Fiction logo

Open My Eyes

What happens when you open your eyes and you are not where you went to sleep?

By R. D.Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Open My Eyes
Photo by Roland Lösslein on Unsplash

I must have fallen asleep. I don't even want to open my eyes. Tomorrow I have a big lecture I have to do at Yale on how the Transcontinental Railroad has changed the United States. I have so much to do. I have to go over all the notes. I have to check my references. I just don't want to open my eyes.

The train seems really loud. I just don't want to open my eyes to look. No the clickety-clack, it's just too loud.

Did I…did I.. wear a dress today? it just feels like something's off. I just don't want to open my eyes.

I have to open my eyes. They feel so dry and gritty. My mouth feels dry and gritty too.

I open my eyes and I'm shocked. I can't breathe. My lungs feel so tight. What is happening? I'm looking all around, and I am not on the train I went to sleep in.

Okay, okay just breathe, let the air out. Get your bearings. I am sitting in a chair. It's upholstered. It's red, and it's velvet. I have a dress on with the corset. It's a calico with long sleeves. What is happening?

There's a lady sitting across from me that I don't know. She's also wearing a dress like mine. She is knitting or crocheting or something. Maybe it's embroidery work. I don't know what is going on.

My computer bag with my laptop in it has been replaced with a satchel. I open the satchel. My lecture is not in there of course. Instead I see just traveling things like a hairbrush and hair pins and things that I would need if I was traveling on a train in the 1800s. Where am I? I can't even see a ticket in this bag. Where am I going? I don't know. I can feel my anxiety rising. I can't breathe. My stomach is tight and full of butterflies. I want to ask the lady across from me but I don't want her to think I'm some kind of lunatic. I don't know what to do.

Oh wait there's a letter here at the bottom of the satchel. I tried to act totally calm as I pull it out of its envelope. It is addressed to me. My name is on it, but it says it's from a sister that I don't have. It's talking about me coming to see her. It says that we’ll attend lectures. I just keep pinching myself. It must be a dream. I don't know what to think. Maybe I am going crazy? Everything just seems so real. It's not like any dream I've had before. I can hear everything like it would be in reality. I can smell everything. I feel everything. It seems real and not a dream. But it can't be? I look in the bag again. I don't have a ticket. I'm on a train. I don't know what's going on.

Oh good. I see a conductor coming down the aisle in the next car. I go to stand up. The train seems to be going faster. The woman across from me comments that she's feeling the train go faster too. I start walking towards the conductor and he's starting to walk towards me. I'm not sure if I should explain to him that I don't have a ticket or if I should ask him first where we are headed. I am assuming that the train is taking me to my sister, but I can't be sure the letter could just be a keepsake. I feel like the train's going faster. I begin to tell my story to the conductor without telling him that I don't have my computer bag or my regular clothes or anything like that. Suddenly I feel like the train is pushing me forward towards him, and I grab the seat nearby. He also braces himself. My skirt feels like it's starting to rise. I feel like I'm flying…

Short Story

About the Creator

R. D.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    R. D.Written by R. D.

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.