Fiction logo

Pear Custard

The first story in my Bake at 350° series.

By Laura GrayPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like
Pear Custard
Photo by David deLeon on Unsplash

Step 1. Gather your ingredients.

-Two days before the County Fair-

My best friend Jenna was waiting in her car. We had a gal's date planned at Yoder's and it couldn't have come at a better time. I ran down my driveway and slid into her passenger seat. After a quick hug, Jenna took off.

Yoder's was Yoder Farms, a fruit grove specializing in pears, but also an open-air market where you could purchase homemade baked goods, jewelry, lawn geese outfits, and more.

An hour later, we pulled onto the Yoder Farms property.

Jenna joined me at the front of her car and we took off arm-in-arm, skipping up to the admissions stand to pay for a bag. For just $7.00, you were given a paper grocery bag and could take home as many fruits as you could stuff inside. They would even let you go over the top of the bag if you were polite.

"Look at this one right here!" Jenna cried out, almost as soon as we stepped into the grove. She took off running toward a tree with low-hanging, plump pears. When she touched the Bartlett it fell into her hand, causing her to squeal with delight.

I walked over to join her and filled half my bag with ripe, fresh pears. "I'm going to go look at the jewelry," Jenna said after we were done choosing fruits.

"Okay, Jen. I'm going to go check out the baked goods to see if I can get some inspiration."

"I don't know why you're worried," Jenna started. "You're an amazing baker!"

"I'm glad one of us thinks so. This is the first time the contest has been given a specific requirement and of course it's one that I've never even baked with in my life." Jenna gave me a reassuring pat on the arm then scurried off. I chuckled, heading in the opposite direction.

"Care to sample the most delicious pear tart this side of the Mason-Dixon?"

I glanced around to see who was talking. On the opposite side of a long table stood the most gorgeous man, wearing a burnt orange, Henley style shirt that did nothing to hide his physique, and a pair loose Levi's. I stepped closer.

"How much?"

"Samples are free, ma'am," he smiled. I smiled in return, unable to tear my eyes away. "Tarts are $3 a piece," he added. "But we also have pearsauce, pear crisp, baked pears topped with Yoder's homemade vanilla ice cream..."

"I'll try the tartlet," I interrupted politely. Our fingers brushed as I accepted the small plate, the touch lingering long after he pulled his hand away. A quick glance told me he'd still felt the touch as well.

The tartlet was a perfect blend of sweet pear and citrus, with notes of honey and cinnamon. The crust, a dense sugar cookie, was every bit as perfect as the filling. I closed my eyes, further savoring the next bite. "This is delicious!" I crowed, finally opening my eyes.

"Thank you," he said sincerely, his smile reaching his blue eyes. "Benjamin Yoder," he extended his hand, introducing himself. "Most people call me Benji."

Step 2. Preheat to 350°

"Alexis," she said, taking my hand. Her skin was soft and I yearned to feel more. Instead, I shoved my hands deep into the pockets of my jeans.

"Do you mind if I look around?" she asked.

"Not at all," I replied, propping a hip on my bar stool. I watched her walk around, carefully scrutinizing everything. Her dark brown hair fell loosely to her waist and my hands itched to comb through the locks.

As if sensing my desire, she reached up, deftly twisting her hair around before securing it behind her head. My body's reaction startled me; I shifted.

Her kiwi-colored eyes found mine minutes later. "I think I'd like a tartlet," she said.

"Yes ma'am," I replied, pushing off the stool.

I plucked a to-go container from beneath the table and slid the best looking tartlet inside. "How many would you like?"

"Oh, um, two please. My friend Jenna would love this! Not that you care, sorry," she chuckled in a shy, self-deprecating way, a faint rose color rising to her cheeks. She was as cute as ever and I couldn't look away.

"Can I get you anything else?" I offered, less from out of politeness and more out of not wanting her to leave.

"No, that's all," she said softly. Her eyes focused intently on my face and for the first time since I was a gangly high school boy talking to his first crush, I felt nervous.

"It's on the house," I said quickly, as she took a few bills from her phone case.

"Oh! Are you sure?" she asked unsurely, as I set the container inside a plastic bag with the Yoder Farms logo.

"Absolutely," I smiled. "Don't get too many beautiful ladies gushing over a simple tart. Grannies, yes," I trailed off, smiling. Her cheeks turned pink again and she laughed, as I'd hoped she would. She folded the excess plastic bag around the container, setting it carefully inside her paper bag.

"Thank you, Benji," she said softly. She hesitated for a second, looking like she wanted to say something else, but then moved down the row, meeting up with another lady who I guessed to be the friend. She stole a quick glance back that had my heart beating.

Step 3. Arrange your ingredients.

-The day of the County Fair-

After washing the pears I'd be using, I gathered up the remaining ingredients to make the custard I'd chosen to present to the judges of the County Fair. I turned on the oven and set about peeling and slicing the fresh pears I'd picked two days ago, arranging them in the bottom of my pie pan. I measured and dumped the remaining ingredients into my blender, turned it on low until the ingredients were mixed, then increased to medium speed until everything was blended thoroughly.

