Fiction logo

Purple Roses: Chapter One

Gemma is determined to stay single, but who keeps leaving purple roses on her office desk?

By Carol TownendPublished about a year ago 10 min read
1
Purple Roses: Chapter One
Photo by SarahWen Williams on Unsplash

I awake at 7:30 A.M. to the loud painful shrill of an alarm clock ringing in my ear.

"Ouch!" I complain to myself out loud.

I groan and roll over in an attempt to switch the alarm off, knocking everything on my table onto the floor in the process; then I complain some more before getting out of bed.

Mornings are not my favorite part of the day. I hate early mornings, and I hate the fact that I have to go to work. I shake my head and pull several funny faces in the bathroom mirror while I brush my teeth, not really liking the dull, sleepy reflection that is staring back at me. I then head downstairs to join Catherine, my flatmate, for my morning coffee.

"Morning sleepy-head," Catherine exclaims as I walk into the kitchen, yawning.

"Morning," I reply with a fake smile as I attempt to fill the kettle; wondering whether I actually managed to get any water in it because my eyes are so blurry that I can't see whether the water is actually pouring into the kettle, or down the drain.

Catherine laughs at me, then says,

"Are you trying to pour water into that thing? or are you trying to pour it down the drain?"

"I'm just tired!" I respond.

Catherine takes the kettle from me and fills it herself. She knows that I don't have a chance of getting any water in the kettle at all when I'm this tired. I thank her, then I take a seat at the table.

"Rumour has it that there is a new guy starting at your office today. I have heard that he is a real smarty-pants too!" Catherine tells me.

I nearly choke on my coffee.

I mean; why is she telling me this? She knows I have no interest in men right now. I have far too much going on at work, and far too much interest in enjoying my social life!

"Uh-huh!" was the only reply that I could get to leave my lips.

"I'm just saying, Gemma. I understand you don't want to date; don't worry, I'm not trying to force you." Catherine explains.

Catherine is the smartest and prettiest out of both of us. She is petite, with shoulder-length brown hair, smoldering dark brown eyes, and a smile that lights up the entire room as soon as she walks into it.

She is capable of catching any man that she wants.

I know that I am pretty too. I'm 5ft4 inches, with long dark-blonde hair, and deep blue eyes, and I have curves to die for. I'm of average build, but I love my build because it means that my jeans really enhance my figure,

But...I'm in no way available for the dating market.

I have too much that I want to do with my life for that!

I am the head of reception in my office, and also the leader of my writer's team and we are working on a great magazine aimed at teenagers at the moment called

"The Beauty of Life."

Our magazine teaches teenagers how to be their unique selves; it shows them how to live with their own unique talents, styles, and personalities, enabling them to be at ease with who they are as individuals. I spend long hours at the office working with my team, often taking phone calls, writing features, and having group meetings with my team about new projects for the magazine.

I get paid good money to do this, but I really do not have time for dating! Why do I want to date anyway, when life is this good?

I check my watch.

It is now 8 A.M.

"I have to leave," I quickly tell Catherine, then I bolt for the door before she can say anything else.

...

I get to work bang on 9:30 A.M.

"There's a first!" I say to myself as I fumble with the swipe card that lets me get inside the building.

I literally fall into reception because I was too dumb to remember the mini-step that I had to climb over before entering. When I finally straighten myself out, I head straight to the Latte machine on the right side of the reception desk.

"Good morning Gemma!" a chirpy voice from behind me, startles me whilst I am grabbing my coffee.

I turn around.

"Oh, good morning Mr. Hollingsworth. I'm sorry, I didn't see you there." I explain.

"It doesn't matter. Will you please take your coffee with me inside my office? I'd like to introduce you to someone," Mr. Hollingsworth informs me.

'Uh-oh!' I think to myself.

"Yes, sure. I'll be there in five minutes; just let me hang up my coat," I reply.

'Oh shit! What if it is him? I hope Catherine hasn't said a word!' I think quietly, having to almost gag myself in order to stop myself from speaking out loud.

I finally open the door to Mr. Hollingsworth's office.

Mr. Hollingsworth is sitting in his plush, leather, Bosses chair by his desk. On the opposite side, sits a man who is dressed in a very smart black pair of trousers, a white shirt, a grey tie, and a black blazer to match. He has short dark hair which is combed back, tanned skin, hazel eyes, and a very cute, to-die-for smile.

My heart does ten flips; but still, I must resist. I am in no way getting into the dating market, particularly not at work!

"Gemma, meet Jason Jones. He is our new deputy leader in the magazine team, and he will be working with you often." Mr. Hollingsworth explains.

Right now, I could have floored my boss! However, I knew better.

