Fiction logo

Poisoned Flower of Paradise

They are mortal enemies. Will their love come through before they kill each other?

By Natalie DemossPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 20 min read
3

Jessamine stood at the edge of the rocky cliff gazing out over the crashing waves. Below her was a crowded beach, popular with tourists. She loved the water but not the influx of people escaping the frigid winters of their homelands. Jessamine was tired of the cold, too. Unfortunately, there was no escaping it for her. Despite the sun shining down, there was no warmth in her bones.

She turned and continued toward the small marketplace in the town of Bonnerai. She would walk along the shore later that night when most of the travelers were sleeping off the abundance of sun, surf, and those fancy cocktails they sold at the hotel bars. Jessamine thought they were pretty, but she had no need to drink them.

When she first came to Santa Mirada, she had felt rather foolish covering up so much when most everyone there embraced the sun. She didn't wear the hat with the wide, floppy brim and the loose, lightweight dresses to protect her from the sun so much as to put people at ease. Jessamine was so pale she nearly glowed in the sunlight. She learned the hard way always to wear sunglasses after she terrified the locals with her red eyes.

It was a very near thing when they had come for her that evening. Luckily she was faster than them. Jessamine spent half the night perched in a tree, trying to convince them that she wouldn't hurt them. Their belief was tenuous initially, but they eventually came to trust her. Two generations later, she had a good relationship with their grandchildren.

The market was nearly as crowded as the beach. Sunburned visitors perused the wares for mementos. Jessamine made her way through the stalls selling cheap trinkets to the tourists, eventually entering a dark, incense-filled shop that belonged to the local witch.

There was a large snakeskin tacked to the doorframe. A wind chime constructed of small bones clacked in the sea breeze. Rosalie had chosen the decor to keep all but the bravest of sightseers away. Replicas of shrunken heads and voodoo dolls were among the wares Felix, the witch’s son, sold from a stand just outside. Everything there was harmless. Even the love potions were just scented water.

The same was not true of the wares sold inside. While some items were as benign as crystals, candles, and ceremonial drums, others held great power and were not to be used lightly. Despite the vibes, the store gave off, the shop’s owner and the head witch was one of the kindest people Jessamine had ever met.

Bacchus, Rosalie’s enormous black cat, hissed and retreated into the shadows to stare at her with luminous green eyes. Jessamine shook her head. She would never hurt her friend’s cat, but most animals avoided her.

“Ah, there you are,” Rosalie said with a smile. “I was wondering if I’d see you today.”

“Rosalie, I hope the Goddess is treating you well,” she replied.

Rosalie nodded, “Always. What can I get for you? I made another batch of that sunscreen you like.”

“Oh, perfect. Thank you.” Jessamine said. “I'm running low on my special beverage. Would you have anything available?” Rosalie kept her supplied with blood from sacrifices made to her chosen Goddess or maybe from chickens from her flock who found their way into a frying pan. Jessamine didn't ask too many questions as to how she came to have the blood. At any rate, she didn't require to feed often. A few sips a day usually kept her from needing to partake of anyone’s animals.

The witch slipped into the back room and came back with two bottles. “I have chicken, as usual, and Felix went hunting yesterday. He took down a deer and saved the blood for you.”

Jessamine smiled, being careful to keep her fangs retracted. They still made people uneasy. “I hope he was careful not to be seen.” The Havertons flew the deer in for sport and didn't take kindly to poachers. The aristocratic family had been there for generations - long before Jessamine had arrived. They made their wealth on the backs of others on their sugar plantation. Not that she didn't help herself to one of their deer occasionally, but she knew how to remain nearly invisible.

“He’s always careful,” Rosalie replied as she carefully wrapped the bottles and jar of sunscreen in tissue so they wouldn't break in transport. “Felix sets wards against detection. I do like a good venison steak now and again.”

