Fiction logo

Patio Girls

At Sunshine Cafe

By sleepy draftsPublished 10 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - July 2023
27
Patio Girls
Photo by Aləx Buchan on Unsplash

Everything hurts. My phone's timer counts down the precious few minutes left on my break. My neck feels like a board, my lower spine feels crunched up into itself, and the balls of my feet feel like they're about to roll off. Say it Ain't So by Weezer goes off alerting me that it's time to punch back in. Sunshine Cafe's concrete floors aren't changing any time soon. I check my makeup in the bathroom before heading back out.

My mascara is starting to rub off under my eyes giving me a look of perpetual exhaustion. Curly hair pokes up around my head in the humidity despite the tight bun I wound it into this morning. No number of bobby pins stand a chance against this heat.

I wet my hands and try to slick back my hair a bit more. Now with the wet hair and the ringed eyes, I just look like Dracula. I try not to think about my tips.

Mags gives me a once-over. She calls me around the counter.

She tells me they aren't busy enough this afternoon and that they need to cut my shift. I look at the full patio. I don't argue.

I just wish I had known before I started my break. I would have left sooner.

Sunlight spills across a dozen other downtown patios. I sit at the one across from Sunshine. I know Mags won't come outside. She doesn't dare. It's why she hires so many gorgeous women. It's why my shifts keep getting cut.

I can't make myself look the way the other servers look. I don't know how they do it. They look dewy while I look oily. Their makeup doesn't run. They get hours.

I sip on my iced macchiato and glare through my sunglasses at Sunshine.

Not a cloud passes in the sky.

"Hey, Sara!"

By the time I look up, the metal seat at my table is being screeched back on its heels. I'm met face-to-pastry stain with a black Sunshine Cafe apron before I register it's Lina.

Lina and her sister, Delilah started at the cafe about six months after I did. I trained Lina. Mags trained Delilah. Mags always trains the ones she says have "real earning potential." Really meaning, that they're the servers most likely to get people through the door. Patio girls.

I train the grunt workers. Like me. The girls who serve the tables closest to the kitchen. We go back and forth between serving and helping out the line cooks. We don't say anything because getting fewer tips is better than no tips at all. Besides, all the patios want the same girls Mags does. If not at Sunshine, we'd be kitchen girls somewhere else. I'm sure of it.

Not Delilah.

Delilah would be put on any patio.

Lina sits down. "You get cut too?"

I nod. Lina doesn't take the hint. She orders a drink and stuffs her apron in her purse. "I knew this would happen. It always happens. Delilah doesn't get it, of course. She tells me, just put a little effort in. Ugh."

My body softens. I imagine how hard it must be getting ready next to someone who looks like Delilah every morning. I picture her perfectly straight, meticulously dyed pink hair and her dark doe eyes. Delilah never looked tired. Other than her hair, she hardly looked like she even tried at all. It made me want to scream.

I ask Lina, "How did you ever survive high school?"

Lina laughs, "If only you knew!"

I smile but I don't understand.

Lina shakes her head, "Delly lives her whole life by her looks. She goes to sleep early, juice cleanses, drinks tons of water, uses expensive skin cream and calls it allll self-care... but she still spends every morning and night inches away from the mirror obsessing over wrinkles. She started talking about botox last night as a 23rd birthday gift to herself. I think my mom almost cried."

She shrugs. "Yeah, Delilah gets tips. But she acts like it's her whole job to be pretty. Even at home."

Lina continues, "She cries more nights than I do. And her shifts get cut just as much as mine, really. No one can be the prettiest person on the patio every single day. There's always someone a little shinier, a little prettier."

I look at Lina and feel like I'm seeing her for the first time.

I ask, "So what do you do?"

Lina takes a sip of her drink. "You can spend all that time, money, and energy trying to get your turn. Or you can not play the game. Just talk to the girls. They're nice. Hell, I'm sure one of them will give you their patio shift every once in a while. Forget about Mags."

She smiles, "Dress up when you want to. Don't when you don't. The tips and hours will come either way. Besides, this is all just temporary, right?"

The job, the insecurity, the youth...

