Fiction logo

Pen and Perseverance: Jake’s Quest for a Winning Story

Overcoming obstacles and achieving success as a young writer

By Mark Randall HavensPublished about a year ago 13 min read
Like
AI-generated image by Maven Shark Media

To my dear son, Jack,

I dedicate this short story to you, my creative and adventurous little boy. Your love of role-playing and storytelling brings me so much joy, and I am constantly amazed by your imagination and enthusiasm for role playing games. May this story bring you even more delight as you embark on new adventures and explore the many worlds that lie within your own mind.

With love,

Your dad,

Mark Randall Havens

Sunday, December 18, 2022

Chapter I

“Okay, class, I have an exciting announcement to make,” said Ms. Thompson, my English teacher, as she stood at the front of the room with a big smile on her face. “We’re going to be working on a short story project for the next few weeks. This is your chance to let your creativity shine and come up with your own unique and interesting story.”

I couldn’t contain my excitement. I’ve always loved telling stories, and this was the perfect opportunity to share my ideas with others. But as I looked around the classroom, I saw that my classmates all seemed to have great ideas already. I couldn’t think of a single thing to write about.

“So, who has an idea for their story?” Ms. Thompson asked, scanning the room with a hopeful expression.

Everyone raised their hand, except for me. I sat there feeling like I had nothing to offer.

“Jake, how about you? Do you have an idea for your story?” Ms. Thompson asked, turning her attention to me.

I shook my head, feeling a twinge of anxiety. “I don’t know, Ms. Thompson. I just can’t seem to come up with anything good.”

Ms. Thompson smiled and patted my shoulder. “Don’t worry, Jake. You have plenty of time. Just keep thinking and something will come to you. You never know, you might come up with a plot twist that no one else has thought of before.”

But as the weeks went by, I found myself no closer to coming up with an idea for my short story. I spent hours in my room, trying to come up with something, anything, that would set my story apart from the rest. But no matter how hard I tried, I just couldn’t seem to find my creative spark. I began to doubt my ability as a writer and started to feel overwhelmed by the assignment.

As I sat at my desk, staring at the blank page in front of me, I couldn’t help but feel a sense of desperation. My fingers tapped impatiently on the keyboard, trying to conjure up even a glimmer of inspiration. But no matter how hard I tried, my mind remained stubbornly blank.

“Why can’t I come up with anything?” I muttered to myself, feeling frustrated and overwhelmed. “Am I really cut out to be a writer?”

Just when I was about to give up, my older sister, Sarah, knocked on my door. “Hey, Jake, can I come in?” she asked.

I sighed and threw my pen down on my desk. “I don’t know, Sarah. I’m just having a really hard time with this short story project.”

Sarah gave me a reassuring smile. “Jake, I know it can be tough, but don’t give up. You’re a great writer, and I’m here to help you. Just tell me what’s going on and we’ll work through it together.”

I looked at Sarah, feeling a mixture of gratitude and embarrassment. She was a successful writer and I didn’t want to burden her with my problems. But I also knew that I needed her help.

“Okay, Sarah,” I said, taking a deep breath. “I just don’t know where to start. I feel like I have nothing interesting or unique to say.”

Sarah nodded, understanding. “That’s a common feeling for writers, Jake. But the most important thing is to just start writing. And when you’re stuck, try focusing on your characters. What makes them interesting and unique? What are their goals and motivations?”

As Sarah talked to me about character development and plot structure, I started to see things in a new light. With her help, I came up with a plan to overcome my writer’s block and bring my story to life. I was excited and hopeful, but also nervous. I knew that I had a lot of work to do and that I couldn’t let Sarah down.

“Thanks, Sarah,” I said, giving her a hug. “I couldn’t have done it without you.”

Sarah hugged me back. “Anytime, Jake. You’re a talented writer and I know you’re going to do great.”

I smiled and got to work, ready to bring my story to life. I knew that I had a lot of work to do, but I was determined to write a great short story. With Sarah’s help, I was confident that I could do it.

But as I sat down to write, I couldn’t shake the feeling of uncertainty. What if my story wasn’t good enough? What if my characters weren’t interesting or unique? These doubts kept creeping into my mind, making it hard for me to focus.

