted up from a distant lane. I am a son of the earth, and I long to return to the bosom of the earth. At that time, the small heart will feel empty sadness. However, the most unforgettable, occupy my whole heart, to mouth is the hometown of the rabbit with jewel-like eyes.

I don't remember how many years later, but it was in the autumn when my uncle came home from Wangkou Mountain, and the servant picked up a load of things. On the top is the famous fat peach wrapped in Pu, and on the bottom is a wooden cage. I was just wondering what the contents of the cage might be, when the servant raised it before my eyes -- the quivering mouth, the long, bright ears, the red, jewel-like eyes... Isn't that the rabbit of my dreams? Remember when he came to Wangkou Mountain, I told him to bring some rabbits back. It was just a random thing to say, and now it's here. It seemed to draw me back to my hometown. How am I ecstatic? There were three in the cage: a large, black, like her mother; Two small, white. I immediately gave up the delicious fat peach, running here and there, busy looking for cabbage, bean sprouts, feed them. I arranged a shelter for them, and at last they settled down under my bed.

When I was a child in my hometown, I admired other people's rabbits by crouching over their holes. Now there are three rabbits under my bed. For that, it's no more plausible than a fairy tale. At first, when it was released from the cage, cats rushed up immediately. The rabbit seemed very timid, crouched down on the ground and did not dare to move. The ears were pressed against the head, and only the mouth quivered more. After chasing the cat away, he slowly tried to run. I soon ran under the bed again. The first night after the rabbit, I lay in bed, tossing and turning, listening to the rabbit munching bean sprouts under the bed. It was as if I were floating in a cloud and had forgotten what dreams I had had.

And so, out of thin air, three little lives were added under my bed. Whenever I sat at a table near the window reading, the rabbit would stealthily come out from under the bed and make no noise. I watched them breathlessly from the pages. First a large probe, then retracted; He put his head up again and came out, like a stream of black smoke. Next came two little ones, both as white as a ball of snow, with eyes as red as one -- I hardly know what. Like agate, mognin shines brighter than agate. He looked about him with his little red eyes, went under the fluttering blades of grass that hung down from the pot, quivered with his mouth, and paused for a moment to go to the book. His mouth quivered a few times, then he stopped and went to the stool. His mouth quivered a few times and paused. Suddenly I felt something soft and velvety lean on my foot. I knew it was the rabbit at my feet. I tried not to move, but somehow my leg suddenly twitched. When I looked again, there was one streak of black smoke and two streaks of white smoke, and the rabbits were hiding under the bed. Bending down to look, in the dark corner under the bed, one could see only pairs of eyes shining like jewels.

It's autumn, as I said before. There is a crabapple tree outside the window of the house I live in. It has often been said that rabbits are weak. Cats are a big threat to him. Before rabbits came to live under my bed, there were cats in the house. When the door is closed, the crabapple tree is the cat's way to my house. Since the rabbit came, I often wake up suddenly in the long, cold autumn nights. The wind outside the window blowing leaves, rustling loudly, I suspect the cat from the crabapple tree climbed the window. The continuous night rain pattered against the fallen leaves, and I suspected that the cat had climbed up the window. I waited quietly. No cat came in. When I looked down, the rabbit was running back and forth on the ground. In the dim light, more like a walk of black smoke and white smoke, eyes are more red bright like a gem. Just as I was about to fall asleep, I vaguely heard a sound. I looked at a hole in the window, and there were two lamp-like eyes looking in.

The next morning, the first thing to do, is to bow down to see if the rabbit is lost. It was a comfort to see two little rabbits snuggling close to their big ones. After a while, when he came back to the house to read, he could see them running to and fro under his feet. There was no sound, and the room seemed to be full of life and joy. The air around him was soft and thick and sweet. Rabbit is also gradually not timid, see me is not very hide. The first time a little rabbit is very tame let me pet, I was almost tears of joy.

About half of autumn, if my memory is anything to go by, passed in such poetic circumstances. I can vaguely remember that when the rabbits were in the cage, the yard was full of flowers. When I close my eyes, I can still see the pale green layer that was floating in the yard. Rabbits often ran out of the house to play in the pot seam, and the golden lotus in the goldfish bowl seemed to protruding two white flowers from the water. There is only a faint shadow, and I am afraid the memory cannot be relied upon. With this green air, this goldfish bowl, I can see near the crabapple tree painted with red and green oil window, embedded in a large glass, with traces of rain and earth. There were still a few spider threads stuck to the paper. Inside the window was my desk, and further inside was my bed, under which the rabbit lived... It all seemed to float before my eyes. But like smoke, like fog, the eyes are about to dissolve into the veil of emptiness.

