Fiction logo

Ocean blue

A story about a girl who love to visit the Local Aquarium

By KatPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1
Ocean blue
Photo by Uriel Soberanes on Unsplash

Marcy knew the aquarium like the back of her hand. her routine was the same every day after all. She would enter with her year pass, try to spot all the spotted garden-eels poking their heads out of the sand, Watch the epaulette sharks swimming in the tank on the left and listen to the presentation about all the dangerous animals in the oceans while sketching one of the animals. Sure, she knew the presentation off by heart by now, but she enjoyed the comforting familiarity of it all. Marcy would end her trip outside, Watching the penguin feeding while fiddling with her short ginger hair. she had a dark green coat on, with little badges on the sleeve, including one from The Aquarium and one from a charity for ocean animals. She changed the animal on her charity badge every month and was always eager to tell people about that month's fish. Novembers was actually the very same sharks she loved to watch in the aquarium, the Epaulette shark. It's an incredible creature who is able to walk back into the water if it gets stranded on a beach. Marcy loved them.

Though she knew every inch of the aquarium off by heart there was only one thing she always failed to notice was a girl with long, straight blue hair that she kept out of her face with a green headband, which matched her emerald green eyes. She worked at the aquarium and loved the animals almost as much as Marcy did, though her knowledge was more limited than hers. She often watched Marcy on her adventures around the aquarium, but never had the courage to actually talk to her. she would watch from afar as wonder spread across Marcy's face every day as she watched the fish drift around in the tanks.

"You need to talk to her, River!" her co-workers all told her, but she just couldn't do it. Marcy was just too damn cute! Everything from her blue eyes that would light up with joy every time she saw a fish to her black boots that were always covered in mud. the way she constantly had to push up her glasses or her amazing drawings of all the animals. River would have a gay panic and hide in the employee only lounge every time she tried to talk to her. but today was different, only because her co-workers had locked her out of the Employee only lounge. she could not back out this time.

Marcy was sketching a mudskipper today, sitting on a lonely bench away from the other people. She would occasionally stand up to get a better look at the mudskippers. She had her headphones on for the most part, but as it got later it also got quieter, and by 6pm she felt comfortable enough to take them off and listen to the running water. Thats when River made her move. "Hi" she squeaked, making Marcy jump out of her skin. "Oh my goodness! I am so sorry I didn't mean to scare you!" River panicked, covering her mouth with the tips of her fingers. River was about to accept defeat, apologise and leave when Marcy tapped the bench next her with a smile on her face. "Don't worry about it! I'm quite easily frightened. Come, sit! It's quite rare that I get company while I draw!" River's heart skipped a beat, but she sat down next to Marcy anyway. River was too shy to say anything, so they sat in silence for a while. Marcy couldn't resist the chance to talk about her passion, so she finally decided to speak: "Did you know Mudskippers are actually amphibious fish? they can survive for two whole days out of water!" She smiled at River, and River completely froze. She was too tongue tied to respond, but she didn't have to. "of course, If Mudskippers aren't your style, I could tell you about the Irukandji! they're these 2cm box jellyfish from Australia, they're incredibly venomous!" Marcy continued, showing River a drawing from the start of her sketchbook. River was too stunned to speak, and it seemed that Marcy had picked up on it now. "Oh! I'm sorry, I know I talk too much... I didn't even introduce myself! I'm Marcy Spiritstar and I have autism!" She sighed, pointing to one of the badges on her arm. it was a pale green and said "I am Autistic" in bold letters. "I prefer to tell people when I meet them, so they know why I'm so... different" Marcy looked at the floor sadly, Fiddling with her hair. "I'm River. I'm excited to get to know you, Marcy!" River smiled at her, and Marcy smiled back. She pulled out her pen and wrote her number on Rivers hand. "I have to go now, or I'll miss my train home, but please text me!" Marcy packed her stuff into her small rucksack and began to walk away when she paused. "Text me, don't call. I will not pick up the phone" she informed river, and the dashed out of the door, leaving River on the bench with stars in her eyes, staring at the number on her hand.

Short StoryLove
1

About the Creator

Kat

I'm 16, Autistic, She/they and I like to write in my free time! I mostly go for fantasy and superpowers but enjoy trying out other genres too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.