I took a deep breath and tried to push these thoughts aside. I knew that I had to trust in my own abilities and just write. I started to jot down ideas and sketch out my characters, hoping that things would start to come together. But as the deadline for the assignment approached, I couldn’t help but feel like I was running out of time.

Chapter II

I sat at my desk, staring at the character sheet in front of me. I had spent hours filling it out, trying to get a better understanding of my characters and their motivations. But as I looked at the sheet, I couldn’t shake the feeling that something was off.

“Jake, what’s wrong?” Sarah asked, noticing the look of frustration on my face. “Is there something you’re struggling with?”

I sighed, feeling overwhelmed. “I don’t know, Sarah. I thought I had a good handle on my characters and their motivations, but now I’m noticing all these inconsistencies and plot holes. I don’t know how to fix them.”

Sarah nodded, understanding. “It’s normal to encounter these kinds of issues when writing, Jake. But don’t worry, we can work through them together. Just take a step back and try to see the bigger picture. What’s the overall arc of your story? What do you want your characters to achieve?”

I listened as Sarah spoke, trying to absorb her words. She was right, I needed to take a step back and see the bigger picture. I took a deep breath and tried to focus on my story, determined to overcome this obstacle.

“Okay, Jake,” Sarah said, “now that you have a better understanding of your characters, let’s focus on the world they inhabit. This is called ‘worldbuilding’, and it involves creating a detailed and realistic world for your characters to inhabit, complete with its own history, culture, and laws.”

I raised an eyebrow, skeptical. “That sounds like a lot of work, Sarah. I don’t know if I have the time or energy for that.”

Sarah chuckled. “Trust me, Jake, worldbuilding is a crucial aspect of storytelling. It helps to flesh out your characters and plot and makes your story feel more realistic and immersive. Plus, it’s a lot of fun! Just give it a try and see how it goes.”

I hesitated for a moment but then decided to give it a shot. I pulled out a blank piece of paper and started sketching out my world, trying to think of all the different details that would make it feel real and alive. As I worked, I found that I was getting more and more into it, and before I knew it, hours had passed.

“Wow, Jake, this is really good!” Sarah said, looking over my shoulder. “I can see how much thought and effort you put into this. Keep up the good work!”

I smiled, feeling proud of what I had accomplished. Maybe Sarah was right, I thought to myself. Maybe worldbuilding was the key to bringing my story to life.

I sat at my desk, staring at the screen in front of me. The words on the page seemed to blur together, and I couldn’t focus on anything. My mind was consumed by the conflict in my story. Sir Nicholas, my main character, was being pursued by a powerful and mysterious sorcerer who wanted to use his unique abilities for his own evil purposes. I had to find a way to protect Sir Nicholas and keep him safe from the sorcerer’s grasp, but I had no idea how to do it.

“Ugh, this is impossible,” I muttered to myself, rubbing my temples. “I can’t come up with a solution.”

“What’s wrong, Jake?” Sarah asked, poking her head into my room. “You look like you’re about to pull your hair out.”

I sighed and explained the situation to her. “I just don’t know what to do. Sir Nicholas is in serious danger, and I have no idea how to keep him safe. It’s like I’m stuck in a rut and can’t move forward.”

Sarah sat down next to me and put a comforting arm around my shoulders. “It’s okay, Jake. Writing can be tough, but you can’t give up now. You’re a talented and creative writer, and I know you’ll find a way to overcome this obstacle. Just keep working at it, and don’t be afraid to ask for help if you need it.”

I nodded, feeling a bit better. Sarah was right, I couldn’t give up now. I had to keep going and find a way to protect Sir Nicholas.

Chapter III

“Come on, Jake, you can do this,” I muttered to myself, my fingers flying over the keyboard as I tried to keep up with the intense action.

I could feel my heart racing as I frantically searched for a way to defeat the sorcerer and protect Sir Nicholas. “I’m trying, but this sorcerer is more powerful than I thought,” I thought to myself, my mind racing as I tried to come up with a solution.

