Fiction logo

Paralyzing Darkness

Just Another Dream

By PaigePublished 4 months ago 2 min read
Like
Paralyzing Darkness
Photo by Cherry Laithang on Unsplash

I'm laying at the end of the yard, next to the roadside. Their is a wooded area across from me. It's night out and the stars are very visible above me. The yard is fimiliar. It's my childhood yard except the yard is longer and more sloped. I roll over and look up at the home at the top. It's similar but not quite the same as my childhood home but I want to get inside. I try to stand but can't. I can't feel my legs, I can't move them at all. So I start to shimmy my way up the yard. using my arms to pull myself forward. The grass is wet and dewy and I keep peeking behind me seeing the woods. At one point I look back and there is a small fire at the treeline as well. But nothing else.

I get half way up the yard and there's this strange frilled lizard running around about me. It's hissing and jumping at me, mouth opened. As I try to shew it away my mother opens the front door of the home and looks down at me in the yard. She doesn't seemed alarmed but annoyed. She shouts out, "You need to get inside in 10 minutes or it will be to late." Then she goes back inside and shuts the door. I'm finally able to sling the lizard away and it runs off but now I'm trying to shimmy faster up the hill. I'm out of breathe and my arms and lungs hurt but I need to get into that house.

I finally get just a foot or so away from the steps of the home but seem to be frozen in place. I can't seem to help looking at the right end of the house where the driveway starts. It's just darkness. I can't see anything but I know it sees me. I want so bad to get into that house but every time I reach toward the steps there's a deep growl coming from that darkness. It's not an animal or a person. It doesn't sound like any natural noise I've ever heard. I don't know what it is but I'm terrified of it. I'm so scared that I can't make myself move forward. It shakes me to my very core, like it's radiating through my soul. As I start to feel like it is about to pounce me from the darkness. I yell out as loud as could for my my mom. So loud that it wakes me from this nightmare because I did in fact yell it out in the waking world as well. The growl still ringing in my ears as I try to destinguish reality from a dream. A growl that threatened my wakeness and my dreams.

Stream of ConsciousnessPsychologicalMystery
Like

About the Creator

Paige

💖Trying to turn dreams into a reality.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.