Fiction logo

Olives

Olives of all kinds

By Stephen Kramer AvitabilePublished 9 months ago 1 min read
9
Olives
Photo by Melina Kiefer on Unsplash

Olives.

Always been my favorite. I used to get a can in my stocking at Christmas. Black were my favorites as a kid.

I worked at a restaurant and then fell in love with green olives.

I discovered olive bars... Kalamata olives... a new love.

A kid in a candy shop. No, Steve at an olive bar.

I stand there and marvel at all the choices. How are there so many?

How is it that I love them all?

All so slightly different.

But all give me that 'mm' moment at first bite.

**************

This Microfiction... or poem?... I think it was a Microfiction... this piece was written for James & Oneg's Summer Writing Challenge Extravaganza... for Challenge #2.

I truly do love olives. They truly are my favorite food. I could eat them every day. And yes, I really did used to get a can in my stocking at Christmas... among other things. But that was always the highlight. Cracking open a can of black olives on Christmas morning.

You had your traditions, I had mine.

I was challenged by Naomi Gold to write a piece about the Feast Community, so this was what I chose. In turn, I think I'll challenge her to do a piece on the Potent Community.

In addition, I think I'll also challenge Rick Henry Christopher to write a piece about the Earth Community.

This was a fun challenge. Now, I want some olives.

Microfiction
9

About the Creator

Stephen Kramer Avitabile

I'm a creative writer in the way that I write. I hold the pen in this unique and creative way you've never seen. The content which I write... well, it's still to be determined if that's any good.

https://www.stephenavitabilewriting.com/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • ARC9 months ago

    Our journeys with olives have strangely aligned 😂 "A kid in a candy shop. No, Steve at an olive bar." 🤣 and the 'throwaway' at the end: "This Microfiction... or poem?... I think it was a Microfiction... this piece..." 💀💀🤣 gosh this was fun. Thanks for writing this.

  • The first time I ever tried olives were in pizza. And I hated it so bad! But I decided to give it another try when I asked them to add it to my sandwich at Subway. Surprisingly, I liked it. So I have no idea what went wrong where with the olives on the pizza, lol! Loved your story!

  • "Olived" this piece, every last bit of it. Challenge accepted & well met!

  • Teresa Renton9 months ago

    Fun piece, enjoyed it 😊

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    💚olives💜this

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    Ooh I love olives too. I love getting stoned and having all kinds of fancy olives on a charcuterie board. Thanks for playing along, and for giving me Potent. 😊

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    This is so awesome, and I'm glad you like them all - I do too, which is odd because some people seem to like green or black, but not both. Well done on this slightly oliveobsessive piece. It made me smile though, and think about olives!

  • Real Poetic9 months ago

    This is very well-written. Great addition to the challenge. But, I HATE olives. Lol 😂

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.