The pressure was mounting and I just hoped that I would be able to find a way to overcome this obstacle and bring my story to a satisfying conclusion. But as I sat there, staring at the screen, I couldn’t shake the feeling that I wasn’t good enough. “What if I can’t do this?” I thought to myself, feeling overwhelmed by self-doubt. I wasn’t sure if I had what it took to write an epic showdown like this.

I took a deep breath and tried to push these negative thoughts aside. I knew that I had to keep going, no matter how difficult it seemed. I was the only one who could bring Sir Nicholas and the kingdom to safety, and I couldn’t let my own fears stand in the way.

With renewed determination, I focused all of my energy on the task at hand and continued writing, hoping that my words would be enough to save the day.

“Come on, Jake, you can do this,” I muttered to myself as I frantically tried to save my work on the computer. But no matter how many times I hit the save button, the screen just froze and refused to cooperate.

“Great, just what I needed,” I groaned, slamming my laptop shut in frustration. I leaned back in my chair and took a deep breath, trying to calm my racing thoughts. I had to finish this story, I couldn’t let all of my hard work go to waste.

But as the minutes ticked by, I started to feel the weight of the deadline looming over me. I had to find a way to overcome these setbacks and get back on track.

“Maybe I should just start over,” I said aloud, running my hands through my hair. But as I considered it, I knew that wasn’t an option. I had put too much time and effort into this story to give up now.

“There has to be a way,” I told myself, determined to find a solution.

As I work on the final draft of my story, I find myself facing more and more obstacles. My computer crashes, my notes get lost, and I can’t seem to find the right words to describe the intense action and emotion of the scene. I feel like I’m running out of time and start to doubt that I’ll be able to finish my story in time for the deadline.

“Jake, you can do this,” Sarah says, encouragingly. “You’ve come so far already. Just focus on your characters and their motivations. Let the story flow from there.”

I take a deep breath and try to follow Sarah’s advice. With her help, I manage to overcome the obstacles and finish my story. I work late into the night, pouring all of my passion and creativity into the final draft. When I’m finished, I feel a sense of accomplishment and pride that I have never felt before.

As I stand in front of the class, holding my finished short story in my hands, I can hardly believe that I’m finally done. I’ve been working on this project for weeks, pouring my heart and soul into every word. And now, as I look out at the sea of faces in front of me, I know that it’s time to share my work with the world.

“Hi everyone, my name is Jake and this is my short story,” I say, trying to steady my voice.

“It’s called ‘The Battle for the Kingdom,’ and it’s about a brave knight named Sir Nicholas who must defeat a malevolent sorcerer in order to save his kingdom.”

As I begin to read, I can feel the tension in the room rising. My classmates are on the edge of their seats, hanging on every word. And when I get to the climactic battle scene, I know I have them hooked.

“Sir Nicholas and the sorcerer clashed swords, their magic colliding in a bright explosion of light,” I read, my voice growing more confident with each word. “It was a fierce and deadly battle, but Sir Nicholas was determined to come out on top. He fought with all his might, using every trick and tactic at his disposal. And in the end, he emerged victorious, the sorcerer vanquished and the kingdom saved.”

As I finish the last line of my story, there is a moment of stunned silence. Then, the room erupts into applause. I grin from ear to ear, feeling a sense of accomplishment and pride that I have never felt before.

“Wow, Jake, that was amazing!” one of my classmates exclaims. “I can’t believe you came up with all of that on your own.”

“Thanks,” I say, blushing with embarrassment. “I couldn’t have done it without the help of my sister, Sarah. She’s a great writer, and she taught me a lot about character development and plot structure.”

“Well, whatever you did, it worked,” another classmate says. “I’m going to have to start working on my story now if I want to stand a chance against you.”

I laugh and thank my classmates for their kind words. As I sit down, I know that I have finally proven to myself and others that I have what it takes to be a great writer. And I can’t wait to see what my next story will bring.

Short Storyfamily
Like

About the Creator

Mark Randall Havens

Mark Randall Havens is founder of Dallas Maker Community and Dallas Makerspace and was awarded a prestigious Ph.D. fellowship in recognition of his work in his community. Mark Havens holds an MS in Management and a BS in Computer Science.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.