Jessamine thanked her and tucked the items into her bag. They chatted a bit longer before she moved on to the next shop. She loved to peruse their plants and seeds for something new. Hugo had been the head gardener for the Havertons before he retired and opened the shop. Now he sat among his plants, tending to his bonsai while his sons ran the day-to-day business. Jessamine would spend time talking about flowers with Hugo, even if she didn't need anything.

In her time on the island, Jessamine developed a love of horticulture. She spent hours caring for her plants and experimenting with creating new species of flora. Her garden was one of the most lovely around. Many of the flowers she grew were as deadly as they were beautiful, much like herself. It was too bad she had no one to share them with.

Shopping complete, Jessamine returned to her small but comfortable cottage tucked into what passed as wilderness between the land owned by the Havertons and what the resorts had snatched up. It was quiet out there, which suited her just fine. Rosalie’s family had placed a spell on the land to keep people away when the witch was still a child.

She spent the rest of the day tending to her flowers. After the sun was well down and the moon shone brightly, Jessamine made her way to her favorite secluded cove. She slipped off her dress and waded into the water.

Swimming made her feel almost human. Or it would if it wasn't for the fact that she didn't need to breathe and could stay underwater indefinitely, and the lack of light didn't bother her. The fish shied away from her as most animals did, but that was the way with fish. Jessamine brushed her fingers over a cluster of coral as she swam through a reef admiring the range of colors.

Eventually, Jessamine came back to shore, rising out of the waves. A strangled cry followed by a muffled thud reached her ears as the water lapped around her ankles. A man lay in the sand next to the overturned boat that had washed up on the beach in a storm.

He stared at her for a long moment before covering his eyes with his hands, throwing sand into them in the process. “I’m sorry...argh.”

Jessamine was curious as to how he had come across her cove. No one but the locals came there, and then only in the daylight. He was definitely not from Santa Mirada.

She could understand his reaction. It would have been startling to see her appear out of nowhere. The moonlight glinting off her wet skin likely gave her an ethereal look. The man seemed embarrassed by her nudity.

Unperturbed, Jessamine continued onto the beach. She picked up her dress, preparing to put it back on. The man looked at her again, eyes watering from the grains of sand lodged in them. She was close enough now that he could see that her own eyes were glowing red.

“Y...you’re a vampire!” he cried, crawling back away from her.

“What gave it away?” she asked dryly.

He scrabbled around on the sand as if looking for something - possibly a loose board from the fishing boat. Jessamine wasn’t overly worried. She could run faster than him and knew the terrain better.

“Wh...what is your name?” he asked as he continued his search for a weapon. He was stalling for time.

“I gave myself the name Jessamine upon my death. It seemed fitting, given that my bite causes paralysis.” She licked her lips in a teasing manner.

The man blanched, nearly as pale as her. He gave up on his search after coming up with nothing useful. “Please don't kill me.”

Jessamine stared him down before shaking her head. “Relax. I lost my taste for human blood centuries ago. I was an empath before I became a vampire. Every time I drank from someone, I felt crippled by their fear or anger. I came here looking for a place where I could be left alone.”

He seemed to be calming down. “Yeah. I know the feeling.”

“You are looking for an escape as well?” she asked.

“You can say that,” he muttered. “My name is Jacob Smyth. I was born into the American line of a family of hunters descended from Gabriel Van Helsing. I'm sure great-whatever grandpa is turning in his grave at what a miserable failure I am.”

“Why do you think you are a failure?” Jessamine asked, curious despite a slight unease with his family business. He might be more skilled than he let on.

“I staked my own foot,” Jacob said. His embarrassment was palpable. He sighed. “Look. I'm too slow and clumsy to run around the country trying to slay werewolves and vampires. And honestly, I'm too scared to do the job. All I’ve ever wanted to be was a horticulturist.”

Jessamine smiled in surprise. “You like plants?”

“Yeah. I had several orchids until my father destroyed them in a fit of rage at my obvious lack of family pride,” he replied. “He was all up in arms about some massacre at this crappy campground. A bunch of college kids got on the wrong side of some werewolves and vampires working together. I get it. The thought of the two species uniting is terrifying. Anyway, I was supposed to investigate the site to find clues as to who had done it and where they might have gone. Instead, I lost my lunch all over the scene.”

