Fiction logo

Poetic Memoirs of a Dream Journal

Every morning she enjoyed her favorite cup of tea at her favorite café on the outskirts of town. The morning of July 1977 was no different than any other. That was until...

By Ruby Estelle Published 2 years ago 25 min read
1

12/01 5:00 pm

This evening I woke up to rattling sounds only to find myself on an old train. How this happened I don't know but I find it strange, and oh no. The last thing I remember was drinking my sweet tea outside the café, and then I awoke here. There's only a couple of things I have with me in my briefcase aside from my journal, but strangely enough no ticket somehow it's impossible, but I will jot everything down.

Even when I looked for a pass or asked how I got on the train I found no answer, and I've no idea where I'm going for that matter. All around me are strangers blinking with unfriendly faces. Their stares are emotionless and almost faceless, and I can't help but wonder if there is any intellectuality there. Maybe I'm dreaming, and I'll wake back up in my bed where I was this morning. Before I went and got my sweet tea like I do every day.

12/1 7:07 pm

The outside is filled with frozen streams and snow covered greenery, and I am in the type of place had I known I would’ve brought my kodak. Around some time the sun had set, and it would have been a beautiful photograph. There are mountains past the trees and the tips of them are frosted white with snow. Still how I wound up here like I said I don't know. I shall write until my hands get too cold or my pen runs out even better yet till I find the answers and the exit door!

I looked but it was nowhere to be found, and no one will come to answer my questions as I have quite a few. There is something strange going on and I am not sure what I did nor what I should do. One of the last things I remember was a handsome gentleman grinning at me from afar reading a newspaper leaning against his blue 1963 mustang smoking a cigar. I won’t lie I felt flattered, but now that I think of it perhaps he had something to do with the matter.

Something is strange indeed, and I have been frantically searching for clues with absolutely nothing. I have no money either as I had paid only with the ten I had on me, but my chance I cannot find. What is more inviting to danger than a lost woman on a train? Perhaps if I could push this newfound anxiety aside I could find someone who will be at my aid and tell me I am not absolutely insane.

After getting tea I was going east so I could go see a group for a reunion since it is near the holidays, but sadly they won’t be seeing me anytime soon. All I had to do was pick up the cakes I ordered yesterday, and I’d have been on my way. My bus reservation was taped in my journal as I had already paid my fare, but it is no longer there. I wonder if someone else got a hold of it, but who could that possibly be?

There is a chance I am thinking of asking the older couple @ 12 o'clock if they know where the first stop is. They seem relatively harmless, and there is nothing they could do with such an inquisition. It seems likely I would be safe if I told them my story, and asked them my question. I could determine if they saw where the person went that I came with, and that wouldn’t give anything away, or I could ask if they've seen a cop, well anyway.

12/01 9:25 pm

Upon inquiring of the whereabouts of the person I arrived with the older couple asked me, "don't you remember boarding alone?" Obviously not you beggared fools.. Yet subsequently I felt quite silly asking and went on to be back on my own. Finally a stewardess of the train came by I told her that had no ticket, I needed a cop and to send a telegraph. Not long after she brought me back a newspaper with some hot tea and bid me ado after lauding adding,

"Just sit tight, it will be alright!"

Upon sipping my sweet tea something even more strange came to my attention. The newspaper that the lady provided is all black and white, and the year 1889 is highlighted alright. Obviously I am not in the era of the Russian flu if I didn't mention, but strangely enough the train looks it too. I ought just make a to-do!

There is nothing around to make me feel at ease, and there is a family behind me arguing about cheese. They are boisterous and annoying, and the stress is giving me a headache. I am nervous and a little bit frightened of trusting anyone, and with good reason. There is possibility someone here has something to do with my peculiar situation.

If I could get ahold of the cops and tell them what has happened perhaps they could save me. For all I can imagine is that the culprit is just waiting to make their next move. Such a strange scenario and I can’t help but wonder for what reason could it possibly be? The first thing I do when I get home is pack up and move somewhere no one knows me.

