Fiction logo

Outpost Six

A Short Story

By Wyatt ArmentPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
1
Outpost Six
Photo by Haylee Marick on Unsplash

“This is Outpost Six, broadcasting to other stations, does anyone read? Over.”

“This is Outpost Six. Does anyone read? Over.”

“If anyone can hear me, please respond.”

“This is Outpost Six. I… never mind. Over.”

“Outpost Five do you copy?”

“Outpost Seven are you there? Over.”

“Outpost Six here to report the sighting of something strange in the snow. Found it about a couple dozen yards from the station. Looks like some sort of footprint…? A... big... footprint. I can’t make out any obvious details. Will keep you updated. Over.”

“This is Outpost Six calling in at one-thirty in the morning. Something just hit my window. No fracture to the glass, but loud enough to startle me awake. Will investigate. Over.”

“Woke up this morning to find some of my supplies missing. The items in question are as listed: A shovel, half a can of gasoline, the extra wheel for the jeep, and a carton of water. I’m starting to get the feeling I’m not alone out here.”

“This is Outpost Six. There’s a snowstorm coming in from the west. Might be a while before I can check in again. Over.”

“This is Outpost Six. I’m not sure this is going through. But if it does, just know I’m snowed in. I’m unable to leave until some of the snow melts. Luckily, I have enough food and water to last me some time. Kind of wishing I had that shovel though. Makes me wonder if finding it missing wasn’t a coincidence. Over.”

“It’s been two days and I’m still unable to push open the door. I’m warm enough, but it’s incredibly boring waiting around for the snow to melt.”

“Outpost Six here. I’ve been having trouble sleeping. Sometimes I wake up in the middle of the night thinking there’s something at the window. Of course, there isn’t. But it’s easy to get an overactive imagination when you’re all alone in the Alaskan wilderness.”

“The snow has finally begun to melt. I expect I’ll be able to get the door open by tomorrow morning.”

“This is Outpost Six. The snow has melted. It feels good to be able to take a walk outside. It’s cold, but it beats being trapped in the station.”

“Outpost Six checking in for the night. Had a strange experience out in the forest today. The whole time I was feeling as though I was being watched. On my way back to the station, I thought I caught a glimpse of something moving. It could’ve just been snow falling off trees. But I swear it seemed like something... alive. It was probably just a critter of some sort.

“It’s about eleven at night. There’s something moving out there. But it's it's shielded by the trees, so I can't get a good look at it. Maybe some sort of bear…?”

“Outpost Six here. It’s been about two hours since my last update. What I saw earlier... I don't think it was a bear.”

“This is Outpost Six. I’ve had a weird week. But this seems to be the weirdest of all. I’m using the thermal camera and I can see what looks like some sort of person out there. Except… except they’re acting kind of odd. They’re stumbling around, almost like they’re hurt, but they’re moving freakishly fast. I’m going to try and make contact. Stand by.”

“Outpost Six calling to report shots fired… I repeat, shots fired!”

“Outpost Six here. I went out to the anomaly to try and make contact. As soon as it saw me it started moving in my direction. At that point I still can’t make out any details. Only that it was slightly larger than anybody I’ve ever encountered. Probably as tall as seven feet—maybe taller. Even weirder were the sounds it was making. It mumbled a sort of garble I couldn’t understand. All while coming toward me at a fast pace. I drew my gun and told it to stop. But it kept coming, the mumbling getting louder. I fired a shot in the air to try and scare it. But it didn’t even flinch. At that point I was backing up with my firearm aimed at the anomaly. I think I must’ve tripped over something because the next instant I was on the ground. I looked up to see the anomaly advancing toward me. Out of panic, I got to my feet and fired at it. The bullet hit it straight in the chest, knocking it to the ground. I went over to it to see if it was dead... and to get a closer look at it. I got no closer than a few steps when it picked itself up from the ground and came after me again. I think I unloaded my whole clip before giving up and just running. That thing just refused to stay down. I made it back to the station and awaiting further instructions. Over.”

“Outpost Six here. It hasn’t made any moves toward the station. It’s just kind of hanging around—Almost like it’s waiting for something.”

“I’m not sure what it is. It has some human features. But it’s just… uh… wrong. Somehow.”

“This is Outpost Six. I need immediate backup. I repeat, immediate backup.”

“This is Outpost Six. Does anyone read? Over.”

“This is Outpost Six broadcasting to any other stations. I need an immediate evac… does anyone read?”

“Outpost Four here. We copy. Over.”

“This is Outpost Six, I’m in need of an immediate evac. Over.”

“We hear you Outpost Six. We’ll get there as soon as possible. Over.”

“Copy. When can I expect backup?”

“…”

“Outpost Four, this is Outpost Six. When can I expect backup?”

“Estimated time of arrival—Three hours.”

“Outpost Four, this is Outpost Six. I’m picking up multiple heat signatures on the thermal cams. Do you read? I repeat, I’m seeing a lot of activity on the thermals. It looks like that... thing... from before is back. And it brought some buddies... A lot of buddies. It looks… It looks like they’re approaching the station…”

“Hold out ‘till we get there, Outpost Six. Over.”

“Outpost Four, this is Outpost Six. I’m going to try and scare them off. Stand by.”

“I’ve created a circle of flares around the station. None of the anomalies seem to want to pass them.”

“Outpost Six here. While they anomalies haven’t gotten any closer, I can hear them out there. They sound incredibly hostile. Over.”

“I’ve barricaded myself in the station. I don’t feel safe stepping outside. I’m once again requesting an immediate evac. Does anyone read? Over.”

“I’m watching from the window. The flares are starting to die. It won’t be long before they burn out completely. I… I don’t think I’m going to last the night…”

“This is Outpost Six. Outpost Four, do you copy? The flares are burning low. The anomalies don’t seem to be afraid anymore. They… they’re starting to approach the station.”

“Outpost Four, this is Outpost Six here. Do you copy? What is your ETA?”

“I can hear them right outside. Outpost Four… what is your ETA?”

...

“Outpost Six here—They’re attempting to knock down the door, and… Ah hell… They’re at the window too!”

“Outpost Four, please. Is anybody there? Shit…”

“This is Outpost Six… they got in… I repeat, they got in!”

“This… this is Outpost Six. Is anybody there? Outpost Four, do you copy? I repeat, do you copy?”

“…Outpost Six… youcopy?”

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Wyatt Arment

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.