Fiction logo

Possessed

—a chapter of my sequel to I am Bexley. “The Bloodletter’s Scourge.”

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 14 days ago 3 min read
Possessed
Photo by Josh Marshall on Unsplash

I step into the fire once again. The void between the walls of the living and the floors that divide us into death. I feel the pain of being a lost soul that clings to non-entities. I will destroy my enemies with a hell forged sword and slice their throats. They'll die. Whoever did this to me, They'll be obliterated. All of them, die. Dead, dead, dead, die,

DIE.

My brain is stinging. I know that I have no blood flowing through my veins.

The nightmares that start and end and keep repeating all day and night are making me question everything. Especially those violent, loud thoughts that enter my brain like a loud punch.

I step into the daylight, a creeping panic hitting my unconscious, trapped in my bones. It feels like a tickle, but I cannot laugh. I’ve heard most monsters are awake and active mostly at night. The deepest part of night where even the owls feel it is too black to roam around. The forests are always more open and timid in the morning when everyone and everything—-

“Indigo! Please! Please!” The Bloodletter cries, his hands struggling to sign the strong emotion he feels using his voiceless form.

The incessant banging of his fists causes me to stir as if I were a cicada coming violently out of its shell, yet I am still, squirming and shaking and quivering.

I am still.

My memories are warped, so I will warp his memories. I know he and that brat killed me. I know I have no form, yet I am stuck here inside of the undead battery of a Bloodletter I hate. He was my charge, my ward, my scourge. I taught him everything I knew about my craft, yet he never learned shit.

Indigo looks at him, helplessly. She signs with a recklessly desperate expression, “What’s wrong? What the hell is it? Emory? Emory!” She shakes him so hard they both fall on the cave floor.

I feel the pain and the ache rising as I rattle his insides with as much force and fire I can muster. I know I will be forced to take my leave from this ghastly place, the husk of a very stupid Bloodletter.

I get to his vocal cords. I feel they are rotted, closed. I rip them open.

“I’m possess… posses… posssed!” The stupid Bloodletter tries to speak but it comes out like a hacking cough, throaty and sore.

I swallow his entire sound. “Leave me alone, forever,” I sneer out of his mouth, a cruel mumble the smaller Bloodletter definitely hears.

Indigo frowns, holding the gold I made when I was alive. I know I put a good little curse on that gold, it’s good that wench has it.

Suddenly, he slams his fists on the rock wall with such a powerful swing, I feel even my own formless being sense the blow.

“What the fuck is going on?”

They both look toward the loud intrusion. It’s a human male.

Indigo signs, “Emory is freaking out.”

“It’s … not my voice!” Emory signs with a ferocity.

Indigo gives him a small look of pity.

The human looks bewildered.

Suddenly, Emory falls.

I fall too.

I step into the fire once again. I will get my revenge, even if I have to die over and over.

My ancestors once were able to follow a human, to haunt their brain and eat them from the inside out. My descendants from Africa knew the power of their blood, of the rich seeds of raw cocoa beans, and our deep roots of magick and science.

I love eating someone from the inside out. I’m good at it. Making their already scrambled brains wither away and crumble gives me strength. I feed off their pain, their energy, their emotions.

The grave I stand in is halfway through the barrier of fear and freedom. I step into the sea of endless flame.

I will have my revenge.

He slips into pitch black darkness. I step into the most etheral space of endless light.

Horror

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Novel Allen14 days ago

    Some serious evil happenings and goings on here. Revenge upon one's killer is always a grand topic. Sho say revenge is best served cold, hot is even better.

  • Christy Munson14 days ago

    Who knew I'd love horror with breakfast?! Loved your story. I don't know the characters (yet) but I'm able to piece together enough about them from this chapter that I could follow the sequence of events. The word others have used definitely fits: Intense! I'll have to find time to read all the chapters.

  • Whoaaa, I don't know who Indigo, Emory or the MC is but this was soooo intense and gory! I loved itA

  • Intriguing chapter. I loved the beginning set the intensity right away

  • Ameer Bibi14 days ago

    Conflict always run through Love this read btw

  • Daaaaamn this is INTENSE

Melissa IngoldsbyWritten by Melissa Ingoldsby

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.