Fiction logo

Pomegranates

DuPonts and De Luxe

By HKPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 7 min read
Like
Pomegranates
Photo by Jennifer Latuperisa-Andresen on Unsplash

You're awake, dear. Was it the Martini?

I'm sorry if it was.

You do look so gorgeous when you smile.

You've got a keen sense of the... absurd... I mean it.

Come on, don't blush. I mean it. In a good way.

A risible nature about you. There's something gorgeous in colour dimpled in your cheeks - like a maelstrom of the stupendous... My, my, how far we've come me and you.

++++

Waiter, waiter...

You have to shout to get a hold of these bus boys.

Through the slough of despond, through yellow marshes,

roils of gas in between. That's the way the train sizzles.

Excuse me...

Ah yes... another Martini for the lady please.

Oh, you do look so gorgeous when you smile.

++++

Oh you know that money we wired to your family just a while back, it didn't quite add up.

You said $307, right? That's around three hundred clear right, with the fee?

Silly girl at the teller, didn't know how to get a hold of what I was saying, but they could use the extra change anyway, I suppose.

Anyway, I had to throw in a bit of my own lot to get the three hundred together.

Oh, no they're not an imposition.

I just hope they don't feel too indebted, that's all.

Where's this train off to anyway, caught up in a rush.

++++

You see that guy in front?

Yes in the royal-blue and the hat.

Well he's currently seeing a mistress.

No, I would never do that to you.

How'd I find out?

Well you were sleeping, of course, I went to peruse the bar in the carriage ahead, make use of my time.

I must have overheard them, I certainly wasn't listening. Just caught my ear.

My, the nerve of some folk.

Well, gosh, I wasn't going to be stuck with you here in the Land of Nod, was I.

Be a dear and hand me that napkin.

That napkin right there.

Never mind why.

Well the waiter is bringing over some Filet mignon and hot chips. I don't have to explain everything to you. And you certainly don't want ketchup all over your fingers.

I don't know when he'll come. Am I the waiter's keeper?

We're on a locomotive, the situation is absurd as it is, its prissy enough to ask for fine dining... on a locomotive - never mind ask when it will be done and shave it as close to time as possible.

...It's not like we're going anywhere.

...It's not like you've got some place to be, do you?

And if you don't find your ticket, there's gonna be turmoil, I mean it.

Make space for when he gets here.

That pepper grinder for example.

And the salt.

++++

This air is vituperating.

Where is this waiter?

You know, you pay full price, hoping for the de luxe...

Oh there he is...

Ah, yes some ketchup please.

No, thank you.

Just a whiskey - for the lady.

++++

My you look so well when you sleep. Like an angel.

I mean it!

Come on don't blush.

You are, you're blushing.

What's that old Perrault fairy tale. Sleeping Beauty?

Well you could give her a run for her money.

++++

Those ladies over there... you see 'em?

Talking of Puccini.

Yeah, they didn't know I was with you, they said they wished you would stop giggling so much.

Well, they didn't know I was with you, that would be an awkward turn of events, to confront them about it.

Come on, don't. Never mind those harpies.

Aren't they all in a fuss, right now. I mean who cares about the Punch and Judy shows these days.

++++

Nothing, they just had to get a detour, the Okies are blocked off by snow.

Well, how am I supposed to know why they don't just wait.

Maybe they've got cattle carriages in the back, how am I to know, or the grain's spoiling or something.

What if they freeze or starve to death?

Don't you think about anyone but yourself?!

++++

It's mine, I put it there.

Now, don't twist and fold it. It's a "binding contract", you know. They'll think we scalped it or something.

Yes, I changed my mind, we're going to California.

Well I tried to tell you but you were just in a daze. Don't you even listen to me? I told you Oakland-California.

You always like the cold didn't you. I don't know what kind of a person actually likes the cold. You've got more of a British sentiment, haven't you... it's from your mother's side of the family.