12/02 Midnight

Can you believe it? An older gentleman, a kind stranger indeed, gave me his extra bed in his private room. After the third I told him I had no intention of boarding this train. He seemed quite concerned and unusually understanding, gave me his word that I could trust that he isn't no bandit. Something about him made me feel that I could, and he told me I had better rest my head. After he showed me where it was he said he was going off to top off his buzz.

Eventually, he said, he's meeting up with business partners in a different town, and I learned that I am on the way far away going somewhere now I don't recall the name. Sadly enough there is no easy way off of this train. All I can do is nothing, and I don’t even have a change of clothing let alone any spare change. I am not going to lie the man looked me dead in the eye and said he had plenty of money, and after his assurance that comforted me.

I am quite paranoid of the severity of my situation, and I haven’t quite informed him that I have nothing but a briefcase with me. The only thing I made clear is that I must have took the train by mistake, and vaguely mentioned I am unsure of it what I am supposed to make. The fellow bellowed as he threw up his hands that he did the same before in his younger years, so I don't think he quite understands.

The night has been exhausting aside from my long leisurely nap I took after unknowingly boarding the train. I am going to reset and see what tomorrow brings me. All I have is a butter knife that I stole from a table having dinner on the way to the bar, but I trust that I am unsafe. Yet I am safer than I would be if I was still all alone sitting next to that couple out in the open for anyone to take.

12/02 5:00 am

I covered my bunk in the private room with the curtain provided before sleeping and now I am startled silently writing. There is barely any light that I can see provided the sun has not yet started to rise in the window. I can hardly see but so he doesn't know I am awake I am writing as quietly and slowly as humanly possible so no one can hear a sound.

Shortly after I put my diary away under my pillow he came to go to sleep and showed me how I can have privacy such a gentleman he seems. It was very obvious that he had too much to drink, and I had to help him to sleep. Other than that he was very pleasant, and I appreciate his help in the matter of my current predicament.

Then suddenly after some hours of sleep I heard a loud bang. A loud noise in the quarters awoke me from my dreams. It is evident someone else is in the room, but I can't see a thing. Luckily my bed is above his and the privacy curtain is closed although I am not sure that would protect me if this were something the intruder knows. Now I can hear a low and deep voice asking about me.

I am laying perfectly still and not making a single noise not even a peep, and I am hearing,

"Where is she?"

"I don't know you wanker!"

"Bullocks! You were with her before, and where is she now?"

"I told you I don't know. I made her leave well over three bloody hours ago and watched her leave the bar with another lad..."

I am afraid that this situation isn't great, but I appreciate that this kind stranger is brave. There is a chance that if I don't make any noise somehow I'll get out of this safely. Between the bed and the window is a tight little corner perhaps storage for luggage. I am debating if I can silently squeeze into that spot being able of seeing me if the curtain is torn open they will not.

As soon as they start squabbling once more I shall see what I can do and at the moment it sounds like it is just the two of them. There is a chance that he'll take a look around and if he does he'll check above the strangers’ bed and below on the ground. Nothing in life has prepared me for this, but I will find out what is the outcome momentarily if you get the gist.

12/2 4 pm

There was a scuffle between the two strangers and eventually the guy searching for me left and I heard a slam and a cry. Ever since I have been hiding out in the private quarters of the tram and the kind stranger is very anxious, but I can understand. He told me Ive got to stay put and that he’ll help me in any way that he can. With the kind nature he displays I could almost fall in love if he didn't have a family and a ring on his hand.

He keeps leaving for a couple of hours until he’s done doing whatever it is. Mentioned something about looking for a simple way to disguise me so I can leave the train safely. Another 48 hours remains until we reach its final destination he said, but there is a stop not many hours ahead. He can’t decide if he should stay or go, and I too can't decide oh I don't know!

Apparently he found the train car that the man who attacked him and did him with a black eye is staying. He said he did some snooping and that he is quite close to the exit doors which were finally found! The kind stranger whose name I will not mention said he could keep a close eye on him, and check that if he leaves we will stay, and if he stays he will come back to me, and we will leave, but what if he is watching us?

