Fiction logo

PIT

By: Lee Wyatt

By Lee WyattPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
4

Many began this journey.

Now only me.

The forest beckoned.

We came seeking revelation.

They only found death.

What would I find?

Inviting me deeper.

Thorned vines restrain and tear flesh.

Hands and knees, crawling, unable to see before me.

Clawing, desperate to escape.

Hands finding the cool edge of stone.

Pulling myself up, I tremble.

Staring into nothingness…

The Pit.

Engulfing my light.

Something below glimmering.

I must know.

Repelling down…

Never-ending.

Out of rope… too weak.

Letting go, falling into forever.

Fluttering wings…

Arms embrace me.

Lips whisper.

“Your faith is rewarded.”

The knife plunges.

Peace.

Microfiction
4

About the Creator

Lee Wyatt

I like to create... with words, whether it be in song or story form.

From PA > CA and everywhere outside and in-between.

Contact: [email protected]

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • ThatWriterWoman12 months ago

    This gave me goosebumps!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.