“Don’t sell yourself short. We aren't all cut out for our lot in life. Sometimes we have to make the decision to change our path to save ourselves.” she said.

Jacob scoffed, “You don't look to be suffering from vampirism.”

“You think I wanted to be turned? Casimir slaughtered my entire family. I would have rather died than join his coven.” Jessamine spat out. “To make matters worse, I was subjected to ridicule.”

“Why?” he asked. “You are beautiful.”

Jessamine rolled her eyes. Tension filled her body until a set of large bat wings sprouted between her shoulder blades. “I’ve never been able to transform fully. Casimir found it to be an affront to his prowess. He physically abused me in front of the others.”

“I'm sorry,” Jacob said sincerely. “How did you escape?”

“I staked Casimir while the rest of the coven was out hunting. I was hoping it would be the end of all of us, but it turns out that only works on infants who haven't fed yet,” she replied quietly. “I knew they would come for me, so I left a burned corpse in my room with a stake through its heart. Then I fled.”

“Wow,” Jacob whispered, still gazing at her.

Jessamine realized she was still holding her dress against her chest. She retracted her wings and looked him over as she got dressed. He was rather attractive for a slayer who couldn't fight. “Would you like to come back to my place?”

“Uh, yeah, I would like that,” he said. “Wait. You aren’t going to turn me or anything, are you?”

“Not unless you want me to,” Jessamine purred alluringly.

Jacob laughed nervously. “I’ll pass for now. My father would be all too proud to shove a stake through both of our hearts.”

“Suit yourself,” she said, leading him up the path from the cove toward her house. She had to stop several times for Jacob to catch his breath. Jessamine couldn’t help laughing to herself as he tripped several times. She found his clumsiness adorably endearing.

She gasped when a branch slapped him in the face, drawing blood. It smelled sweet, tempting Jessamine to taste it. She refrained for both their sakes. She wasn’t sure what she would do if she drank human blood after so many years. She liked him too much to chance ripping him to shreds in a loss of control.

“For what it’s worth,” Jacob said, breaking into her thoughts. “I like your wings. They’re kind of sexy.”

“Thank you,” she said.

Jacob looked tired when they arrived at her cottage. Jessamine smiled at him. “I don’t require sleep. Why don’t you take my bed? What I wanted to show you is better seen in the light of day.”

“Uh, thanks,” he yawned. He washed up in the bathroom Jessamine rarely used aside from the hot showers she enjoyed.

After he lay sprawled across her bed, fast asleep, Jessamine went into the bathroom to tidy up. A single drop of blood from the scratch on Jacob’s face beckoned her from the edge of the sink.

She reached out a shaking hand to scoop it up on her finger. She wasn’t sure what she intended to do with it, but her finger found its way into her mouth before she could wash the blood down the drain. It was as sweet as it smelled.

Jessamine closed her eyes, waiting for the hunger to come. She opened them again in shock. There was only calm and something she wasn’t familiar with - euphoria. Yes, she wanted more of Jacob’s blood, but she had no desire to drain him. It was an odd feeling.

She watched over him as he slept, considering her options. She wouldn’t force him to stay, but she would very much like it if he did.

Jacob looked sleepily apprehensive at the intensity of her gaze when he awoke. He put a hand to his neck as if to check for a puncture wound. “Good morning,” he said after being reasonably sure he still lived.

“Good morning. I have no food here,” Jessamine replied. “At least nothing suitable for your consumption. After I show you my garden, I will take you to Bonnerai to get breakfast at the cafe.”

“You have a garden?” Jacob asked excitedly, throwing back the covers. Without his shirt on she could see his physique lacked muscle, leaving him incredibly thin. It wasn't unattractive, though. She was almost disappointed when he put on his shirt.

Jessamine smiled at Jacob’s gasp when he followed her into the yard. He spent several silent minutes examining every plant there.

