Fiction logo

NOW WILL YA LEAVE ME ALONE? part 20

Max

By Margaret BrennanPublished 5 months ago 5 min read
4

NOW WILL YA LEAVE ME ALONE? Part twenty

Max

>< >< ><

Then Dr. Morgan became serious and said, “Mary Ellen, one thing you must be careful of and that is DO NOT tell Tommy of our master plan. Hopefully, he’ll be too busy to figure out what Uncle Frank and I are trying to do. If he does, he might be embarrassed or feel as if we’re trying to make him out as a fool. Or worse, think we’re giving him a handout. He’s not just proud but, as you said, he is stubborn. We don’t want him working extra hard in the market when he can work for us and learn something at the same time. Think you can keep our secret?”

>< >< ><

Mary Ellen and Tommy sat on the floor near Max’s bed eating some of the cookies her mother baked and brought when she visited his apartment the day before. “It was great of yer mom ta send these over,” he said before taking another bite of the delicious chocolate chip cookie.

She smiled and said, “You’d have done the same for me. Though, you’ll have to admit that right after the accident, you were a royal pain. One thing you must learn is that even though you’re a hero, you’re not Superman! He’s only in comic books!”

“A hero? Come on, Mel! I didn’t do nothin’ I didn’t fight in no war or save no little kid, or nothin.’ I’m no hero. I’m just me, that’s all.”

Mary Ellen noticed a slight blush appear on Tommy’s cheeks as he glowed with embarrassment but yet, as he lowered his head, she noticed the sheepish grin on his face.

“Tommy, maybe you don’t see yourself as a hero, but I’m sure Max does. After all, if you didn’t take such good care of him, he’d have been dead by now. Uncle Frank said so. I think Max knows it, too. You see, you did save him. Uncle Frank keeps saying that if you hadn’t wrapped Max in your jacket and carried him so gently, his broken ribs would have put a hole right through his heart. Maybe you didn’t realize what you did, but you still did enough to save him.”

Tommy thought for a second, then said quietly, “Do ya really think so?” While the outburst of praise made him blush deeper, he liked the idea that he was able to save his pet.

He looked at Mary Ellen and knew without a doubt by the look on her face, she wasn’t yet finished speaking.

“Yes, I really do think so. Just think how bad his injuries were and how much worse they might have gotten if you hadn’t helped him as quickly as you did. Then, instead of taking care of yourself, you ran to my house and got help. I’d say that makes you a hero. But before you go and get a swelled head and think you’re Mr. Wonderful or something, tell me how YOU’RE feeling? About your injuries! Dad told me how badly hurt you really were. But it’s been two weeks now, so do you feel any better? Is there anything I can do? Can I get you another glass of milk? Or would you rather have a cup of cocoa? Or maybe, coffee. Uncle Jimmy said you like coffee. What can I do to help? Just tell me.”

Tommy put his open hand on his left side as if holding it to keep it from splitting. He laughed heartily. “Girl! Ya still doin’ it! Ya really don’t know it, do ya?”

Mary Ellen looked puzzled. “Uh. No. What did I do now?”

“Ya fergot to come up fa air! Geez! How can ya talk so fast without breathin?” He placed the palms of his hands on both sides of his face and jokingly said, “Speakin’ of injuries, ya talk so fast, ya could make a guy dizzy!”

She joined in Tommy’s laughter and for the first time since the accident, he seemed to breathe easier.

Tommy healed quickly, thanks to the care given by Dr. Morgan and his wife. The weeks went by quickly and soon Max was stumbling across the floor. His ribs mended quickly but his leg still gave him a bit of trouble. Tommy wondered whether or not his leg would ever heal properly.

Dr. Sutherland insisted that Tommy start taking Max back to the park. “The playful environment will do him wonders but don’t let him run around too much. Baby steps, Tom. Baby steps.”

>< >< ><

Weeks flew by all too quickly and in the blink of an eye, things were changing.

>< >< ><

While Max relaxed on the rug near the unlit fireplace, Tommy remarked to Mary Ellen, “Me. I don’t why I let you talk me into this! I don’t even know how you did! This is stupid. . with a capital S!” He growled, even though he didn’t even try to suppress his smile.

“Come on, Tommy. Whether or not you want to believe it, you’re doing very well. You have to remember, you’ve been pushed around school for so long that you can’t expect to know everything all at once. Come on, Tommy. Try again!”

She looked so sweet and innocent. So, encouraging! And so darn persistent! He thought to himself.

Tommy’s dreams of getting an education began taking on a firm reality. Breaking his own concentration, he smiled and said, “Persistent. That means sorta lie a nag, right Mel?” he teased her as his smile turned into a huge grin.

>< >< ><

Thank you for reading Now Will Ya Leave Me Alone? I’m working on another segment. Please stay tuned to see what else might happen to Tommy and Mary Ellen.

THE FINAL PART OF TOMMY AND MARY ELLEN WILL BE SUMBITTED IN A FEW HOURS...... I REALLY HOPE YOU ENJOYED READING MY LITTLE TALE OF THE LOVE OF FRIENDSHIPS.

Short Story
4

About the Creator

Margaret Brennan

I am a 76 year old grandmother who loves to write, fish, and grab my camera to capture the beautiful scenery I see around me.

My husband and I found our paradise in Punta Gorda Florida where the weather always keeps us guessing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    Awww, this was just so sweet! I smiled so much reading this!

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Beautiful chapter!!! Loved it!!💕❤️❤️

  • Test5 months ago

    Margaret your story is filled with heartfelt moments, revealing the growth and resilience of the characters, especially Tommy. His transformation from resisting help to realizing his role in saving Max highlights the depth of his character

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.