++++

There's a bit of freight in the back, they have to make it by sundown

++++

You saw me with her? Her?!

Come on, you know I prefer brunettes.

Wait, are you joking or are you being serious, right now? Come on, I really can't tell.

Because you're smirking. You know you never could get a fib past me.

Okay, it's not a fib, just a white lie.

Don't joke like that. Give me a heart attack!

Get some rest... this snow and cold must be seeping in. Dear, dear, your head feels a little warm.

Get some rest...

Do you want this blanket?

No. You must get some rest.

++++

Wake up, dear...

You said something in your sleep.

Who's Robert?

You just said. I don't know you were half-asleep and it just slipped out.

"Robert."

Someone on this train?

You know you shouldn't let this door open, you'll catch cold.

++++

Oh I was just looking for...

Damn this train jolts far too much.

Where's your mother's pendant?

How should I know where your mother's necklace is?

Oh, no, no. Would you stop it, you're going to wake up the next suite.

You're going to wake the whole carriage up.

Well, I can't help it if your always losing things.

Where's my cravat shirt?

Come on, I have a meeting with the DuPonts.

++++

Well you must come to dinner...

Tired?

You've been sleeping half the day! It's all those Martinis and Sherries you've been drinking! I told you to stop.

You'd drink the whole brewery if you could. You embarrass me.

What's worse...In front of Montgomery, too!

And then you wonder why we don't have all the things your friends have.

++++

You embarrassed me! You EMBARASSED ME! In front of all the guests, in front of Pinkerton. In front of Montgomery! In front of Charles!

Waiter! Steward! *hic* Steward!

How many times do I have to knock?!

Steward!

Oh yes, a whiskey then, and a Martini for the lady.

++++

You said something in your sleep.

Yes, just now.

++++

Do you want some Pomegranate, just watch out there's those little seeds in it.

I wish I was one of those lizards out there scampering the desert, not a worry in the world.

++++

Jim... just have a flick through it, see if it's good enough.

I based it on Carl Jung's theory Animus and Anima.

Say what's that Greek food of the gods, they say?

The nectar?

Ambrosia?

Thanks, Jim.

++++

Dear, dear.

I've never asked anything of you before...

That was before.

That was so we could get the cabriolet fixed - which I have to drive you around in, Ms Hoity Toity! --

Okay, I'm sorry I'm sorry. I've never asked anything of you, just two hundred, is it in here?

How do I get this open - oh.

Thank you dear, thank you. You don't know how much this means to me.

++++

You spent it all on drinks!

Didn't I say we should get a cheaper carriage? Didn't I say?

Just sit here on the edge of the bed for a second.

You're not reading it right. It has to have an element of frustration, the character's got a lot on her plate.

Because you keep smirking at the end of your line! Who knows what you're thinking about.

Just focus on one thing at a time for once.

++++

I don't know how I could be with you.

This is merino wool, from Chile or wherever they get it from. Dab it, like a sponge. Like a sponge. Here, give me that.

Gosh, they'd think I murdered someone in here, all this wine.

You know some guy probably worked really hard to make this, and then you go and ruin it all in a single binge.

++++

I'm going back to the Ozarks.

Well, I don't know what you'll do.

++++

Oh do stop crying, you always warble when you cry.

I scrounged up everything we had to get this suite.

Well I thought you liked being a recluse, please just get that glass off the table - a "Manhattan".

It's a Lemon Manhattan, isn't it?

I swear I might just go back to the Ozarks, I can't deal with this any more. I can't deal with you anymore

Well if you call her, then you'll finally prove her right... poor little Anne can never do anything on her own... cant even ever be trusted on her own.

Now I see why.

Oh, stop bickering , you look so deranged when you sob.

Move your fingers. I am closing this door. I am closing this door. Yes. Goodbye then. Good riddance.  Well I don't know what you'll do. You should have thought of that before. You should -. You should have thought of that before.

++++

Hey, dear. You do look so gorgeous when you smile...

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

HK

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.