“This is incredible. Beautiful.” Jacob eventually exclaimed. “I see quite a few of these flowers are poisonous. Do you use them for anything?”

“No. I just enjoy their company.” Jessamine said. “I have a friend in town who occasionally uses them - not to kill anyone. But they are sometimes required for spells.”

They spent some time comparing their knowledge of various plants. After Jacob’s hunger outweighed his desire to spend time in the garden, they went back inside so Jessamine could cover herself up before their trek into town.

“Why do you hide yourself? I thought you said they are used to you here,” he asked.

“They are, but the coverings put them at ease,” Jessamine murmured.

Jacob nodded slightly. “I guess I can see that, but you are too beautiful to hide your face.” He turned a brilliant shade of crimson as he spoke.

As they sat at a table in the tiny cafe, the owner, Martika, peered at them wide-eyed. Jessamine had spoken with her in the market before but had never visited the establishment.

“Jessamine, I didn't expect to see you here. What can I get for you and your friend?” she asked.

Jessamine’s smile was hidden beneath her hat. “This is Jacob. We met on the beach last night. I don't need anything but he requires sustenance.”

“Oh, does he now?” Martika said with a knowing smile. She disappeared into the kitchen and returned with a plate of fruit, eggs, and fried fish.

By the time they were leaving, it seemed the entire town knew far more of the night they had spent together than had actually happened. Jessamine ignored the stares and whispered questions about why she had let Jacob into her private space when she had never shown an interest in anyone before. Rosalie slipped out of her shop to corner her.

“Jessamine? Who is this, and why am I only hearing about him through gossip?” she cried. “Tell me everything.”

“There is nothing to tell. I met Jacob when I was swimming last night. He studies plants, so I took him to my place to show him my garden.” Jessamine insisted.

Rosalie shook her head. “There is far more to this than you are letting on.”

“I can head back to my hotel,” Jacob offered, although his expression said that he’d rather remain with her. “Can I see you again?”

“Yes, I would like that,” Jessamine smiled. “How long will you be on Santa Mirada?”

He scratched his head. “I don't know. I might stay indefinitely. Maybe I can find a little shack on the beach or something. I’ve cut ties with my family. I have no desire to return home.”

After he walked away, Rosalie dragged Jessamine into the store and pried the details out of her.

“He’s a slayer? You fell for one of your mortal enemies?” she exclaimed in shock.

Jessamine looked at the well-scrubbed floorboards. “So it would seem. But, like I said, he’s not truly a slayer. You don't think I should trust him?”

“I don't sense any reason why you shouldn't. Jacob seems genuine to me, and you two have bonded over your love of gardening.” she pondered. “You don't have to rush into anything. If nothing comes of your obvious interest in each other, you could remain friends.”

“There is one issue,” Jessamine felt uncomfortable bringing it up. “I like the taste of his blood.”

“Well, that does complicate things,”Rosalie said. “Why did you...? Never mind. That's your business. Is he safe with you?”

“Yes, of course, I would never hurt him,” she insisted. “He injured himself in the brush and didn't get all the blood cleaned up. I couldn't help myself. It was so...perfectly delicious. I have control of myself, but I would like to feed from him if he would allow it.”

“And the others here? Are they safe as well?” Rosalie asked.

Jessamine pulled a face. “No one else’s blood appeals to me. It's something about Jacob.”

“Hmm. I suppose stranger things have happened,” she said. “Although I would never have thought a vampire and a slayer could be soulmates.”

Later that day, Jessamine found Jacob wandering through the wooded area near her cottage. He had several new scratches. One was slowly oozing blood. She had to fight herself not to lick it.

“Oh, good. I thought I knew how to get back to your place, but everything looks different in the daylight,” he said in relief.

“Ah. Well, that’s not entirely your fault. There is a spell on the land to keep people from finding my house, both for their protection and mine.” she explained.

Jacob nodded in understanding. “I hope you don't mind me just showing up. It sounds crazy, but being near you makes me happier than I have ever been.”

