Fiction logo

Polaris

The Northern Star

By Matt B.Published 12 days ago 2 min read
3

That night was the same as others: the sky brightened brown, while below our feet a million dazzling points shined as a little tear when uncovered by the Sun. We followed a strange path in our nightly (not daily, it was at night!) tango. I stared at him and he smiled at my innocence. I realized too late we were dancing a Big Dipper, and I was standing right on Sirius, his favorite… so I chuckled while following the tango effortlessly. We were heading north; to the northern star.

“Gardel?” I inquired, “I thought you were old school, what happened to Piazzola?”

“Ah”, He gasped, “Tonight’s different, we’re heading north”

“So?”

“Well, Gardel lived most his life in Argentina, but he suddenly felt the same urge we evoke tonight. He traveled north driven by a frenzied search for… You’ll see.” He whispered somewhat playfully, leaving me curious.

“But your usual Fuga & Misterio…” He interrupted with a kiss, a tiny one. “Piazzola, dear, committed the blind error of staying south. He’s good, but his music lacks north”

We continued dancing, and this time he led me through Orion’s belt. From his bow, we were launched both by music and air to Tauro. At Aldebaran we stopped, I did a twist and, tiptoed, leaned on him. In an hour we reached Dipper, this time Little, and with that, we had almost completed a full lap around the night ground. He stopped at Polaris, my favorite. Polaris, the northern star, the oh-so-bright warmth bringer and guide. There the tango stopped, and we kissed.

Polaris, head me north again. Find me such a mouth, lead me to those lips I long from that night. Northern star, light my path through the shadows that alone I fight. Kiss me through human flesh… Polaris.

Short StoryLove
3

About the Creator

Matt B.

He/Him

A romantic reader and an amateur writer who likes to write non-conventional stories and unusual plot lines.

I read romantic era fiction and find myself lost in the pages of Dumas' "The Count of Montecristo" and Shelley's "Frankenstein"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 12 days ago

    Great work!!! Well written!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.