Fiction logo

Over for Dinner

Like a doll’s eyes.

By Alexander McEvoyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2

The thing that was wearing my mother’s face smiled at me. She, It invited me into the house, too long fingers clicking against the door. I had run before, but it avoided the questions with enough tact to almost convince me. Almost, until it turned its smile and it’s glassy, staring eyes on me.

I could see myself in those eyes, scared and thin and frail. Other things, with other faces had chased me for years. But now I had come to them.

They were all at table.

I gripped the detonator in my pocket and stepped through the door.

Short StoryMysteryHorrorFantasy
2

About the Creator

Alexander McEvoy

Writing has been a hobby of mine for years, so I'm just thrilled to be here! As for me, I love writing, dogs, and travel (only 1 continent left! Australia-.-)

I hope you enjoy what you read and I can't wait to see your creations :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)8 months ago

    This was so intense and amazingly written! I really enjoyed this, still sucked in a little and wishing I knew what happened next! 💜 Also, apologies for the many notifications from me today!! I've decided today was the perfect day to explore more of your page! 😊

  • L.C. Schäferabout a year ago

    All of your usual eloquence, distilled. Excellent! 😁

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.