Fiction logo

Procrastinating Never Pays

30th May, Story #151/366

By L.C. SchäferPublished 24 days ago Updated 8 days ago 3 min read
Procrastinating Never Pays
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

I always meant to go back. Like I promised. I never intended to abandon her. But I should never have put myself in her life to begin with.

I knew I'd have to keep my promise and visit her. Eventually.

To find out if she was ok, I looked for her cat in the dreamscape. It concerned me I couldn't, but then I'd never tried to find an animal's dreams before. This is how I rationalised, soothed my conscience.

I'll go back. Just not now. Not tonight. Another time. Let her be. Allow whatever harm I'd inadvertently caused heal. Perhaps then I could poke my nose back in, and reassure her. And myself. Maybe.

I cleaned up the dinner things. Curled up with a book. Lights off, teeth cleaned, clothes in the hamper. My bed, ahh my beautifully made bed.

The danger time, between waking and sleeping. Sinking deeper. Deeper. Opening my eyes and..

I'm at work. Mike is there, from accounts. Laughing. I know he's laughing at me.

He's still laughing. His mouth is bigger, he's bigger. His teeth black, pointed, lengthening. Eyes black, too. I can feel myself shrinking and shrinking, and he's even bigger, his face is as big as the world and he's going to swallow me... I'm tiny. Made of wood. I can't move. I'm a little doll, eyes fixed and staring. Trapped in this body.

He clamps his mouth shut, and glares. Why did you leave me? he demands. His skin looks pulpy. I can feel a thread of the dream that is flapping loose. I know what this is, who he is... I try to seize it, to take control, but someone else already has it in their grasp. I want to speak, to reason, but my mouth won't move.

"I know who you are!" he bellows. Tears on his cheeks. The dream wobbles. So does his outline. He's losing control, there's a flicker of her underneath. It's Hannah, the little girl in the dreamscape I've been avoiding. She's mad, poking around in my head for something to use. Lashing out, not knowing I can really break here, that depending on what she does next, I might not wake.

+


Word count, excluding note: 366


Submitted on 30th May at 23.34


*Quick Author's Note*

First, and most importantly: thank you so much for reading my story! The ha'penny that Vocal will toss in my hat for your eyeballs landing on this humble piece will be well-spent.


If you enjoyed this one, the very best compliment you can give me is to share it, or read another!


A Year of Stories: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one continues my 151 day streak since 1st January. Nearly half way there!

Please do consider lending your support to the other creators who are also on this madcap "a story every day" adventure. They are putting out excellent content every day!

Rachel Deeming

Gerard DiLeo

Leave a comment: Please do leave me a comment. It makes it easier for me to reciprocate the read.


The story behind the story: this is part of a series, so I am including a link so you can read them one after another if you'd like. But it should also work as a stand alone story (I hope!)

Thank you

Thank you again, most especially if you are one of the wonderful people who has been staunchly reading these daily scribbles since the start of the year. I see you, and appreciate you very much indeed! 😁

+ + + + + + + + + + + +

Short StorySeriesMicrofiction

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Cody Dakota Wooten, C.B.C.23 days ago

    Wowzers! I had a feeling something like this might happen - what seems harmless suddenly becomes life-threatening! Well done and congratulations on 150! Keep it up!

  • Sid Aaron Hirji23 days ago

    This is a nice intriguing one

  • Caroline Craven23 days ago

    This is such a great series L.C. I can't wait to read what happens next.

  • Hehehehhehehe I really hope he does not wake up

  • Christy Munson24 days ago

    "The dream wobbles." Your writing never ceases to captivate. Wonderful work!

  • If this isn’t a contender for the win then I’m very excited to read what is!!! Extremely well written and really intriguing storyline / character. Very well done 🙌🌟😇💎

  • John Cox24 days ago

    Its official! This is my favorite story thread. The photo is a brilliant touch, by the by!

  • shanmuga priya24 days ago

    Truly captivating!

L.C. SchäferWritten by L.C. Schäfer

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.