Fiction logo

Overhead Plants

I had just found out that I had a problem with my eyes and was going to see a doctor

By Judith HodkiewiczPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Overhead Plants
Photo by John Mark Arnold on Unsplash

I have a secret. Seven days ago, I noticed that something seemed to be wrong with my eyes because I could see the leaves of various plants on other people's heads. I thought I was hallucinating, but then something happened to convince me that it wasn't a hallucination.

I had just found out that I had a problem with my eyes and was going to see a doctor. I overheard a man with blackened and withered leaves on his head, but the other man was a stronger man than me. Suddenly, the leaves on the man's head scattered as ashes like a fire, and then he simply fell to the ground. I stood by and watched nervously until the ambulance came and the doctor declared him dead. I cheekily went up to the doctor and asked him how he had died, and he told me that the man had died of cardiac arrest and that he suffered from a serious heart condition.

I returned home, my whole being in a bit of a trance, and of course, I didn't go back to the doctor. I can't be completely sure if the man's death had anything to do with the leaves I saw turning to ashes, but it could very well have been the case.

I felt like I didn't have a disease, but I had superpowers. In the following days, I took off work and observed different people in different places.

In kindergarten, the children had fresh and tender green leaves on their heads, which looked very pleasing to the eye, but there were a few people with rotting leaves on their heads. In the homes of the elderly, the leaves on the heads of the elderly are mostly yellow and black, the better the spirit of the elderly, the healthier the leaves on their heads. As for the patients in the hospital, most of the leaves on the top of their heads have various signs of mutilation or withering. More than once, I have seen patients die after their leaves have turned to ashes.

Since the leaves on people's heads are all different, I looked up information about those leaves on the Internet and found something very interesting.

If the head is topped with pepper kind of leaves, then the person's character is very hot, and does things straight; if the head is topped with similar to wheat kind of leaves, the person's character is quite honest and generous. As for myself, it is very strange that I do not have leaves on my head.
neighbor'sneighbor uncle died of an illness. I knew he had been in good health because I could often see him exercising. I was thus plunged into uneasiness and self-doubt. Did I now have to depend on another person's life for every day I lived? But even if I didn't want to help the enemy, the excruciating pain of being gnawed by the strange little man still made me choose to give in.

A month later, I was physically and mentally exhausted, because every day I survived represented the death of one person, and it was as if I could feel their anger and even dream of them seeking my life. The strange little man was only the size of a palm, but now it's twice as big and looks even scarier. I feel that if it continues like this, sooner or later its appetite will grow bigger and bigger, and recently it is no longer satisfied with eating the leaves of just one person a day. I couldn't hold on any longer, so I planned to kill myself.

I came to the top of a nearly 100-story building, looking at the vehicles that turned into small black dots below, thinking that if I jumped from such a high height, I should be painless and die immediately, I just don't know if I can kill the monster on me ......

Just when I was ready to leap, there was a white light shining down in the sky, the strange little man on me suddenly let out a scream, and then quickly fled my body, but the white light still shone deadly on it until it turned to ashes. I watched all this dumbfounded, feeling never so relaxed. My consciousness gradually blurred, and vaguely, I heard the conversation between two people.

"How come there are still bugs in the Ginseng fruit autonomous culture base? Why is this unsprouted remnant still here? Alas, the cover over the fruit is off ......"

"Who knows, these bugs are always pervasive! Fortunately, this remnant came to such a high place, otherwise, it really can't be found."

I was carried by one of them and kept rising upwards, and it was as if I saw countless small human-shaped fruits, all with different leaves on top of their heads. I then realized that I was just a remnant in the ginseng fruit cultivation base, and the weird little man who liked to nibble on the plants above his head was the bug ah ......

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Judith Hodkiewicz

I am enthusiastic and cheerful, friendly, honest, and modest. I can bear hardships and work hard, do my duty and have patience. I am affable, easy-going, and good at communicating with people.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • ThatWriterWoman2 years ago

    I love the leaf concept! Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.