Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

One Last Time

If only to be with you again.

By Ashley LimaPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 2 min read
2
One Last Time
Photo by Alex Pasarelu on Unsplash

I hadn’t entered the room since the night that it happened. How could I? Everything about her space remained the same. Frozen in time. I was afraid to face it. Afraid of the day we may move away from this house, and everything she’s ever touched will be lost forever. But tonight, I swallowed my heart and reached for the knob. The white wooden door was covered with posters of her favorite tv shows and musical artists. On top of the collage a sign that said “DO NOT ENTER” was nailed into the wood. Too Bad, Abby. I’m entering.

The smell overwhelmed me. It was how she always smelled. A hint of weed and her favorite Victoria Secret perfume. I didn’t even care if she smoked as long as she was being responsible about it. The fragrant mixture alone almost made me choke, on my tears, not because it was unsavory. I couldn’t understand why she left us.

Her bed was unmade, the off-white duvet was half hanging off and her pillows were in a disarray. There were a couple pairs of different pants and shirts spewed about the floor, marking a hard decision. I wonder which was harder to make. Her laptop was still open on her desk and plugged into its charger. The lock screen was a picture of her and her childhood best friend, Sarah. I wonder how she is feeling.

On top of her bookshelves are young adult books collecting dust. She used to love to read fiction of every sort. There is a snow globe from our family trip to Niagara Falls. Plaques from sportsmanship awards in soccer and honor roll. I brushed my hand along her electric keyboard as I made my way to sit on her bed. She marked it with colored stickers to identify the notes, they were shaped like flowers. I let myself lay back and sink into the memory foam. The glow-in-the-dark stars on her ceiling brought me comfort and I could almost feel her with me. I decided to sleep there with my daughter. This time, she’s protecting me from my nightmares. I just wish I knew why.

_________________________________________________

This was a short story written for my MA program over a year ago. The prompt was to tell a story in less than 400 words based on one setting. It's been sitting in my drafts and finally able to publish it due to the new microfiction guidelines. Thanks, Vocal!

Young AdultfamilyCONTENT WARNINGShort Story
2

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm11 months ago

    👏☺️ It’s a great little Micro. Lots of warmth and atmosphere!

  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    The thick emotion in this piece will linger in me for some time, I think. Rooms hold so much, between the memories and the feelings, the relationships, the sensory overwhelm…I have felt this many times. I have to ask, though…what became of Abby? I went back and forth on a few possibilities, and I can’t settle. I know it doesn’t matter all that much. So I leave it up to you to answer.

  • Rob Angeli11 months ago

    Very poignant.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.