If I wanted to keep my job; I had to play ball.

I hold out a shaking and sweaty palm,

"Pleased to meet you, Jason," I tell him politely, whilst trying to keep myself under control.

"Likewise, Gemma," Jason tells me nodding.

I barely hear what Mr. Hollingsworth says next. I am wrapped up in my own thoughts, whilst trying to contain myself. I decide that I really need to get out of this room, so I make up a polite request to go to the toilet, apologizing to Jason at the same time.

"No! You must stay, Gemma. Just ten minutes would be fine," Mr. Hollingsworth tells me.

I decide to hang on, hoping that Jason can't see me squeezing my pelvic floor hard in an attempt not to wet myself in front of him.

"So Gemma; your magazine is aimed at teaching teenagers how to be their unique selves. Can you tell me more about that?" Jason asks me.

I face my knees in an attempt to hide my oh-so-scarlet cheeks.

"Well," I start.

"There are many teenagers in our world who struggle to fit in. They feel like they have to follow the style and trends of famous people in order to be liked, and they often feel that they have to have the latest trends in order to be accepted..."

I pause for a second; I can feel his eyes burning into mine, though I manage to force myself not to look up.

I continue...

Our magazine is about teaching teenagers that life can be beautiful without following trends. I believe beauty comes from being yourself, and living life, your way. Hence 'The Beauty of Life,' is the title.

There is a long moment of quiet between us, and I fidget nervously; hoping that I didn't sound like some schoolgirl in the playground drooling over her crush. I decide to keep my thoughts to myself.

"No! no, no way. I must not let this go further. I can't afford to!!" I tell myself quietly, though I have a feeling that I'm getting carried away already.

Jason finally speaks.

"That sounds interesting. Maybe you could show me some of your work tomorrow?"

"Oh, I can show you alright!" I think to myself, then discreetly kick myself under the table for behaving irrationally.

I look down at my watch; I can't wait for this meeting to end. I am at a point of desperation, trying to keep things formal.

"Fuck! Catherine, you could have told me this guy was hot." I whisper to myself, hoping that nobody hears me. To my embarrassment, Mr. Hollingsworth has heard me.

"Did you say something, Catherine?" Mr. Hollingsworth asks me.

"No, not me. I was trying to stop myself from sneezing," I reply, thinking a little white lie is in order at this point.

"Um...I am running late. Jason, meet me in my editorial office tomorrow at 9:45 A.M. and we can talk some more. I'll show you some of my work then." I say, feeling my legs pull underneath me, desperate to get out of the office.

"I can pick you up if you like?" Jason offers.

My heart flips.

"Do I? Don't I? Oh, fuck!" I argue with myself quietly.

"Well yes, sorry no! Actually, yes; that is a good idea, and thank you, Jason," I manage to babble, almost feeling horrified with myself.

"Would you like a lift home? It's pouring it down outside," is what comes next.

I stare blankly at the rain leaving watery drips on the window. My car is in repair, and I do not fancy walking home in that.

"Okay, but remember; friendly terms only!" I blurt out; surprised by my own words.

Mr. Hollingsworth lets out a chuckle. He doesn't say anything, but the bubbles that foam in my stomach tell me that he has caught on.

"I hope our little meeting has enabled you two to get to know each other, and I hope that you'll enjoy working with each other tomorrow." Mr. Hollingsworth tells us.

We shake hands, then we end the meeting.

As we are walking out of the room, I tell Jason that I need to make sure that my office door is locked.

"Ok. I'll get the car warmed up and ready," he tells me, then I scurry off to check my office, in desperation for oxygen.

When I get there, I decide to step inside and check that everything is turned off. I head to the desk on which sits my printer. At the side of my printer is a vase containing 12 purple roses. I read the note:

"You are the most beautiful woman in the world."

No signature, just words!

I am puzzled. I haven't dated lately, and I have no boyfriend,

So who on earth sent them?

My first thought is Jason; though he only met me today.

I think it would be weird for a male to send roses to a woman he has only just met.

I shrug it off; for now, anyway. My mind is clouded enough, and I just want to get home, have a drink and go to bed.

Jason drops me off right outside my door.

I give him a friendly hug on the doorstep before we say goodbye. He promises me three times over that he won't be late in the morning!

I let myself in, and take myself straight to my room in an attempt to avoid any interrogation from Catherine.

I try to sleep that night...

but, who the fuck left me those roses?

To be continued...

Thank you for reading my story.

Hearts are always welcome, and optional tips are greatly appreciated. You can always subscribe here so that you never miss a story or new chapter to the many series of stories that I am currently writing!

LoveSeries
1

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.