“You are welcome anytime,” Jessamine said warmly.

Several days later, she watched Jacob tenderly pruning the jessamine plant with its delicate yellow flowers. Against her better judgment, she had asked Rosalie to allow him to bypass the spell that hid her home. Jessamine truly felt she could trust him. She would be disappointed if she had misread him and he plunged a stake into her heart, but maybe it was time to be freed. Jacob had plenty of opportunity to do it and hadn't taken advantage of it yet.

“Jacob, I have something I wish to discuss with you,” she said.

He looked up at her with a grin. “Yeah?”

Jessamine held out an orchid. “I bought this for you. It should grow well enough in the cottage.”

“Oh, Jessie, thank you. I don't know what to say.” he cried.

“Well, before you say anything, hear me out,” she continued. “I would like you to stay with me, but there is a complication.”

“Like move in with you?” Jacob asked. “As your boyfriend?”

“Yes, but listen. I know I told you I don't drink human blood, but that first night you were here...there was some blood on the sink.” Jessamine grasped for the words. “I couldn't help myself. There is something about your blood. I crave it.”

Jacob paled. “You want me for my blood?”

“Yes. No,” she gave an exasperated huff. “Jacob. I like being with you. Even without me desiring of your blood, I’d want you to stay.”

He looked between her and the orchid as if unsure of what to do.

“Look. The orchid is yours, no matter what you decide,” Jessamine said. “I promise I won't turn you or drain you. If I did either of those, I would no longer have access to your blood. I won't even force you to allow me to drink from you. I just wanted it out in the open so that you can make an educated decision.”

Jacob set the orchid down on a bench. He reached out to brush his hand against her cold cheek. “Jessamine, you’re going to have to turn me at some point. I don't want you to watch me get old and die.”

“I...” If she were able to cry, tears would be streaming down her face. “Yes. But not until you ask me.”

He held a shaky wrist out to her. “Then I accept your invitation to move in with you. And I willingly allow you to drink from me.”

Jessamine hugged him and then gently pushed him down onto the bench beside his orchid. She brushed her lips over the inside of his forearm before allowing her fangs to emerge.

“Wait!” Jacob cried. “You said your bite causes paralysis.”

“Uh, yes. But I can control that. I think.” she replied. “And it's a temporary condition. Well, it's supposed to be. Casimir never allowed any of the people he forced me to feed from to live.”

“Yeah, I’d rather not chance it.” he took his pocket knife out and flipped it open. Wincing, Jacob made a small incision in his flesh, letting the blood well up before allowing her to drink.

Jessamine retracted her fangs and let the blood flow into her mouth before licking the wound to encourage it to heal quickly. She was flooded with unexpected warmth, almost as if the blood pumped through her body again. The sensation passed but left her feeling content.

Jacob was watching her closely, likely concerned that she might rip out his throat after all. Jessamine smiled at him. She leaned over to kiss him tenderly.

“Thank you,” she said. “I can't even begin to describe what you’ve done for me. It's like you’ve allowed me to be alive again, if only for a few minutes.”

“You’re welcome,” Jacob said. “I'm happy to oblige.”

Jessamine looked at his arm. Only a faint line showed where the cut had been moments before. “How do you feel?”

“I'm fine. It was no worse than any of the other cuts I’ve sustained. It stopped hurting as soon as you licked the blood off of it.” he said.

“Good,” Jessamine took Jacob by the hand and pulled him off the bench. “Come on, let's go to bed.”

He looked perplexed as he followed her into the house. “Isn't it a little early for bed? It's still light out.”

Jessamine rolled her eyes at him.

“Oh,” Jacob said. “Oh! Okay.”

Love
3

About the Creator

Natalie Demoss

Single mom to an Autistic child and budding author and artist finally following my dreams. The hand drawn art on my stories is my own.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    Great story! Love the vampire in paradise plot and I love that you chose your names so carefully!

  • CyCyabout a year ago

    Love, love, love this! It's been quite some time since I have read a nice vampyre fiction like this.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.