Fiction logo

One Of Many

Regardless of who you are, you will fall victim to this heist..

By Jordan FlynnPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
4
 One Of Many
Photo by Nicolas Gras on Unsplash

Like sand caught in a breeze, muscle, hair, sinew, and my youth whisks away. I wept, as each layer stripped away like a cocoon. Yet instead of revealing a magnificent butterfly, a husk of what I was emerged.

In vain I cried, reaching my hand toward myself, though no matter how far I stretched, my body stayed the same distance away.

The pieces of me, my essence, my beauty, float towards the waiting skeletal hand to be sucked into the void.

Courtesy of: https://www.tumblr.com/thedeadgameblog

Death's eye sockets were empty, but I could feel his solemn stare. To him I am just another, perhaps some time ago he found his labors entertaining. Now as with any job, it has become just that, a labor.

Death has taken from me that which cannot be regained, that which we always assume will be ours.

When he comes it seems so sudden, but really, it's happening as soon as we take our first breath.

It's the ultimate heist, one that we fail to realize until it's time.

Yet in reality Death was there walking with us the entire way.

Much to my surprise when he takes me, I feel as though I'm departing with an old friend.

Microfiction
4

About the Creator

Jordan Flynn

Out of Grand Rapids MI. I write because I have to. (I am a noob however.)

Follow me @ Jayyeffe on instagram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock11 months ago

    When we are young, death seems the enemy. As we grow older, it scares us less & befriends us more.

  • Death has taken from me that which cannot be regained, that which we always assume will be ours. That line was very deep and is the ultimate truth. Your last paragraph reminded me of the third Peverell brother from Harry Potter. He greeted Death as an old friend. I loved your story very much!

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    Ooo, that last line makes you ponder. Great entry!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.