Fiction logo

Pelted

I only stole what was already mine...

By Holly PheniPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2023
48
Image created with Dall E 2

“Alora!” he grunted through the shirt I’d used to gag him.

Soryn held the conch shell to his face; Calla bound his hands.

Gray’s eyes widened with something new: fear. He feared us, after all.

I felt no compassion for our captor – none that overwhelmed what I held for the girlchild dancing in my belly. Bring her home.

Soryn’s voice snapped me back. “Go! Before the storm is gone!”

Memories of capture flashed like lightning as I raced to the cache. A chest of wood -- was that all? No lock on its lid, yet inside: everything.

He thought he’d won.

Once I’d learned she was a girl, I’d known she’d be like us.

“Your daughter won’t be born prisoner to a brute,” Soryn whispered, pressing her forehead to mine as I’d wept. The more he stole, the more powerful he felt. We’d agreed; it was time to reclaim what was ours. No more fear.

Calla helped carry the box to the beach. Soryn flew down the stairs, Gray’s screams echoing from above.

Our sleek pelts glistened under the rainfall. We joined the angry sea, home at last in our skin.

Selkies. Free.

FantasyMicrofictionAdventure
48

About the Creator

Holly Pheni

This page is for dreamchasing, adventure, and catharsis. Hope my musings connect with others out there.

Blog: flyingelephantmom.com

Creators I'm Loving:

Gina Jori Heather Dharrsheena Tiffany Babs

Cathy Misty Caroline Rick Mike Lonzo Scott

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (31)

Sign in to comment
  • Negomi Oak Rhetts11 months ago

    The story of the Selkie is my favourite folk tale! This is a great post and I love the artwork. Well done on your Top Story :)

  • K. C. Wexlar11 months ago

    Bravo - such a scene in so few words. Congrats on a top story!!

  • Mark Graham11 months ago

    Love this bit of microfiction and I want to read more of this story. Please continue it.

  • Grz Colm11 months ago

    Terrific prose. Congrats on your top story! 👍😊

  • Congratulations on your Top Story ❤️💯🎊

  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    I really enjoyed reading your story! Congratulations on the TS.

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    Love this!!! You did such a brilliant job at painting the desperation and the resolve in this enchanting micro story. Fantastic work! Congratulations on Top Story :)

  • Harmony Kent11 months ago

    Fantastic, Holly. You’ve brought the ancient in folk tale to the modern era. This gripped me from start to finish. A thoroughly well deserved Top Story 💕🙂

  • Veronica Coldiron11 months ago

    Congratulations on the top story! I can see why! And I LOVED your song choice. This was awesome!

  • JBaz11 months ago

    Wow, from the opening li e to the very end. Captivating Congratulations

  • Dana Stewart11 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    What a strong narrative voice! This was riveting. It felt like a modern folktale, yet ancient at the same time. Your characters feel so grounded and real; I'm envious of your ability to create them so fully in so few words. This is wonderful writing. I'm so glad this got Top Story, or else I wouldn't have discovered your profile! Going to binge read your stuff now...😏😝

  • Heidi McCloskey11 months ago

    Such a great story!

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    Oh this is all kinds of awesome, Holly! Great entry with a fantastic use of folklore! Love love love it! Congrats on Top Story!

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Brilliant!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Congratulations on your Top Story

  • I loved this. I did have to google selkies lol the writing matched the music very well! You really captured the rhythm of it in your prose

  • Tiffany Gordon 11 months ago

    Beautifully done!

  • Gorgeous writing, well done! I love that they were selkies, I didn't expect that :D xx

  • This was very interesting. An abduction for freedom. There's a good amount of symbolism in this.

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    Holly, this is amazing! I love your Selkies so much -- you did a wonderful job! This is such an awesome entry :)

  • R. J. Rani11 months ago

    A beautifully empowering story 🥰 I love how many layers deep this story can go and bravo on the first line! I read it over and over to enjoy the image!

  • Selkies! How wonderful! I'm so happy they got away and are free now! Loved your story!

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    A wonderful tale and a great entry for the challenge. I love the way you depicted the Selkie!

  • Ian Read11 months ago

    This is a great rendition of the tales of the Selkie. I always love when people use folklore in creative new ways that keep the spirit of the older stories, and you did that well!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.