Fiction logo

Now and forever

A short cafe romance

By Hazel ParadisePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Now and forever
Photo by Tony Lee on Unsplash

I was waiting for him—my blind date. I waited for him for so long at the cafe but he didn’t come. And I am glad he didn’t show up that day.

That one day, made my whole life turn inside out. And it goes like this...

It's been a long time since I arrived here. My date was supposed to arrive before 9. It’s getting close to 11:30 now. Where the hell is he?

I looked outside the window. It was raining lightly. I could see people running, trying to find shelter. Thankfully, I arrived at Myrtle’s Cafe before the rain started.

I never liked blind dates ever in my life. I like to date someone I know. I have never been lucky in my entire life, so depending on luck to find a perfect partner for me is a complete no-no. But my family and my best friend didn’t like the idea of me being single for a very long time. They think I’ll become a monk.

I looked down at my dress. Beautiful ruffles were cascading down my long floor-length gown with beautiful flattering pleating at the waist. My mom chose it for me today but it has become useless now. I wish I had brought my coat instead of this stupid shrug. It's good for nothing.

“You need something?” A voice brought me back to reality.

I looked up and found my neighbor Josh was standing near the table, looking down at me. I can see in his eyes that he is as shocked as I was.

“Josh?”

“Hey, Elly.”

“You work here? I thought Daredevil…”

“Yup. I used to work for Daredevil. But then I thought I am not a biker guy so better look for something that suits me more.”

“You don’t have to be a biker guy to work there, Josh.” I looked at Josh’s shoulders and it had a tattoo of a motorcycle. Every member of the Daredevils has a tattoo on their shoulders. That’s the sign that the person belongs to Daredevil's club.

“Yes but I am more of a business guy.”

“Then become a member of Millionaire’s Club. Pax knows..”

“Oh. Okay.” He took a mug of coffee from the waitress passing by. “I hope you won’t mind, Ginger.”

She looked at me and smiled. “Got it. You are lucky today, Josh.”

I could see he was getting impatient. Did I do something wrong? I loved Daredevils so much maybe because Daredevils and Millionaire’s club members cannot stand each other.

“I was watching you for so long. It looks like you are tense,” he asked.

“My date didn’t show up.”

He began laughing.

“What are you laughing at?”

He shook his head. “You were waiting for more than two hours now. Do you know that?”

Oh, dear. Nope. I shook my head. I should have chosen to stay at home instead.

“How did you go on a blind date? I never knew you were into this. How a small-town girl got suddenly interested in these things.”

“You think a small-town girl cannot go on a blind date.”

“Nope. You said so yourself. That's the reason why you rejected me?”

“I am sorry. That was seven months back. People change.”

“So if you have changed then I would like to tell you that I am not. And my offer is still open.”

We have been living in the same building for a very long time. We did have some moments in the past. But never thought it could get this serious.

I looked away from him and towards the door. “I think I should call him. He must be stuck somewhere maybe.”

Josh shook his head. “If a man likes you, he will come to you no matter what. And you have seen that personally.”

I remember numerous times when we have decided on a date, Josh has always been there before my arrival.

“So at least coffee?”

At least? What does that mean? Is there something more?

“What if he comes?” I asked.

He bent down and said, “Then tell him, you have a date for now and forever.”

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Hazel Paradise

I am a non-fiction author. I believe every author to be their own boss and have multiple sources of income. Consistency is all you need!

https://www.patreon.com/hazelparadise

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.