Fiction logo

Of Braids, Videos, and Friendship (The Owl House fanfic)

This takes place in an off-camera moment of S2 ep11(Follies at the coven day parade). When Amity comes to WIllow to figure out if she should watch Luz's video, the show cuts the scene, so I finished it. It is a cute light-hearted story.

By Ben Ray Published 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Amity and Willow are in Willow's room. Willow is sitting on the floor and Amity is sitting on the bed braiding Willow's hair.

Willow opened her bedroom door, surprised to see Amity. "Uh, hey Willow, it's been a while since I came here," Amity hesitated before completing the thought, "on my own."

"Yeah, I guess it has," Willow responded awkwardly. "Are you ok?"

Amity walked into the room and straight to the bed, rambling about thinking that Luz was lying about the human realm and how the answer might be on the video she left on her phone. She then face-planted onto Willow's bed screaming into the sheets. Something she did when they were little, and she got overwhelmed.

"You need to slow down for me," Willow prompted once Amity stopped screaming.

"Luz says she hasn't been to the human realm, but I get the feeling that she's lying, and I can find out the truth by watching this," she, explained, now that she was calmer, and held up the phone so Willow could see the video queued up on the screen. "But I'm not gonna invade her privacy like that," she looked up at her friend, "would you?"

She answered with a noncommittal shrug and vocalization. This earned her a laugh from Amity."

Then Willow got very serious, "Listen Blight, if you want my advice there's something you must do for me first," provoking a calculated fear. A fear that was immediately discarded when she said that she just wanted her to braid her hair. She sat down on the floor right in front of her bed.

Amity laughed, saying that she was a bit rusty and that she was glad they could do this again. They sat in silence as they remember all the times, they did this when they were little, Willow was thinking about whether she would actually go through with watching the video. Amity's hands weaved through her hair. She thought she was rusty, but muscle memory allowed her to properly braid the other which's hair.

"Ok, Willow, I'm all done now," she broke the silence, pulling her hands back to her lap. Willow happily ran her hands over the braid.

"Thank you for braiding my hair, Amity, You know, you're not as rusty as you think," she smirked.

"Thanks, Willow,"

"So, you want me to watch this video?" She held up the phone, waiting for an answer, still not sure what to do if she said yes.

"No what, actually I don't want to invade her privacy, even if someone else was the one to actually do it, what kind of girlfriend would I be if I did that," chuckles, "I'll just talk to her, if it's anything bad it would be better to hear it from her. and, thanks, Willow, for everything,"

"What do you mean Amity?"

"Everything, being there for Luz when I was... too obsessed with my status to be, and deciding to be my friend again, that must have been hard for you," she looked away, embarrassed by her past actions.

"Well, it was hard, at first but, well you came with Luz and I know why you did... that... and now I got to meet the real you again, my old best friend."

Amity is still not good at dealing with emotions, even platonic ones. She just said yeah, before she took the phone back, "I'm going to go find Luz and figure this out," she smiled, getting up from the bed, and heading out.

"Amity," she called out, "You're a great girlfriend, Luz is lucky to have you, and I'm glad we can be friends again too."

AN

If you like this story? I will have more Owl House one-shots out soon, and I have and several different series, including one about Raine figuring out their gender, as well as a poetry collection. I keep a google doc housing summaries of each story and all of the installations that I've posted in an easy to navigate google doc: Click Here

Please, heart, tip, comment, subscribe, and tell your friends!

~~Ben

Short Story
2

About the Creator

Ben Ray

I have poems and series and one shots. I keep a google doc with organized summaries and listings of each story and all of the parts that I've posted.

docs.google.com/document/d/1peKsDklUnqcKA1MjpZpPpYj9WuR-XI5P0U4ajbckmTI/edit?usp=sharing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    Loved it! keep up the good work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.