Fiction logo

Puzzle Box

100% Organic Cardboard

By Jordan BermanPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

Ten days ago, the first one arrived. I sliced it open with dad's letter opener. I didn't tell him what had happened, what came out. He would never believe me. I hid the box under my bed, convinced myself I was crazy, and went back to my wonderful life.

Nine days ago some old man in sunglasses came by asking. I told him my dad was out and to come back tomorrow. I don't think he suspected. The postie came by later and I greeted him. I asked about the box but he said he didn't deliver anything day before except bills. I think he thinks I'm crazy, but that's okay. Everyone says that.

It's the 1980s. The post office wasn't quite so neurotic back then. No good way to keep track of who sent what and how and where and honestly the government shouldn't be trusted with anything. Dad told the sunglasses man all that eight days ago when he came back. I listened from the staircase. That's the last time I saw sunglasses people. Still didn't wanna look in the box again. And with those guys snooping around, it was a bad time to ditch the box. So I waited.

Seven days ago Number Two arrived. Identical to the last one. I took it inside as soon as I heard a thump on the doorstep. I looked up and around and I saw this strange metal helicopter bird? It was weird, but there's a lot about the world that nobody wants to explain to me. Anyway, I didn't even open this package. If it wasn't summer we'd have a fire going and I coulda burned the stupid thing. Under the bed it went.

Six days ago Sheriff stopped by right after the postie. I told him to come back tomorrow for dad. No dice, though, he wanted to talk to me. He said if I just hand it over dad won't get in trouble and never has to know this happened. 'It,' not 'they.' The Man don't know a second's arrived, and still suspect pops. They're absolutely clueless. So am I but slightly less. Mrs. Meyerson never told us what to do in this situation.

Five days ago Sally stopped by. She reminded me we were gonna go to the woods, maybe try to climb Ol' Brittleskitter. (It's a big tree with cool bugs.) I said if she can keep a secret we can do something way cooler. She dragged her bike indoors and we headed to my room.

She said I could have the best show and tell ever when school starts up again. But I reminded her that third graders don't do show and tell no more.

Four days ago, Sally's back. Wait, hold up. First Sheriff dropped by during breakfast. Dad said stay in my room while they talk. I've never heard dad use so many bad words. They argued until dad complained about being late for work. Dad rushed out the door without coming up to let me out of my room. Maybe he knows I'm listening.

Anyway, after lunch (I've been making myself sandwiches these days, dad keeps the kitchen stocked up good) Sally's back and brought Charlie, her older brother. Charlie's cool except when he pretends to offer us snacks but eats them himself. He always laughs but it's not funny. I told them it's not the postie that brings them, it's a flying robot. They laughed at me.

Number three arrived. Same cardboard box dropped by the same flybot. We just watched from the living room. Sally and Charlie weren't laughing anymore. I told Charlie to catch it before it got away, but he was too busy staring and being useless. What's the point in having long arms and a skateboard if you're not using them? It's probably good that he didn't though.

As soon as the box hit the ground a bunch of cops pretending to be normal people in the car across the street ran over to our house and snatched the package off my doorstep. We didn't wanna fight a bunch of adults. They drove off and I never saw them again.

Three days ago the whole family next door stopped dad as he was about to drive off in the morning. I was eating breakfast but I could see them through the living room. I think maybe they knew something. Poor dad, he still didn't know anything. I'm worried if I tell him, he'll say the wrong thing to the wrong person. He's not very careful sometimes. I don't think saying that is mean, after all, he said that about himself first.

Sally and Charlie were stuck in church all day. Maybe it's some sort of holiday? Dad and I aren't religious anymore. The neighbors' daughter knocked. She's a whole year younger than me and kind of gross so I told her my dad didn't want anyone coming in. Her name is Taylor. I wished she'd just leave me alone. After a few minutes, she did.

I miss playing outdoors. But I didn't want to leave the doors unlocked and I don't want to lock myself out, so...Mrs. Meyerson would call this situation a pickle. Dad doesn't mind me staying in all the time. I know all the other parents would care. He jokes that 'us Andersens never could get a good tan' and lets me watch all the TV I want, but it's not like there's anything good on until the weekend anyway. Just a bunch of old people complaining about other old people on both the news and the shows. The only difference between the news and the shows is how fake it they are. (The news is way faker. That's what my dad says.)

So I spent the rest of the day playing with what's in my two boxes. I hid them before dad got home.

Two days ago Sally was back. She's super worried. She said Charlie snuck out of church yesterday and nobody's seen him since. I told her the truth, that I haven't seen him, but she didn't believe me. I bet he was just playing around with those funny cigarettes again in the woods, but Sally said he always came home afterward. Very suspicious, but it's all okay. This way we didn't have to include him in our games. He always made fun of our games. Sally just wanted to go climb Ol' Brittleskitter, but I reminded her how cool the deliveries were. She said okay, we'll play with the boxes in the morning, then go out in the afternoon. We never did make it to Brittleskitter. Sally left when her mom came by to pick her up.

Yesterday was quiet. I almost didn't notice when the package dropped. Nobody was around, and no one showed up, so I got to take this one too. I really only needed the first one, but I figured the other two are worth something. Or will be. I'd been charging them in the wall socket for my lamp. They seemed to work just fine no matter how long you leave them on. That was super exciting.

Dad would be so proud if I could sell them, we could go on vacation even. And I could pick where we go! I'd never sold anything before. I figured the museum had a reverse gift shop for stuff they want from us. That's where I would start.

But then today happened. I lost all three packages, the charging cords, everything. And I'm never getting them back. I can't remember what happened. I can't remember anything from breakfast to dinnertime. I was eating dinner with dad which meant he was home early. And he kept looking out the window for someone. I think I got in trouble. I ate super quick and asked to be excused to check for my boxes, but they were gone.

---------

Of course, it was only in 2012 I realized they were smartphones. I don't know how they were slipping into, I guess the past? But I must have played angry birds for like fifty hours that week. I beat 1, 2, AND angry birds star wars. Good times. I think the moral is go outdoors and don't be suspicious?

Lunch sounds good, I'm going to go get that.

MysteryShort Storyfamily
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.