Fiction logo

Persistent journaling for six months has changed me

What have I gained in these six months of journaling?

By Gloria TurnerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Persistent journaling for six months has changed me
Photo by lilartsy on Unsplash

To be honest, I used to hate writing in my diary because I thought it was a time-consuming and meaningless thing to do. I suddenly found that journaling was a very healing thing that helped me to look at my past self and record the details of things, even if sometimes I felt that every day was the same and repetitive, but when I opened my past journal I would find that every day was different and that every day was changing.

When I look back at the first six months of my diary, I see my first income and expenses, and when I see all the things I did for the first time, I see things I never tried before being tried one by one and recorded, it is a wonderful feeling and makes my life a lot more meaningful. It covers my thinking, my courage, my ignorance, and my progress.

Before I bought this journal, I thought I would never finish it, but to my surprise, after only half a month, I have already finished most of it, and I simply record the mood of the day, the weather, and some things that happened.

Thoreau once said, "Just facts, names, and dates can convey more information than we think."

I have been keeping a journal for six months now, and I have found that I have fallen deeply in love with journaling. A journal is more than just a diary; it has helped me gain mental independence. I originally thought that I would never forget things as long as I experienced them myself, but I found many things in my former diary that I had forgotten. That's when I realized that there are many things that if I don't write them down, I will just forget them.

A diary is an important tool that will help us preserve these memories. We don't necessarily keep a diary to learn and get ahead, it carries its meaning, why do we keep a diary? And who is our audience? Not anyone, just our future selves, so when we are silent, we will not feel how precious the good material conditions are again, but those little things, the people who appear in our memory, the difficulties we have experienced, the food we have eaten, etc., these experiences are worthy of our recollection, although our memory is limited, the diary can always be trusted, the diary is the path of our life.

We can become better precisely because we can look back on the problems we have encountered, and it is for this reason that we must admit that we have grown in our ignorance.

And there is another most important reason for me to write a diary because it can record my worries, and when I am in a bad mood, I can choose to go to a diary and confide in myself, and I believe that there is no one in the world who knows myself better than I do and that a diary will not laugh at me, will not criticize me, and will not betray me, so I believe in my diary, and it can bring me great relief.

It's a spiritual catharsis, and journaling is a very healing activity. Maybe many years from now when I look at this journal, I'll realize that I was once so torn up over such a little thing, isn't that fun? Journaling will help me understand myself better, it will help me know how to love myself, and it will help me clarify my thoughts.

The best way to stick with journaling is to think of it not as a task, but as a friend.

When we are happy, a journal is a friend we can share our happiness with. When we are sad, the diary is a friend we can talk to. The diary is our most faithful listener and we can say whatever we want in front of it. We don't have to care about how well we write, maybe about the format, content, and length.

And here's the kicker: we don't want to criticize ourselves, but rather accept and understand ourselves in the process of journaling. What is the purpose of keeping a journal? The most important reason is to be able to accept ourselves.

So we have to come into the unknown with courage, and also to forgive ourselves for what we have been unwilling to face, accept things that we cannot change, and change what we can change.

Journaling is the beginning of self-healing and a goal to be persevered with. I hope we can all discover our strengths, find some surprises and gain great power on the way to growth.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Gloria Turner

Love to read and write

Like to travel, love life

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.