There's security somewhere on the train, but he has been unable of finding them and feels like a clown. I'm almost certain they would arrest the man instantly, and then I would get a chance of identifying him personally. It dawned on me the likelihood that it would be the guy I caught staring at me across the street from the café before I woke up here I must say.

12/2 9 pm

The kind stranger said he watched the man exit the train doors a couple of hours ago before he could report him, but I am quite certain I don’t recall the train even stopping. This sickens me greatly - he needs to be stopped before he does it again and to think he assaulted the stranger! It is disappointing indeed but unfortunately not a whole lot can be done, but he won’t win.

Around 8 we had some dinner, and I met a lady. She appeared very troubled and when I asked her what happened she claimed anxiety. Pish posh about sneaking into France from Europe to see her boyfriend because of the pandemic. There was something about her demeanor that caught my attention and then she indicated she too was traveling alone, but it isn't 1889 this I know!

That I determined was quite strange indeed and I told her to let us know if there's anything she needs. Than she walked away and a few minutes later approached me again, but this time she was with a man. They were asking if I was excited about going through the Alaskan mountains, and she exclaimed showing me her engagement ring.

Not long later I saw her them walking the opposite way and the kind stranger said they were headed to the same private room as the man who left. Something very peculiar and off if I might add, but perhaps I am just going a little bit mad. It crossed my mind I could snoop on my own and follow her to find if they were truly alone but go figure that I don't know.

12 am

I'm quite panicked I am unsure of what to do! When I went to the private room the door was locked and the stranger did not open it when I knocked. I had been using the powder room, but he said he'd be at the bar. When I was finished I didn't see him at all close nor far. A few moments later I felt someone watching me only to look up and see a man looking this way.

He was staring at me from the other train car, and I could tell he was smoking. His cigar was familiar as was his mustache and alas! From across the street to across the glass. Of course I look a world different, but he must know that it is me. Otherwise why would he stare even though the kind stranger gave me some glasses and a hat.

I am startled and I can't ask the kind stranger if he is the guy who attacked him because he is nowhere near. I didn't think to ask him before as I naturally assumed it was the same person, but it could be that there is two! Oh I don't know what to do- but if I stay here and give the kind stranger time than perhaps everything will be fine. As long as he is by my side I am sure that I am safe.

5 am

I fell asleep and when I woke up the man from across was smoking a cigar sitting next to me reading a newspaper and drinking a warm brew. When he saw me wake up askew he put his finger to his lips and signaled my silence. He winked at me with a playful look in his eye and whispered softly,

“Relax”

I stared out of the window in quite terror for a while before I opened my journal again. Whatever is going on I am unsure, and I am questioning, what was off about the other lady? I wanted to ask but instead I reluctantly scooted myself closer to the glass. I wish I knew what to do I am very tired and completely helpless so I guess I’ll keep staring out the window and let time slowly pass. Until the kind stranger makes his way back.

Any question I had have been answered although. It isn’t hard for me to tell and now that I know. Certainly the guy who was watching me at the café must have drugged my sweat tea, but how could this possibly be? For they know of who I am, and they would never do such a terrible thing, but there is no other explanation.

4 pm

Quite a lot has happened since I last wrote. The kind stranger came back and picked the newspaper guy up by the throat. He is quite a strong and courageous bloke. I am amazed and I would be lying if I didn’t say that I feel some sort of way. Admitting this to myself really only made me feel sort of alone, and I will no longer give it another thought this I know.

Finally a stewardess called the security after seeing this ordeal and the kind stranger went on to explain. There wasn't much the across the way man could say as he muttered and stuttered until eventually they believed the kind strangers explanation and took him in cuffs. Some witnesses helped protect me from this evil as they stated they saw him and that it seemed out of place, and they hadn’t seen his face around this train cart until he snuck up on my while I was asleep.

7 pm

I must say it has been quite a relief no longer feeling watched, but I am curious as to the whereabouts of the other man and the woman. Her story sounded quite strange in comparison to that of my own and at no avail to me to understand where it is she actually came from. It is almost as they she was associated somehow, but now they have gone and are nowhere to be found. I even spotted a brooch she was wearing somewhere on the ground.

