Fiction logo

Please Let's Try

The Entreaty

By Sara FrederickPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
3

“But I love you,” she said, her stare direct, unwavering.

“No,” he responded simply, turning away to avoid her gaze.

“Please, let’s just try.” Her tone was anxious and worried; she was losing.

“No.” His single word repeated, straight, short, and swift, cut her deeply.

“O.K. then,” was all she could think to say. Her strategy of begging failed. Disheartened and frustrated she did the only thing left to do.

-

“Won't eat your peas? I guess it's time for a nap." Then settled him into the crib and shut the door.

family
3

About the Creator

Sara Frederick

I often write about broken or damaged beings. But I love, love. I believe everyone, person or creature, deserves love and acceptance. Thank you for reading.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    I loathed peas as a child. Nothing would make me eat them 🤣

  • Who doesn't love peas? Peas & corn are the candies of the vegetable family! Loved the story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.