Fiction logo

Painting A Heist

He wanted a piece of art, so he planned to get it

By Edward AndersonPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like
Painting A Heist
Photo by McGill Library on Unsplash

The screw was almost loose. I looked around and there were no guards walking the hallways of the museum. It wasn't a surprise, I'd cased the place for months before making my move. The only surprise was how few people actually came to see the beautiful artwork.

My eyes scanned the piece, a bird sitting on the greenest leaves that I'd ever seen. It was gorgeous. And it was worth a fortune. The estimate I got said that it could fetch up to $3 million. I was going to be living on Easy street once I finished this project.

Once I got the screws out, I lifted the frame and set it on the ground. No alarm. This was too easy. After I removed the painting, I rolled it up and placed it in a tube. A smile played on my face.

After leaving the museum, I headed to the art dealer that quoted me the price. I watched as he examined the piece, his face showed nothing. He seeemed impressed with my skill.

Then he spoke and said the last thing I expected to hear, "this piece is a fake, it's not worth the paper it was printed on."

Microfiction
Like

About the Creator

Edward Anderson

Edward has written hundreds of acclaimed true crime articles and has won numerous awards for his short stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.