If they were involved it would only make sense, and it was not until she came out and spoke with me that I noticed the across the way man, and so I must conclude she had something to do with his plan and feel tense. Although none of this truly helps me understand why someone had tried taking me thousands of miles away from home.

When I questioned the old security man on the matter told me these words exactly,

"You're guess is as good as mine ma'am, and when I find out more I'll come give you a ring.."

I went on to explain they stole me from home before I wound up here, and he looked at me sideways. Beyond taking care of the man from across the way that snuck up on me when I was asleep he absolutely wasn’t any help but reassured me not to fear that police could be of more use.

10 pm

After dinner this evening with the kind and handsome stranger we both had drinks. I hate to admit that he has grown on me although I know practically nothing of him. When he showed me a picture of his family he kept trailing on about how much he missed them I felt a tear in my eye. Very happy for him that he will be reunited with them after his business trip I won’t lie.

The picture-perfect family moment of them in the mountains, and I almost imagined that was me. For a second I felt the whiskey I drank in celebration of my safety sitting warm on my stomach and tingling on my tongue. In that very moment I closed my eyes and I pictured myself pulling him in for a welcome home kiss.

Suddenly I realized that I was missing something, or someone. When I opened my eyes again he was dazing at me curiously almost confused, and silently I nodded my head in agreement. Yet I have no idea what he said, and I am sure my eyes were glistening as I stared at the scar below his lip as I took another sip.

Everything that he helped saved me from, but yet there was no way I can truly repay him. The heroic way that he risked his own safety and made sure I was okay, and yet there's no way I can show my thanks.

Before he went to sleep he told me he would help me make sure that I got en route back home. Told me not to worry that all will be well soon. Even so much as generously offered a hotel stay for a night or two, and a first-class ticket back to where I came from.

My own private room just like the one that I am in now. I am in no position to decline such an offer, but I would modestly if I knew I could help myself get back. Though I am thousands of miles away from home inconvenienced by the atrocity of another man’s game for what gain? One escaped, and the other is without a doubt handcuffed sniveling about.

Kindly I accepted and thanked him a million.

12 am

The moon is full outside of the glass window and where we are passing through looks different than all of the rest. There is a fog amongst and a body of water. It is an ominous scene I won’t lie still I will not complain, but it gives me an uncomforting feeling. I swear I saw a man by a dock, but perhaps I am better if I quite writing.

10 am

Breakfast today was quiet, and I got many blaming looks from the people around me. It is almost as if they assume I am something of a topic with the kind stranger. The older couple raised their eyebrows at me, and honestly I have been avoiding conversation. I've been keeping my eye out for the other lady whose stories were not of the same, but she has been out of sight.

The kind stranger has been unusually quiet and kept to himself practically all day today and I've been thinking about it. He let me borrow his phone again did I not mention before? and I've been making more calls, but still as before none of them are going through. I'm not sure if it was something that I said, or because I looked at him in the wrong way but he isn't the same, and I surely can't blame him.

I've been staring out of the glass and my tired reflection is a sight for sore eyes, but the snow, the mountains, and oh the trees.. The kind stranger took a Kodak out and although I tried using it well none of them did justice to the beauty. While my cameras' at home collecting dust I can confidently say that although the trip has been a minor inconvenience at least I can say I've had the most splendid view.

2 pm

The kind stranger brought me a cup of decaf coffee and sat down to have a word with me. Told me it has been an honor helping someone in such dire need. Unfortunately he mentioned his family again, but said it in a different wind,

"If I didn't have a wife and children at home.. Most certainly you are someone I would love to get to know..."

I found it funny really, and I am certain I blushed.. I told him don't be silly! Even lied and said I was already madly in love...So dear journal hush.. The look in his eyes didn't change a bit, and I won't lie it didn't fit. Well anyways I am very tired might try and catch a cat nap in before the train comes to its final stop. Did I say I don't believe it has stopped at all and I will have someone see to it that it does.