Lina's skin glows as the sun slowly drops. Her eyes shine from behind her bangs. Her cheeks flush from the drink. Mascara rings her eyes too but I only notice it now after I press myself to look for it.

I realize if I looked at Delilah's eyes, I'd probably find similar rings.

Lina pays for my drink. I try to stop her but she rolls her eyes. "We're all exhausted. What are friends for?"

Across the street, Delilah waves at us before starting to stack the patio chairs away for the night. Lina nudges me, "Why don't you come by and have a drink? We can all bitch about Sunshine together."

I wave back at Delilah.

I tell Lina wine is on me.

Short StoryLove
27

About the Creator

sleepy drafts

a sleepy writer named em :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (25)

Sign in to comment
  • Jordan Sky Daniels10 months ago

    It's amazing how one convo can sometimes change your whole outlook.

  • Antoinette L Brey10 months ago

    very realistic story

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    Nice friendship story

  • che clovis 10 months ago

    its interesting to have spend this few minutes reading a piece so revealing nice piece you have got here we hope for more

  • Hannah Moore10 months ago

    This is so easy to read, it feels effortless, but I love how big a shift in the protagonist's perception of her worl happens in such an ordinary chat.

  • This was an excellent piece of writing just a frustrated conversation over iced coffee. I can’t tell you how impressed I am. I could have sat down and read a whole novel based around this one interaction

  • Jhaika10 months ago

    Awesome telling of how an exchange can open your eyes to things that were always there but you just couldn't see it. Well done and congratulations!

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    This is so well done. I can picture the friends sitting together chatting. Congrats on the TS

  • Congrats on the top story! I really like this glimpse into this world with the fleshed out characters and interesting views from them in their industry. Really well done!

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    And there it is! Congratulations Em on Top Story!

  • Heyyy, 🎉💖 Congratulations on your Top Story❗❗❗❗

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Great dialogue! Congratulations on a well deserved Top Story!

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    Reminds me of when I used to bartend. The drama of behind-the-scene restaurant politics is real. This was a very well written story, Em. And congrats!

  • Catherine Dorian10 months ago

    This story reminds me of Lily King's Writer's and Lovers: the banality of working in the food service industry, coupled with the way that the narrator compares herself to the other servers and the instructive dialogue she has with Lila. It's the small things, like making a friend over your shared disappointment, that make working in a place like that in your twenties bearable.

  • Melissa Ingoldsby10 months ago

    Truly evocative and realistic dialogue and vivid descriptions! Well written!!! Congratulations on your top story! Keep up your excellent work

  • Maxwell Lord10 months ago

    Imressive

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    Yes!! Just saw that this is a Top Story. So very well deserved.

  • KJ Aartila10 months ago

    Such a great, well-written story. Enjoyable and relatable and honest. ❤️

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    There is so much reality in your words. The whole thing played out like I was watching a movie. Very well done.

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    Very thought provoking. The message comes off gradually, but with clarity and impact; I feel I’ll be thinking about this story all day, and beyond. Funny, the setting felt almost futuristic, the patio girls seeming almost so realistic, it was like an allegory you might encounter in a sci fi book. I really enjoyed that atmosphere! And great character work; they all felt tangible and like people I’d like to meet. 💜👏👏👏

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    That’s a powerful truth in a short story. I was friends with this Playboy model. Every man and woman who knew her was infatuated with her. We all wanted to be her, or be near her. She was sexy, pretty, and cute all at once. I traveled with her before because we were both freelance modeling, and the hours she put into her appearance was sobering. There were prestigious photographers who worked with her but turned me down. I will never forget when she made an offhand remark about me not needing to try. Something about natural beauty. And I just thought, I don’t have the energy to try! I didn’t want to be her anymore after that trip.

  • Oh poor Sara and Lina. I don't mind having my hours cut if I get to join them. They're so cool! Loved your story!

  • Tiffany Gordon 10 months ago

    What a beautifully-written slice of life! I could empathize with your main characters and their plights! Very well done Em! BRAVO! 😊

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    I was captivated with this story, great writing Em and fantastic character development. I empathized with Sara. And I’ve never considered the vanity of this perspective- but it’s true!

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Fabulous fun read!! Loving it!!!♥️♥️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.