Fiction logo

Now or Never

the apocalypse is here

By Christopher HarrisPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Dear diary,

I will try t o keep this brief, yet there's so much that has happened. The trees are withered, they skies are grey and there isn't any sign of human life. What was a comfortable evening on the couch turned into a complete nightmare. I remember I had just hang up with my mother. She was so elated that her garden was sprouting. She couldn't slow down quick enough to allow me time to process everything she was saying. Something about she can't wait to clear land and grow more vegetables.

I told her I would call her tomorrow because my phone was losing signal which made it difficult to hear. I placed my phone down on the ottoman beside my couch and closed my eyes as the sounds of "Am I Wrong" by Anderson Paak bled through my apartment walls. It sounded like it was blaring out of someone's car stereo. Perfect, one of my favorite songs drifting me off to a well-deserved nap for the day. I had planned to fold the mountain of laundry piled on my living room couch. Little did I know, a pile of laundry would be the least of my worries.

I awoke to the sound of a rather large crash. I jolted awake and scanned my living room checking to see if anything was damaged. I soon grabbed my shoes next to the couch and quickly ran outside to see what had caused such a large crashing sound. I was quickly perplexed at what I saw. Cars, vegetation, street lights all destroyed. The sky was a murky grey with hints of orange, almost as if a layer of light is attempting to pierce through the thickness of the dark blanketed across the sky.

After what seemed like an eternity of standing there puzzled, I slowly backed into my apartment building door then ran back inside, into my apartment to check my phone for any updates. I scrolled across numerous news outlets but saw absolutely nothing about the world looking like a post-apocalyptic wasteland. My heart felt as if it was on fire and my anxiety quickly turned into panic. I scrambled through my contacts in my phone to locate my mother's number. I dialed and hope she would pick up but to no avail.

I took a deep breath then dialed my sister. Surely she would answer as she seems to always be glued to her phone. I sat there until I heard a "Hello, you've reached..." and as soon as I parted my lips to say something the recording mentioned that I had reached her voicemail. I figured she must have set up a new voicemail when she get her new phone a few days prior. Sheesh, out of luck.

I walked around my apartment building, knocked on doors and even walked the neighborhood. No traffic, no pedestrians, and an eerily quiet that sent chills shooting up my spine. Something was wrong, I felt it in my bones. I returned to the apartment once more and immediately started packing essentials, water and a few snacks. I shot out of my apartment, climbed inside of my car and threw my bag into the passenger seat.

I was headed to the next town over, hoping I would run into someone who could explained what happened. I stopped at a gas station with plenty of vehicles parked there. I let out a sigh of relief as I exited my vehicle. I rushed inside only to be met with frustration and more importantly, lots of confusion. It was radio silent. Not a soul in sight.

I quickly left the establishment just as quick as I had come in and headed back towards my apartment. On the way back I had a flashback of my deceased grandmother mentioning how the world will one day feel the wrath of the lockets. She used to tell me and my sister stories about how the wise men of the universe would curse the world if the world lost it's way, it's morals. I never understood what she meant but she gave me a heart-shaped locket that allegedly contained whatever it was that was needed if that day ever came. She said that in order to restore the world to it's former glory, where people and conflict seemed to be a far-fetched idea that it would require a journey through the lands of the world but to always follow the heart.

So her I am. Writing to YOU, whoever you are that has found this diary. I have figured out what my late grandmother meant by "Follow the heart". The answers were inside the locket. I have opened it to reveal a folded piece of paper with what appears to be a map of sorts. I have scanned this image via printer and uploaded it to my desktop computer. I left it on but it may occasionally fall asleep so just tap on the keyboard to wake it up. I'm certain that you will be prompted to enter the password. It is 1234START.

By the time you read this I should be far along on that journey, to whatever place that these directions show. The answers will lie there, I'm certain. I may be writing this and nobody will ever see it, maybe I'm crazy. I did manage to flip one of my grandfather's old radios on and have sent out numerous distress signals and coordinates. I could have sworn I heard a voice crackling back over the speaker. If you're reading this, you were who I was trying to reach. Take the directions from my computer and meet me at the destination indicated on the map. There are plenty of snacks and water in my pantry. I left the spare first aid kit on the ottoman. Take what you need.

For now I will hope that the universe keeps us safe along those travels. Hopefully we come in contact with other survivors. Stay alert, stay safe and stay vigilant. The fate of our universe solely, for the time being, lies in our hands.

May God bless you.

Sci Fi
Like

About the Creator

Christopher Harris

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.