4 pm

I never did fall asleep, and the train still never stopped. I asked around and again peoples faces looked blank and I've been staring at the clock on the wall. Tick tock tick tock. The kind stranger has gone away again, and the private rooms door is locked so I have been unable of getting back in. My briefcase is in there so I hope he comes around soon since he disappeared suddenly out of the blue.

No one will come and no one will answer when I ask about the train, and it hasn't slowed down. It is all the same scene again when I look outside the window. It is like the road has been going on forever, and every time I look it appears the exact same. This train ride has troubled me and I am growing weary, and I certainly find it strange. Why hasn't it stopped yet?

Despite that I was informed that today would be the day I am going to forget about it, and this I will state. I am tired and hopefully the whistle blow of the train will wake me up and I will than know that it is finally time for me to get off and be one step closer to the place I call home. These blank empty faces around me are driving me insane! When I asked the older couple they shrugged and turned away. Zzzz

Some time later...

Abruptly she woke up and took a deep breathe of fresh air. What appeared to be a complete stranger was shaking her shoulder gently and holding some ones and some coins. "Ma'am, ma'am.. Here is your change. You look tired would you like another fresh brew?" The waitress finally got her attention and she looked around dazed and confused. Her tea cup was empty and her journal was on her lap.

The bench that she was sitting in outside was swinging slightly in the wind and she quietly nodded her head. When she opened her eyes up completely she looked across the street. The guy that was reading his news paper was putting out his cigar finishing the last page of his paper. A familiar looking couple were looking at her giggling and she checked the time.

If she didn't leave within the hour she would be late picking up the cakes and getting to her reunion. "Make it an expresso" she said as the waitress walked away. The change that she had left was just enough for her shot and a small tip. She had another twenty in her car, but she wasn't going to grab it. Fully awake she realized she had been asleep for only ten minutes.

Parts of her dream were replaying in her head, but she was relieved that was all that it was and tried not to think about it. The panic, the confusion, the lovesickness and the loneliness lingered and something about her dream made her feel kind of alone, but she shrugged.

At one point she was the talk of the town, and besides being able to see her old friends excited her. Her waitress brought her her drink and she gave her back the change. "Thanks, and oh no doll that is for you!"

"Sure thing pretty thing." The waitress gave her a wink and walked away. She gathered her briefcase and her things and thanked her before walking to her car. The warm sun felt good with the summer sun and for once in years she was truly glad that she was home.

She stopped when she ran into a guy carrying a long black coat and fedora. The man was walking towards the man across the way reading his newspaper, and she gasped as he looked oddly familiar. A scar on his lip reminded her of the man in her dream and she dropped her open briefcase and her drink.

“I’m sorry miss,” He said helping her grab her belongings, and reached out his hand continuing, “Hello, my name is Carrter. I’m fixing to go meet with my brother Rylen over here if you’d like to say hi.”

The young lady blushed and took her hand back apologizing, “I’m so sorry! I best watch where I’m walking instead of staring at the sun..” she went on to shake her head and kindly decline, “Oh why thank you, that is mighty kind of you but no thank you sir. I’ve got somewhere that I must be.” He held her briefcase and smiled.

“I’ll give this back when you say yes.” He started walking away towards his brother, and looked back at her and winked. After a moment of hesitation she had no choice but to quickly follow after he grabbed her hand. Rylens' hand was on a gun as he was getting in his car and could feel the insatiable hunger and chuckled thinking quietly. This is the one for my brother and I.

Carrter helped her get in the back of the car acting naturally and coy. The young lady looked around in awestricken panic unsure what to do as he held her briefcase. In it was nothing of true value, but it was like she was under a spell. All she could think about was the man in her dream, and the way that it had all seemed.

Picture Credit #1

Photo Credit #2

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Ruby Estelle

Im Kezia, Family oriented & fun, loving, nature, people, music & animal lover. photographer, writer, cook, artist, lover & creator! I aspire world venture, vlogging, making a foundation, having a positive impact & inspiring you💕

🙏🌍🌏🌎☮️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.