I carefully poured the mixture over the pears and with a quick prayer, slid the pan into the oven, setting the timer for 45 minutes.

Step 4. Bake.

While the custard was baking, I ran upstairs to get ready. My pink and gray snapback shirt was ironed and ready to go; I pulled on a pair of blue jeans and cowboy boots, French braided my hair, and tucked in my shirt. I still had some time to spare before the custard came out, so I grabbed my phone to text Jenna.

When the timer went off, I jumped up and carefully slid the custard from the oven. It looked and smelled fantastic; only time would tell if it tasted just as wonderfully.

Step 5. Dust with powdered sugar.

I set the custard on the judge's table, and removed a small bag of powdered sugar from my cross-body purse. I opened the bag in front of the monitoring judge then used a miniature sieve to dust the sugar on top of the custard. I filled out the entry card and tucked it beneath the pan then met up with Jenna to walk around the fairgrounds.

As the time for judging drew near, I was thrumming with nervous excitement. "Girl, you're making me nervous," Jenna laughed.

"Sorry, I'm just... giddy! Even if I don't place, do you know how good it feels to have baked for people again?!"

Jenna looped her arm in mine, laughing, and we headed for the animal barns. There were so many cute bunnies, piglets, baby goats, and even a row of chinchillas! After taking time to pet each animal, we headed to the next barn over to view the crafts.

Beautiful quilts lined the walls of several stalls, while others showcased prize-winning vegetables. The opposite side of the barn contained homemade jewelry and clothes, with various prize ribbons adorning the winners'.

"Judging for the bake-off will commence in five minutes. Repeat: judging for the bake-off will commence in five minutes."

"This is it!" Jenna squealed, grabbing my arm and dragging me to the barn where food dishes were being judged. I took a seat in the front row, Jenna right next to me. We exchanged excited grins as I focused my attention on the announcer.

"This year, we did something a little differently," the judging monitor from earlier began. "Instead of letting the bakers decide on any ol' dessert, we made the pear a mandatory ingredient. It didn't matter what was made as long as the pear was featured.

"To announce this year's winners, I'd like to introduce you all to the owner of Yoder Farms, and the leading sponsor of this year's fair, Mr. Benjamin Yoder!"

Step Six. Serve and enjoy!

The microphone was passed to me as I stepped out from behind a curtain. I walked to the edge of the small stage, only a foot off the ground, the overhead stage lights making it impossible to see more than three feet. "Thank you, Miss Molly. Yoder Farms was honored to sponsor the fair this year, to give back to the community by donating proceeds to this wonderful establishment.

"Now, ya'll don't want to hear me ramble on, so without further ado, let's announce this year's winners! Bakers, when I announce your name, please step forward to receive your prize.

"In third place, with a most fantastic pear crumble, Miss Darlene M.!" A lady approached the stage and I took a 3rd Place ribbon from Molly, handing it down to Darlene. She turned, smiling, and did a little bow toward the audience, then stepped aside for winners' photographs.

"Before I announce the second place winner, I want to say that first and second were only separated by one point. This was a very close call.

"Miss Shirley S., please come up here; your pear pie was utterly delicious! Your crust was so buttery; I ate every crumb." I shielded my eyes against the stage lights and saw a lady sitting on the outside of the third row rising. She looked a little surly as she accepted the 2nd Place ribbon, but plastered a smile on her face and joined Darlene M.

"Now, it is my pleasure to announce, with an amazing mix of creamy custard and perfectly baked pear, A. Colby!" A lady up front screamed and hugged the lady next to her. The second lady chuckled and stood. I stepped down off the stage, handing over the 1st Place ribbon just as the recipient gasped.

"Benji?!"

"Ms. Alexis Colby," I greeted, my heart quickening as I looked down at the pretty young woman I'd met only two days ago. "You are a fantastic baker!"

~*~*~

I accepted the blue ribbon from the proffered hand, smiling. Unlike the other day in casual clothes, Benji wore a black, wide brimmed cowboy hat, with a blue and black snapback shirt, snug fitting Wranglers, and black cowboy boots.

As I joined the two other winners, Benji turned back to the audience. "Let's give these lovely ladies a round of applause!" He turned, pushing his hat up slightly to wink, then moved to the judge's table handing the mic back. He waited until the winner's picture was taken, then walked up to me.

"Ms. Colby, would you care to join me for a ride on the Ferris Wheel?"

I caught Jenna's eye and she grinned, giving me two thumbs up. She disappeared in the disbursing crowd and I turned back to Benji.

"I'd like that," I replied, looking up at his smiling eyes. The sun was setting as we made our way to the rides, casting a beautiful orange and purple hue over the skies.

Benji held open the gondola door and I climbed in. He sat next to me, the tiny space forcing our bodies to touch from shoulder to hip, hip to knee. Conversation came easily as the ride began to move, and Benji and I spent the evening laughing and enjoying the other's company.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Laura Gray

Coffee gets me started; my toddler keeps me haggard.

I've always had a passion for writing but fear has stopped me from sharing my work with anyone. Vocal is my push to step out of my comfort zone.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.