Fiction logo

One Last Visit

Who knows which time might be the last

By Kevin McMechanPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
4

“Dad, I’m really sorry, but I won’t be able to make it to your birthday. I’ve just got too much going on with work right now and I hardly have time to even sleep, let alone find time for a social life. I know it’s been a while since I’ve come to visit, but I’ll really try hard to find time soon. I love you, Dad. Talk to you later.”

Mandy hung up the phone and set the receiver down on her kitchen table. She really did feel bad about turning down yet another invitation from her parents, but she had a busy life. Mandy told herself she would definitely make time for his birthday next year when he turned 65.

There may have been a little exaggeration in the message Mandy had left her dad. While it was true she didn’t have much of a social life, that didn’t mean it was entirely nonexistent. She met someone at work a while ago and had made plans with him for the weekend, completely forgetting about her dad’s birthday party. Surely her dad would understand how hard it was to meet someone nice, and that she couldn’t cancel her plans.

The clock on Mandy’s stove said it was 8:02. If she left for work now, she’d have time to stop for some coffee and have a nice relaxing break before work started. Grabbing her coat, she headed for the door. Picking up her keys from a nearby table, she started thinking about what kind of coffee she might like today. Her hand had just touched the doorknob when there was a sudden knocking.

Mandy paused and started thinking of who might be at her door this time of morning, and why.

“Who is it?” asked Mandy.

“Mandy, it’s mom,” came a familiar voice.

“Mom?” Mandy was shocked as she opened the door and found her mother looking back at her. “Mom, what are you doing here? What’s wrong?”

“What? A mother can’t just stop by to visit her daughter?”

“Yes, of course, mom. You’re always welcome, but it’s so early, and I have work today.”

“I know, but I really had to see you. It’s important. May I come in?”

Mandy backed up from the door to allow her mom into the apartment. “So, something is wrong. I knew it.”

“No, but there’s a few things I have to say, and now seemed like the right time.” Mandy’s mom looked around the apartment as she made her way to the sofa. “You know, I’ve never seen your apartment before.”

Mandy closed the door and followed her mother. “Yeah, sorry about that. I keep meaning to have you guys over, but…”

“Life’s busy.” Mandy’s mom finished the sentence as she took a seat.

“It really is,” said Mandy. She joined her mother on the sofa. “I don’t mean to be rude, but I’m a little short on time right now. I need to be at work in less than an hour.”

“I know. If I could have done this any other time, I would have.” Mandy’s mom opened her coat and pulled out a single marigold flower. “It’s not much, but I brought you a flower. If I remember right, I think marigolds are your favorite.”

“They are. Thank you, mom.” Mandy reached out to take the flower. “You didn’t come all this way to give me a single marigold though, did you?”

“No. No, I didn’t.” Mandy’s mom paused to collect her thoughts. “Mandy, I love you. Your father loves you. We are both very proud of you and the things you’ve accomplished. You’re going to do great things with your life, and I couldn’t have asked for a better daughter.”

“Mom…” Mandy was almost at a loss for words. “Mom, I love you too, but what’s this really about? You’re scaring me a little bit.”

“We just need to take the time to acknowledge and appreciate the one’s we love while we have the chance. If we don’t do it now, when will we?”

“’Mom, this sounds like something you’d say right before you tell me you’ve got some terrible disease and you’re dying.”

Mandy’s mom gave a small, forced smile. “No, no diseases. I suppose I’m lucky in that way. I can’t imagine what it would be like, wasting away from some sickness.”

“So, what is it then?”

“Mandy, I really think you need to come to your father’s birthday.”

“Are you serious?” Mandy couldn’t hide her annoyance. “You came all the way here and made me think you’re dying or something, just so you can tell me to come to dad’s birthday?

“Mandy, he really wants to see you. You’re the best part of his life. You’re his little girl and he misses you.” Mandy’s mom couldn’t hold back the tear that ran down her cheek.

Mandy leaned in and gave her mother a hug. “Mom, I’m sorry. I didn’t mean to sound irritated. I just, I have so much going on, and…” Mandy pulled back from the hug. “How did you even know I wasn’t going to make it to dad’s birthday. I literally just left him a message before you got here.”

“I knew. That’s all I can say. I just knew.”

“I’m that predictable? I’m sorry I haven’t made time for you and dad lately. Maybe we can get together next week, after his birthday.”

“That would have been nice, but Mandy, I need you to promise me you’ll spend time with your dad. Promise me. He needs you, now more than ever.”

“I promise, mom. I’ll spend time with both of you.”

“I need to go, Mandy, but I love you and I know you love me. Always remember that.”

“Of course, mom. I love…” Mandy trailed off as her phone started ringing.

“It’s okay. Go get that.”

“It’s probably nothing,” Mandy assured her mom. “I can just let it ring.”

“Mandy, go get the phone. It’s important.”

Mandy frowned a little at her mom’s certainty. She stood up and set her marigold down on the couch.

“Okay, I’ll be right back,” said Mandy as she rushed over to the kitchen table and answered the call.

“Hello?” said Mandy.

“Mandy…” The voice belonged to her father.

“Dad?” asked Mandy with surprise. “What’s up?”

“Mandy, I- I don’t know how to say… I don’t know…”

“What’s wrong, dad?” Mandy could tell her father was very upset about something.

“Mandy, your mother… your mother had a heart attack this morning. Mandy… she didn’t make it.” Mandy’s dad broke into tears as he spoke.

“Dad, no, no mom’s right…” Mandy let her sentence remain unfinished as she turned around to find an empty room. There was no sign of her mom, other than a single marigold flower lying in the middle of the sofa.

Short Story
4

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.