Fiction logo

Play Ball

An unbalanced micro fiction story

By Oneg In The ArcticPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
14
Play Ball
Photo by TJ Dragotta on Unsplash

“Your aim sucks dude”

“Yeah well your shorts be whack”

“What’re you even saying? They’re my lucky breakaways, just pass the ball”

I catch it and dribble twice before attempting a free throw. It’s way off. Hector snickers behind me.

“That ball be the only thing breaking away homie”

“Shuddup.”

I retrieve the ball and set up from my last spot again. Aim, shoot, miss.

Again.

Aim, shoot, miss.

“Man, this is boring watching you fail. I’m out”

Before I have a chance to say anything, Hector yanks my shorts down and bolts.

Aim, shoot, score.

Guess they were whack.

Humor
14

About the Creator

Oneg In The Arctic

A storyteller and poet of arctic adventures, good food, identity, mental health, and more.

Co-founder of Queer Vocal Voices

Some other rad writers to check out:

James ❄️ TheDaniWriter ❄️ Melissa

RiverJoy ❄️ J. Delaney-Howe ❄️

Water is Life ✊

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writer12 months ago

    This was great 😊

  • Shane Dobbie12 months ago

    *insert balls joke here*

  • Does he take them with him for long-term exposure, or leave them for merely a few moments of indignity?

  • Very funny ending to bring the banter full circle.

  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    Hahaha, 🤣😂I had a feeling the shorts was coming down at some point ,lol

  • Melissa Ingoldsby12 months ago

    ❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.