I said it would be about half the autumn, when the flowers and plants in the yard began to diminish, and at once it looked very empty. The fallen leaves are in abundance, the goldfish bowl has no water, the sky is bluer and longer; The pale autumn was turning into a gloomy winter. On such a blue morning, as usual, I bent down to see if the rabbit was lost. Strange, the bed was empty, as if something were missing. Look carefully again, only to see two rabbits desolate sleeping against each other. Where was their mother? I immediately panicked, sweating all over my body. In the past few days, Big Rabbit had grown more daring, and used to sneak out into the courtyard. I'm afraid I snuck out again this time. But everywhere, inside and outside, there were no shadows, and when I looked back I saw two little rabbits nestled at my feet, and a strange desolation came over me. I cried. I had left my mother early, and I thought of her often. I felt desolate and lonely. It seemed that the two little rabbits were as sad and lonely as I was. I had nowhere to talk to, except in my dreams. Where and how did Little Rabbit talk to me? -- I cried again.

At first I had hope. I hoped Big Nutbrown Hare would come running back and give me a sudden big joy. But day by day, my hope was finally lost. But I love these two rabbits even more. I used to love them because of their bright red eyes and soft fur like snowflake. After this love, but mixed with sympathy. Sometimes I want to make up for the loss of their mother with my caresses, but how is that possible? As they began to thin away, they did not run so lightly around the house as before, and often crept to my feet. I took them in my arms and stooped meekly. When I saw them walk away, their little hearts were filled with nameless sorrow!

It didn't last long. Two or three days later, I suddenly found that there was only one rabbit running in the house, where the companion went, I panicked, there are everywhere: wall corner, under the table, and everywhere in the courtyard to find, calling in a low voice, leaves in the foot creak. Finally, no shadows. When I saw this little creature walking alone, and listened to the autumn wind on the eaves, my tears came down again. -- Is it looking for its mother? Looking for his brother? Why not even a sigh? The jewel-like eyes seemed to have crystal tears in them. At night, in the dim light, I do not see it sleeping under the bed; It's just running around the house. This hard land, this long autumn night, no mother, no brother nestled. How could he sleep when the cold, dreary dreams haunted him?

The next morning the sky was bluer, strangely bluer. The house is illuminated, the rabbit ran in front of my eyes, white fluff, as if there is a little red, a flash, I look again, just beside the transparent red ears, found a little blood - only a little, lined with white hair, more appears red, like the spot on the blood stone, like a little sunset in the west. I'm getting a little anxious. I've heard that rabbits die when they see blood, no matter how many drops. Is this lonely little thing left without a mother or a brother going to die too? I don't believe it, this is more than the myth of the dim, but in front of the eyes is that little red blood, how to deny it? I picked him up, as if I knew that something bad was about to happen to him, and he lay down in my arms and did not move, nor did he run away. At the end of the day, in the twilight, when I looked under the bed again, there was nothing to see but some cabbages and bean sprouts. I looked everywhere, but I couldn't find anything. I knew something was going to happen. And, I thought, that's just as well. Otherwise, a lonely living in the world, can not get a little warm, in the desolate and lonely attack, this long life how thin? I don't cry, but tears flow into the belly, sad heavy pressure in my heart, I think of my mother in the hometown.

And so, for half the autumn, not one of the three rabbits that had been running in and out of my bed had been seen. When I read again at the table by the window, I could see nothing from the pages. Through the glass Windows with traces of wind and rain looked out: crabapple trees have fallen early leaves, leaving only bare branches, supporting the eyes of the autumn sky. At night, when I heard rustling outside, I suspected a cat. I awoke from a blur, although sometimes I saw round eyes like lamps in the window. But when I looked under the bed, there were no rabbits walking to and fro. A flower of the eye, will see all over the messy shadow, a line of black smoke, two lines of white smoke. Look more closely. What's there? Nothing, only a dim lamp shining through the cold and silent autumn night, outside crackling, it is rain, cold, lonely, mixed with a little empty sadness, pressed my heart. What dream can I dream when everything is empty?

Humor
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.