Fiction logo

Our Weekend Escape

By : Avril Doucette

By Avril DoucettePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Our Weekend Escape
Photo by Travis Grossen on Unsplash

We drove up the snowy, winding road towards the cozy A-frame cabin. I have been looking forward to this weekend for so long. I was logging off of all of my devices, social media and taking this time to relax in nature. To have the experience to just disconnect and live my life.

I was looking to the snow smell, and the smell of nature. As opposed to the smell of the city, all of the city sounds, and the city of lights. The hustle of the city, the hectic day to day life and the lack of sleep. I was grateful for the life that I had in the city. But needed time to relax and unwind. I needed to experience nature and rest.

The snow was laid the beautiful pine and spruce trees that surround at the cabin on the drive up. The cabin had a beautiful wooden finish with dark red trim around the cabin. There was a large fire pit in the back, which made me excited because I could make a fire on the warmer winter I could sit outside in nature at the fire.

There was also a beautiful fireplace inside of the cabin in case it would be too cold out for me to sit by the fire. I was excited to be in a beautiful cabin, and also to be able to relax in the nature. I had planned many things to do outside while I had been there. I had wanted to go on a hike to see all of the trees and beautiful views in the area.

I am an amateur photographer, so I had thought I could take some photos of some of the nature or views that the area had to offer. Maybe take some personal photos as well for my memories of the trip also. I had wanted to time in front of the fireplace, watching the fire, enjoying a hot chocolate or whiskey. And to just be in that moment, no work, no responsibilities, no phone, no social media and no worries.

It would be nice to be able to disconnect and through doing that connect back to myself. To feel like I was myself as opposed to this person who had always 100 things to do. A lot of it were other peoples responsibilities, problems, or work issues. So, it would be nice to be able to focus on me.

Favorite part of my part of the cabin was the antique style cast iron beds. The vintage style be bedding. To the unique antique decor that was Inside of the cabin. The vintage cast-iron kettle that I needed to use to boil my coffee in the morning. To the porcelain bathtub that was inside of the cabin. Everything had screamed vintage, and aesthetic.

The closest shop was over an hour away, and it was mandatory that I bring all of my food and supplies that I could think that I can eat with me. As I was warned, it was very remote, so of course, my food had included my favorite instant coffee, my protein shakes, an assortment of beef, jerky, nuts, dark chocolate, and prepackaged salads. I bought these because through this experience, I didn’t want to cook. I wanted to experience the cabin to the fullest, and also experience the nature.

I had fully prepared all of my friends and family that I would not be on social media or my phone at this time. I would be relaxing and did not desire to be contacted. It was a good feeling to be able to say that I was doing something for myself. This was not some thing for my family or friends or work. This was for me.

As I had unwinded after the long drive up to the cabin and sat on the vintage leather couch in the living room. I had thought to myself how happy I was that I was away from all the noise, and could finally take some time to disconnect. It had given me a huge sense of relief.



AdventureShort StoryScript
Like

About the Creator

Avril Doucette

Model, Actress and Athlete

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.