Fiction logo

Pixie Flower Patrol

A Springtime Flower Fantasy

By Laura DePacePublished 2 months ago 3 min read
4
Image by Laura DePace

Mother Nature scattered the warming ground with signs of Spring, but I needed a sign to know what to do next.

It was my first day of Pixie Flower Patrol, my big chance to get out of Pixie Fern Tending. Fern Tending was boring. Flower Patrol, on the other wing, was so exciting! I wanted to do a really spectacular job, so I would be able to stay with Flowers.

I was only here because my cousin’s friend, Kalanchoe, had injured a wing, crashing into a newbie who wasn’t watching where she was flying. Kalanchoe was out on bedrest for two weeks. The newbie, Cleome, was demoted to Grass Herd, poor thing! Kalanchoe asked my cousin, Dianthus, to step up for her, but Dianthus was working on curing a large patch of Phlox, which she didn’t want to leave, so she recommended me.

“Mirabilis!” The shout made me flutter. I looked up to see Gazania, Chief Flower Designer, zooming towards me. “What are you doing here? Aren’t you on Fern Tending?”

“Yes, Ma’am! I mean, no, Ma’am,” I stammered. Taking a deep breath and straightening my wings, I clarified, “I’m covering for Kalanchoe, Ma’am.”

“You?” Gazania asked skeptically. “I thought she had asked for Dianthus.”

“Yes, Ma’am,” I continued, “but Dianthus couldn’t leave the Phlox she was tending, so she asked me to step in. I’m happy to help out.”

Gazania sighed. “Well, I suppose you’ll have to do,” she mumbled doubtfully, with a dark look at me.

“Let’s see what you’ve got!” Gazania alighted delicately beside me. “What would you recommend for this area?” she challenged, gesturing gracefully at the area around us. It was dotted with lovely lilac blossoms. She looked at me expectantly.

I looked around, taking my time. Thinking, Don’t screw this up! Come up with something brilliant! Something that makes it sound like you know what you’re doing!

“Some lovely, delicate white Alyssum would set off the lilac color beautifully,” I said thoughtfully. “And the bees would be pleased, you know how they love Alyssum.”

I glanced over at Gazania, measuring her response to my suggestion. She was nodding thoughtfully. Good! I thought. Great start!

“Good choice,” she agreed, sounding a bit surprised that I had chosen so well. “It’s important to keep the bees happy. And Alyssum does smell pretty, especially the white ones. Go on.”

“A yellow would look lovely, too,” I continued, watching Gazania’s face. Time to show my respect for the master! I thought. “What would you suggest for a good yellow?” I inquired deferentially.

She seemed pleased to be asked for guidance.

“I am fond of Creeping Jenny,” she replied thoughtfully. “It’s such a cheerful little thing, and those evergreen leaves - so prettily round - would dress up the place, even when it’s done flowering. And it does have a nice, long flowering time.”

“Yes,” I agreed. “Creeping Jenny would be an excellent complement.”

Gazania smiled and nodded to me approvingly. “What else?” she prompted.

So far, so good! I thought. Just wrap it up, now.

“Something tall…” I mused. Gazania waited. My attention was caught by the golden necklace she wore, depicting a daisy chain.

“Daisies,” I stated confidently. “Daisies would be lovely.”

Gazania beamed at me. “Daisies! Perfect!” she applauded, clapping her wings together.

Yes! I thought jubilantly. I did it! Goodbye, Fern Tending! Flower Patrol, here I come!

“Oh, Mirabilis!” Gazania cooed. “I think you are going to work out just fine! Shall we get started?”

Together we flew over the landscape, beautiful flowers - my selection of beautiful flowers! - springing up everywhere we touched.

Gazania bowed to me with new-found respect when we finished. “Well done, Mirabilis! Welcome to Flower Patrol! May you always grow and flourish!”

Fantasy
4

About the Creator

Laura DePace

Beaches and mountains, quiet forests and sleepy gardens, stormy nights and sunny days, full moons and starry skies, sunrises and sunsets. Joy, sorrow, love, and life. These call to me, and I wish to tell their stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    This was a lovely tale, whimsical and gentle. I love the fact that the characters are named after flowers.

  • D. A. Ratliff2 months ago

    I love this!!! I was flitting around the garden with them! You painted a beautiful scene!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.